umm sorry requirement can be viewed here.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2605
You can choose certain engine course from NUS.
Why don't you just go to the websites of all the 3 unit and see it? The links were posted in here a few weeks back and you don't have to see it from external forums which just copy the data out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp2bVbHyhCM&feature=player_embedded
Just for laughs people, How to score A+ in SMU. ![]()
Hi TS, dont give up hope. Cuz I had only A, C, C, in A levels and got into NUS common engineering. Ofcourse, you need alot of backup in your CCA to prove your other talents. Then I got A1 for CCA, holding numerous big posts as in general secretary of AVA club, badminton monitor, class chairman, prefects council, Staff Sergeant and Asst Head Libririan, etc. And in JC, was member in Band that got SYF silver, NYAA member etc.
And guess what, I graduated with 2nd Class Hons in Mechanical Engineering (NUS), way better than many of my peers who were from more reputed JCs and had more As.
All you need is to be given an opportunity/chance to show yourself. Remember to beseech the interviewer to give you a chance so that you can proof to them. :)
Originally posted by candiz:dun worry TS, ACC is actually quite good results!
I think you have at least 90% chance of getting into common engineering
cheer up
Originally posted by jaydunkfull:
are you serious?!!when i was mugging for As, the teachers say As is the worst part of student life, that uni would be better. i dont know how ill survive if it gets any worse than As. i was barely surviving in jc.
The grades in which you enter Uni with has no/ very little corelations with the type of Honors you will score.
I feel that it all boils down to how consistant you are in your schoolwork( for University).
Like me go in to my Uni course with good grades, but play play play tooooooo much now GG. LOL
I won't bet on that. Theres still a limit to how many people can get first class honours since everything is by GPA and its not like everyone can get it if not there won't be ppl with 2nd class like me and even people who kanna kick out of uni liao.
I would definitely not agree that a NTU 1st class is not as good as a NUS 1st class. Likely whoever post that is a NUS student who just wants to 'advertise' his school.
Originally posted by jaydunkfull:i read this from another forum.
that a first class honours is easier to obtain in ntu. but if you get a first class in ntu, you may not even get second lower in nus. in terms of engineering that is. so is it wiser to go ntu, and stand a higher chance of getting first class or go nus, and get maybe second or third class honours. after all, employers would know that a first class degree fron ntu is not as good as a first class degree from nus.
LOL try NTU in getting a first class hons in engineering.
Most probably will get pwned big time. Whoever said that is obviously advertising for NUS engineering school.
-double post-
-Triple post-
Nus grades more competitive...to what extent dunno
Originally posted by jaydunkfull:hello. i just got an offer from ntu. they offered me engineering.
actually i was already quite decided on taking engineering since after results. but theres another prospect thats bothering me. ive heard people say that engineering is a sunset industry in singapore now. plus with foreign talent coming in and willing to accept lower salary, demand for local engineers will fall.
then theres another side that goes with the “engineers can do anything” theory. that demand for engineers,like accountants will always be there. so its kinda like a iron rice bowl. but then again, the manufacturing sector in singapore is indeed shrinking.
ive also heard people say that to do well as an engineer, you have to go overseas. engineers dont do well in singapore. is that true??
Singapore always needs engineers! but thing is, you can end up doing other things like biz
Originally posted by motoway:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp2bVbHyhCM&feature=player_embedded
Just for laughs people, How to score A+ in SMU.
Will remember this when I go to SMU next time. ![]()
Originally posted by motoway:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp2bVbHyhCM&feature=player_embedded
Just for laughs people, How to score A+ in SMU.
this is awesome. ![]()
Originally posted by jaydunkfull:hello. i just got an offer from ntu. they offered me engineering.
actually i was already quite decided on taking engineering since after results. but theres another prospect thats bothering me. ive heard people say that engineering is a sunset industry in singapore now. plus with foreign talent coming in and willing to accept lower salary, demand for local engineers will fall.
then theres another side that goes with the “engineers can do anything” theory. that demand for engineers,like accountants will always be there. so its kinda like a iron rice bowl. but then again, the manufacturing sector in singapore is indeed shrinking.
ive also heard people say that to do well as an engineer, you have to go overseas. engineers dont do well in singapore. is that true??
Hey! U can join me at NTU! Haha! :) And to answer your question, engineering isn't a sunset industry. But of course it depends on your specialisation. But overall, engineering in Singapore is very much alive like what sbst275 said. The manufacturing sector in Singapore won't die off so fast. It is true that we would have to compete with the foreign talent so you have to consider it a motivation and challenge to do way better than them or else you will die off.
That said, about the "engineers can do everything" theory, let me quote an example: My sis was a computer engineer by profession but she hated the job so much and quited after 2 years. After that, she took a masters in business and now she is working in a well-acclaimed investment analyst firm. What I'm trying to say is that even if you feel engineering is not your ultimate choice, sure you may have your regrets in the future. BUT you can always branch out to do anything you want next time. Business, the arts, service/private sector or maybe even a yoga instructor, etc; the world is your oyster!
As for the last part, I ain't too sure. But think about it this way, if one already can't do his/her best in Singapore against the foreign talent, then what makes you think one can do better if they head over to a country breeming with a whole more "foreign talent"?
Cheers!
newurbanmale boss is NTU mech engine graduate.
during attachment, he realise he didnt want to do this his entire life. hence, he did business lor.
One more thing! Don't accept NTU's offer yet. Wait and see what NUS comes up with. For all you may know, you might get accepted into NUS common engineering! =D
Cheers!
o.O
hmmm
It depends. I graduated with engineering, so far so good leh...
You can add me on msn and I can give you more tips and help motivate when needed. :D