Originally posted by Mikethm:The issue here is english comprehension and they added in the "nearest month" to remove any doubt about the answer.
30.1 month say... it is 5th of July that the value reach $1000... would you say 5th of July is in August?
Hmm...
If I say one cake requires 2.1 chef to prepare in one hour, how many chefs is required to prepare two cakes in one hour? (to the nearest person)
2*2.1=4.2
But can you say 4, since I said to the nearest person? Impossible right, they will make an incompleted cake. So I can argue that 'to the nearest person' can also be 'to the nearest minimum people required', so that it will justify the practical situation instead of "english comprehension".
Originally posted by iamapebble:No problem :)
Paper 1: Careless here and there, minus here and there, should be 75/80.
Paper 2: Should be minus 20 marks already. EDIT: Let's make it 75/100. Hahaha.
mine ish the same except paper one is probably 70 cos i missed writing THREE (NA)s !!
Originally posted by davidche:
mine ish the same except paper one is probably 70 cos i missed writing THREE (NA)s !!
Wa got so many NAs to write uh, can't really recall. Means I maybe need to minus more luh. :(
Originally posted by davidche:Not reasonable. 3sf you shld know the meaning. Moreover, they didnt say price must 2 dp. Thing is if it is 3sf it is actually not very accurate.
Btw, i calculated every small mistake like me giving in 3 sf.
I minus 18 marks.
If unlucky, teacher strict, could be -20 XD
The issue about the figure for money is not about reasonable or not reasonable.
The issue is that if everyone say the sun is blue... THEN the sun is blue.
I am of the 3dp camp but I told my students to write solutions to the nearest cent because the whole world say so. I asked teacher friends and asked my students to ask their teachers about it and mass majority insist on nearest cents.
If everyone say vandalism is not a crime then it is not a crime.
If everyone say smoking is a crime then it is a crime.
This is how the world work. The exam board will definitely not go against the majority.
That said, I am of the opinion that 3dp is ok according to the letters of the instructions... but I don't try it.
Originally posted by [e].Le-V:Hmm...
If I say one cake requires 2.1 chef to prepare in one hour, how many chefs is required to prepare two cakes in one hour? (to the nearest person)
2*2.1=4.2
But can you say 4, since I said to the nearest person? Impossible right, they will make an incompleted cake. So I can argue that 'to the nearest person' can also be 'to the nearest minimum people required', so that it will justify the practical situation instead of "english comprehension".
Exactly. It depends on the situation... and in the case of months... your argument is not valid.
If they ask to find the number of cans of paint you need to buy to paint a house and your solution is 4.1... you HAVE to buy 5 cans.
In the case of month, year etc... 14.9 years after Jan 1 of 1990 is STILL IN 2004 ( Nov 2004 is STILL 2004) AND not 2005.
i should be getting around 91 if i get nothing more minused off presentation, but most likely i'd get around 2-3 minused off so i'm looking at around 90.
Some of you said that A1 would be >90%, but thats no where near. A1 should be around 80%, i have many friends from other schools and my school (pretty good school) complaining that paper 2 was tough so i think that the average would be pulled down
Originally posted by davidche:
I hope you can taigo an A1. Seriously I am hoping quite hard.
Because the worst result of mine is a girl whose mom trusted me with tutoring her daughter despite her getting 35% for her Sec 3 year end under my tuition and 35% again for her midyear until I forcefully made her follow my instructions for a still dismal 57% prelim results. Her expected score is still a not so safe 80% like yours. :<
Hope at the very least you can manage an A2.
Originally posted by Mikethm:I hope you can taigo an A1. Seriously I am hoping quite hard.
Because the worst result of mine is a girl whose mom trusted me with tutoring her daughter despite her getting 35% for her Sec 3 year end under my tuition and 35% again for her midyear until I forcefully made her follow my instructions for a still dismal 57% prelim results. Her expected score is still a not so safe 80% like yours. :<
Hope at the very least you can manage an A2.
Did she do her work?
Okay thats i got after marking it myself, but if i calculate in a presentation errors here and there i'll probably be looking at ~87.
Mike, what you do you think is the safe range for an A1?
i would say A1 is usually at the 80% to 85% mark for maths at O levels, for both E and A maths
eagle, is the moderation by subject code or by subject? I am taking 4018.
but what i think is, this paper 2 is harder than any tys i've done so i'm thinking a1 will be pulled down. i dont really know though.
Originally posted by Creeed:i should be getting around 91 if i get nothing more minused off presentation, but most likely i'd get around 2-3 minused off so i'm looking at around 90.
