but i ask u chem
sulphuric acid + sodium hydroxide ---> sodium sulphate + water
sodium ions have been
- oxidised
-reduced
-neither of them
which one?
H2SO4 + NaOH => Na2SO4 + H2O
If you look in terms of oxidation number, all the oxidation number did not change.
E.g. Na is still +1 in NAOH or Na2SO4,
Sulphur is still +6.
So means neither lor.
one more question
suggest one test which you could distinguish between alcohol and acid.
state the result as well.
Originally posted by gunner77:one more question
suggest one test which you could distinguish between alcohol and acid.
state the result as well.
Hmmm for o level standard,
you can just use your acid tests.. Like
acid + metal = > produces H2 gas. test for H2 gas.
acid + carbonate => produces carbon dioxide gas. test for CO2 gas
Originally posted by tinuviel07:H2SO4 + NaOH => Na2SO4 + H2O
If you look in terms of oxidation number, all the oxidation number did not change.
E.g. Na is still +1 in NAOH or Na2SO4,
Sulphur is still +6.
So means neither lor.
ohh!
but my friend explain to me this way
acid and alkali ---> neutralisation takes place so no change.
like tat also can?
it must be observable for you to know whether something has taken place.. no visible observation does not necessary means neutralisation has taken place. it can mean other reactions too
ok ok
no more liao
i hate the chem TYS
the answer at the back alot of them dont have one
anyways thanks !
tmr then i ask u more
thanks for all the help! ![]()
yup yup.. i hate it too.. last time i was thinking do for what.. i also dono correct or wrong..
anyway np..
Originally posted by gunner77:(a) solve the equation (2a-3)^2 = 16
(b) y is directly proportional to x^2
x is increase by 100%
find the percentage increase in y
tin tin help me with part B
my friend also donno
300% is it
the answer is 400%
e qn so short ah? but they must give scenario ma
so something wrong with the question?
scissors paper stone again?
hmmmm let me see
i think so leh.. brain not functioning for this qn
kk nvm
confirm got problem
I actually didn't read this thread since it says "Maths", but I just popped in randomly, and noticed gunner77 asking tinuviel07 ("tin tin") some Chem questions.
Just to comment that, if you'd like the input of others (eg. myself), it would probably be a better idea to discuss Chem questions in a "Chem" thread, rather than a "Math" thread.
>>> acid and alkali ---> neutralisation takes place so no change. like tat also can? <<<
The statement "neutralisation takes place so no change" is not sufficient (as tinuviel07 has similarly implied), you have to elaborate on what actually happens during neutralization to explain why the oxidation state of the various species do not change during neutralization.
I'll leave this thread now. If anyone on the forum is interested in a Chem discussion, I would suggest he/she start a Chem thread; it would be more organized, rather than discussing Chem qns in a Maths thread, yes?
(And in case gunner77 is interested in discussing only with tinuviel07, that's also perfectly ok, of course.)
sounds so wrong.. :p i charge a lot for one on one discussion
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:I actually didn't read this thread since it says "Maths", but I just popped in randomly, and noticed gunner77 asking tinuviel07 ("tin tin") some Chem questions.
Just to comment that, if you'd like the input of others (eg. myself), it would probably be a better idea to discuss Chem questions in a "Chem" thread, rather than a "Math" thread.
>>> acid and alkali ---> neutralisation takes place so no change. like tat also can? <<<
The statement "neutralisation takes place so no change" is not sufficient (as tinuviel07 has similarly implied), you have to elaborate on what actually happens during neutralization to explain why the oxidation state of the various species do not change during neutralization.
I'll leave this thread now. If anyone on the forum is interested in a Chem discussion, I would suggest he/she start a Chem thread; it would be more organized, rather than discussing Chem qns in a Maths thread, yes?
(And in case gunner77 is interested in discussing only with tinuviel07, that's also perfectly ok, of course.)
ultima i notice u are a good chemistry helper
dont worry i will start a thread on chem
definetely need alot of ppl to help me
not only tin tin. ![]()
sad :(
the more the merrier wat
A maths binomial theorem:
Write down and simplify the first three terms in the expansion of (1 - 2x)8 in ascending powers of x. Given that the first three terms in the expansion of (1 - ax)2 (1 - 2x)8 are 1, -8x, and bx2, calculate the values of a and b.
i thought only in ssf?