Originally posted by eagle:A maths binomial theorem:
Write down and simplify the first three terms in the expansion of (1 - 2x)8 in ascending powers of x. Given that the first three terms in the expansion of (1 - ax)2 (1 - 2x)8 are 1, -8x, and bx2, calculate the values of a and b.
lol you sure you posting this in the right place? examworld's probably more suitable.
And this question is, in fact, one of the most seen questions in the o levels. I practise this type of question (only numbers change nia) until sian liao. Now I see this question, it's like super duper easy to me...
Hi Garrick_3658,
Yes, you have done very well in your preparation for the coming "O" level exam. Indeed, teachers like to hear the students says that "it is so easy, I know the steps to solve this type of question" as this means that the students have already mastered the ability to identify and solve the different patterns set for each topic in the ten years series and these students will almost get A1 or A2 without making careless mistakes in their "O" level exam. ![]()
Thank you for your kind attention.
Regards,
ahm97sic
damn this thread is so long, now I have to read all of this. Damn. >.<
Originally posted by xXBlack_RebelXx:damn this thread is so long, now I have to read all of this. Damn. >.<
lol
17(a) y is proportionalto x^n
write down the value of n when
(i) y cm^2 is the area of a circle of radius x cm
(ii) y hours is the time taken to travel a distance x km at a constant speed
give me ans then i see i correct not
(i) n=2
(iI) n = 1
Originally posted by gunner77:17(a) y is proportionalto x^n
write down the value of n when
(i) y cm^2 is the area of a circle of radius x cm
(ii) y hours is the time taken to travel a distance x km at a constant speed
(i) y = kx^n
y = pix^2
pix^2 = kx^n
when pi = k, n =2
(ii) y = kx^n
x = (y) (speed)
when k = speed, x = y, hence n = 1
.. lol oops my explanation abit jumbled up.. but u get it right?
err ![]()
i cut n paste from wiki...
an object travels at a constant speed, then the distance traveled is proportional to the time spent traveling, with the speed being the constant of proportionality.
tis is a star question rite?
my teacher mark tis as star.
seriously, i tink im gonna skip this if if appear at o lvl.
1 mark 1 mark
too confusing.
ok leh.. its more of like logic lor..
tis (i) i tink i understand
u using pie r^2 rite?
the (ii) too hard for me
Dear Gunner,
Answer for 17(a)(i) Answer for 17 (a)(ii)
y =kx^n ----------------------- (1) y =kx^n ----------------------- (1)
A = (pi) r^2 Time = Distance/Speed
Since are A = y, radius r = x Since Time = y and Distance = x
So, y = (pi) x^2 -------------- (2) So, y = x^1/Speed ------------ (2)
By comparison eqns (1) & (2) By comparison eqns (1) & (2)
n = 2 n = 1
Dear Gunner, you cannot "dowan tin tin lah" since she has helped you a lot.
It is good to see that a dedicated teacher/tutor is helping a hardworking student.
Regards,
ahm97sic
i was waiting for you to come write in nicely for him.. lol.. your format always very nice
i understand the part (i) liao
but the part (ii) i still blur.
anyway thanks tin tin and ahm97sic!
nice ppl
btw im still shocked tat tin tin is a gal ![]()
pretty girl must keep low profile one :p kidding.. u wan me be guy also can
pretty ah? ![]()
got bf anot? ![]()
HAHA funny you should ask.. i thought everybody know
i donno..
then nvm lor.. got anymore qn?
Dear tinuviel07,
Glad that I can be of some help.
It is great to see a dedicated teacher/tutor to help a hardworking student.
Please continue your session with gunner.
Regards,
ahm97sic
err no more maths question
but got chem question
i post at there
u can help me?
okie.. see you there
hmm help help..
2000 paper 2
1e) his basic salary of $33 000 in 1997 was an increase of 10% on his basic salary in 1996. calculate his basic salary in 1996.
ans: $30 000