Some of you said that A1 would be >90%, but thats no where near. A1 should be around 80%, i have many friends from other schools and my school (pretty good school) complaining that paper 2 was tough so i think that the average would be pulled down
It was me who said 90% initially but qualifying my statement with "if paper 2 is as simple as paper 1". However happily that was not the case. Nevertheless paper 2 was not difficult. I don't know why every year students tell me that "their year was difficult" or "will be difficult". That is rubbish. Last year was the simplest as of 2007 and this year is even more simple. Paper 1 was horrible easy... and as usual, paper 2 was >90% predictable in the questions which came out. I gave my students a list of only 14 question types ( whittled down from my list of 30 core question types... anyone who expected linear law to come out twice have obviously not analysed the number of questions asked for the individual topics in past years) to do and every one came out as expected. Which is why I got 2 persons with full marks for paper 2.
The only surprise in paper 2 was part 2 of the logarithm question which is always asked in Sec 3 School exams ( go back and check your Sec 3 log test, mid year and year end... odds are your teacher tested it) BUT never in the past 30 years of O levels. In fact, this question I will only do once and never again with my students based on the super low probability of this approach. The rest of the questions are standard O level questions which are recycled every year.
However as the paper 2 was of acceptable difficulty compared to previous years... the cut off will probably not jump too much. Last year was 83%. This year maybe 87% in my opinion considering the lower difficulty as a whole? But but there is always the chance that seab will give out more A1s as a bonus for the change in syllabus? I certainly hope so.
Originally posted by eagle:i would say A1 is usually at the 80% to 85% mark for maths at O levels, for both E and A maths
And yes, E Maths will be around 80-85% too despite it being easier. Why?
Coz got normal stream sec 5, private candidates and the single maths students help you all to prop up the bottom of the scores.
Originally posted by eagle:Did she do her work?
Resentfully. I believe she was secretly angry with me for insisting integration be completed before April of Sec 4 because her school mid year only cover until differientiation. I believe it take time to get familar and proficient and I don't give a damn to school exams. Forced her to revise everything in the syllabus even if it is not tested in her mid year. So she probably felt she failed coz of me but I dun care what she think and I told her so. :PPPPP
My only fear was losing my weakest student which will unfairly prop up my distinction rate, no kick.
Everyone of my student expressly agreed that they have to aim for at least A2. Can make it or not never mind. But you must agree to aim for it. Don't agree then find another tutor. I tutor for the kick of distinction rates.
And I don't believe in homework for Sec 3. Just understand the concepts and just pass can liao. Sec 4 then memorise the 30 core questions types. Memorising without understanding confirm cannot get A1 one. Memorising is to ensure that the quantity of thinking time is reduced, completion speed increased, freeing the student to spend time on the "really need to think" aspects. This way even a student of average aptitude got a good fighting chance for A2. And a student with good aptitude confirm can get A1.
I've done prelim papers from top schools and this paper was harder than some of them. Oh well, your the professional. Its the exam stress i guess.
This paper is not that difficult.. Is just u must really understand all ur formular and can use all ur formular.. i think >80 can get.. As i dun know the Proving part B and the proving number 9. + the last number i forget to use (-(b)(b^2-49(a)(c))^1/2)/2(a)... Haiz.. Wasted...
Now that I think of it, maybe the paper was really not difficult.. I lost my marks from:
1] Geometrical proving: I know my theorems and how to apply them, but I don't know why I can't freaking get the final 1 or 2 steps to the final answer, as in, justifying why it proves. (Hopefully I can marks for first few steps)
2] Showing that L = 4 sin ditre - 2 cos ditre question. Once again, I can't seem to see the answer behind that question. (bye bye 3 marks)
3] Final 2 questions, question 10 on coordinate geometry, careless in the front part, end up got weird answers and ended up screwing part [ii]. Last question, showing that A and B blah blah, mood was pulled down to the max, wrote 2 whole pages of working, at the last and final step, I suddenly messed it all up, whereby I can't really think properly as to what am I finding and time was up. (hopefully they try to make some sense of my working because I think my workings are right, just that it's all over the place, as in I didn't really do it orderly, I jumped here and there)
Careless a few, I'm praying hard it's a borderline A1 with the help of paper 1.
lol same for me for final qn. i see 7 mark headache liao. lol
Thing is almost everyone couldnt do the L=cos& thing
Crap no mood to study now sia.
geez
im so worried
i got 77/80 for paper one
around... hmm 87/100 for the second one
what are my chances of A1?
Wasted all my time doing tys after tys and other school papers. sure gone case already. tot paper 1 so easy can dont study liao, in the end paper 2 become the most difficult paper.
Dont be complacent for e maths, all of you jia you.