Oceane. your answer for question 5 left out the x-value, which is 10x.
Answers for question 8 i) a= 12, b=16
ii) (-2,32)
iii) 12unitssquare
Don't be so sad yet. Perhaps there might be some careless mistakes in Oceane's answers. Let's be patient and wait for Mikethm's worked solution as he shows the answers step by step and we will know where we have made the mistakes lah.
Ok here are the solutions to 2008 Paper 2 full workings.
Yes he has some careless mistake BUT I also might make careless mistake as I am in a hurry predicting the EM Paper 2 for my students as their lesson to tomorrow 9am.
Originally posted by Bluestarx jxo7:Question 4 ii) 0.585 not included?
Question 5 i) I thought is still got 10x?
Question 6 i) Can use RHS instead?
Question 7 iii) (90 degree,-6)
x2!
Originally posted by Mikethm:Ok here are the solutions to 2008 Paper 2 full workings.
Yes he has some careless mistake BUT I also might make careless mistake as I am in a hurry predicting the EM Paper 2 for my students as their lesson to tomorrow 9am.
Okayyyy I know why amplitude is 4 alr, GAHH. Let's just say I got no more A1. Unless a miracle happens. Ahwell, thanks anyway!! :D
hi mike do you mind posting it here when you're done. PLEASE
Originally posted by Oceane:
Waiting for some answers for Q8...
Hey, the accuracy of money is always to 2 decimal places, not 4 s.f.
And the nearest month, I don't think you can take 30, because the value is still more than $1000 in the exact 30th month, so it should be 31. This is my analogy la, not 100% sure. Need pro confirm
Originally posted by [e].Le-V:Hey, the accuracy of money is always to 2 decimal places, not 4 s.f.
And the nearest month, I don't think you can take 30, because the value is still more than $1000 in the exact 30th month, so it should be 31. This is my analogy la, not 100% sure. Need pro confirm
But to 3 s.f is okay right? I remember doing papers and 3sf is fine.
As for the 30 or 31 months thing, I remember there was a year or something in emaths or amaths they accepted both answers in a similar question.
lost 10 marks ![]()
max2-carelessness 5-proving 3-showling L=4sin0 -2cos0
but paper1 full marks so overall still not bad ![]()
i remember tys/prelim papers are rounded down for years/mths Q, but my teacher accept both estimation
for money does it mean 2 dp?
de exam paper stated clearly tat as long as answer is not accurate put to 3sf unless its angle den put in 1dp. dey nver say money need 2dp.
Originally posted by iamapebble:But to 3 s.f is okay right? I remember doing papers and 3sf is fine.
As for the 30 or 31 months thing, I remember there was a year or something in emaths or amaths they accepted both answers in a similar question.
3 s.f. im not sure lei...
However my amaths teacher strictly accepts only 2d.p. in my prelim and midyear.
oso no need score so high bah...i tink de a1 score is ard 90?
Originally posted by [e].Le-V:Hey, the accuracy of money is always to 2 decimal places, not 4 s.f.
I wrote 30 and the same ans for the money one...3.s.f. The question's phrasing wasn't clear for the month one.
Originally posted by xteehee:for money does it mean 2 dp?
de exam paper stated clearly tat as long as answer is not accurate put to 3sf unless its angle den put in 1dp. dey nver say money need 2dp.
money 2 d.p. is common sense what. no such thing as $0.001 right.
read de question paper...it says unless otherwise specified....
I think if you get exact answers for example:
$1234.5678 you should change it to $1234.57
If you get the answer like in today's paper unless you rounded off in the beginning and use the exact value then you round it off to 2d.p, if not you just leave it in 3sf.
The issue here is english comprehension and they added in the "nearest month" to remove any doubt about the answer.
30.1 month say... it is 5th of July that the value reach $1000... would you say 5th of July is in August?
Originally posted by deteq:money 2 d.p. is common sense what. no such thing as $0.001 right.
my tchers marked me wrong for 2d.p.
Originally posted by xteehee:oso no need score so high bah...i tink de a1 score is ard 90?
90% is 162marks leh... don't like that leh... I got 2 students is around 155 marks leh... I still hoping they can taigo get an A1 and the one who got 145marks will taigo get an A2. Then the N level one also A1 and the E Maths one also A2. Then I can have my 1st 100% distinction.
haha i just guessing nia...i oso dunno wad will be de cut off point...i oso dont mind it being lower since maybe i got careless in paper 2...haha...
Would you guys who scored above 140 marks (only interested in the cut off for A2/A1) mind stating your expected scores (where anything you are not sure... just assume it is wrong)... Being harsh in your assessment will not reflect on your actual grade anyway, so dun inflate. Not sure = wrong.
I provided you guys a service by uploading the solutions and I hope you return the favour by telling me your expected scores and the grade you finally get in January so that I can readjust my target for my next year students. My pool of AM students this year is too small to give me an accurate picture of the requirement. If you feel uncomfortable saying your score and result in public, you can email me the details at mikethm at yahoo dot com.
ard 88 bah....
Originally posted by iamapebble:I think if you get exact answers for example:
$1234.5678 you should change it to $1234.57
If you get the answer like in today's paper unless you rounded off in the beginning and use the exact value then you round it off to 2d.p, if not you just leave it in 3sf.
Not reasonable. 3sf you shld know the meaning. Moreover, they didnt say price must 2 dp. Thing is if it is 3sf it is actually not very accurate.
Btw, i calculated every small mistake like me giving in 3 sf.
I minus 18 marks.
If unlucky, teacher strict, could be -20 XD
Originally posted by Mikethm:Would you guys who scored above 140 marks (only interested in the cut off for A2/A1) mind stating your expected scores (where anything you are not sure... just assume it is wrong)... Being harsh in your assessment will not reflect on your actual grade anyway, so dun inflate. Not sure = wrong.
I provided you guys a service by uploading the solutions and I hope you return the favour by telling me your expected scores and the grade you finally get in January so that I can readjust my target for my next year students. My pool of AM students this year is too small to give me an accurate picture of the requirement. If you feel uncomfortable saying your score and result in public, you can email me the details at mikethm at yahoo dot com.
No problem :)
Paper 1: Careless here and there, minus here and there, should be 75/80.
Paper 2: Should be minus 20 marks already. EDIT: Let's make it 75/100. Hahaha.
Originally posted by davidche:Not reasonable. 3sf you shld know the meaning. Moreover, they didnt say price must 2 dp. Thing is if it is 3sf it is actually not very accurate.
Btw, i calculated every small mistake like me giving in 3 sf.
I minus 18 marks.
If unlucky, teacher strict, could be -20 XD
Hmmm, I don't know lei.. :( Ah well! But that's how it works for Emaths, as far as I know.