If you want further clarification, join my BedokFunland JC tuition (assuming you're retaking your A levels) and discuss it during tuition. Alternatively, as is the case with 99% of Singapore JC students, just "memorize it and don't ask so much" as JC teachers would instruct.
The other 1 % exceptional one are bedokjc's students *Two thumbs up!!!!!!*
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Huh?? But the picture of the intermediate, shows the U across the 3rd C too, relative to the C atom that is fully filled
Hydroysis of amide
Esterification of amine
Nu sub of Carboxylic acid to ester
Hydrolysis if esters
Nu sub if alcohol into ester
Oxdn of alcohol
Oxdn of carbonyl cpds
Hydrolysis of nitriles
Side chain oxdn of methylbenzene
Elimination , NuSub of halogenoalkanes into nitriles and alcohol
Esub of NO2 into halogenoarene
Ive listed down all the organic reactions in H2 syllabus that requires heat/ heat under reflux as (one of) its condition
One perennial qns that puzzles many:
When need use/write heat under reflux or heat??
Pleaseee help!!!
For my own notes i wrote all as heat only, refering to kim seng chan's book and the hwach's pam peng cheong summary book, none stated HUR
Positive formal charge is not delocalised through meta C , is it because meta group is supposed to be electron withdrawing
But haha there's no group attached to the C there for that compound
2012 p3 qn 2eii)
Different answers from different publishers ultima please help!!!!
I concur with this answer https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbdp64mdsbog5dr/20151119_172600.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fviekfa65r21zte/20151119_172611.jpg?dl=0
Can help check, thank u ultima
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Hydroysis of amide
Esterification of amine
Nu sub of Carboxylic acid to ester
Hydrolysis if esters
Nu sub if alcohol into ester
Oxdn of alcohol
Oxdn of carbonyl cpds
Hydrolysis of nitriles
Side chain oxdn of methylbenzene
Elimination , NuSub of halogenoalkanes into nitriles and alcohol
Esub of NO2 into halogenoarene
Ive listed down all the organic reactions in H2 syllabus that requires heat/ heat under reflux as (one of) its condition
One perennial qns that puzzles many:
When need use/write heat under reflux or heat??
Pleaseee help!!!
For my own notes i wrote all as heat only, refering to kim seng chan's book and the hwach's pam peng cheong summary book, none stated HUR
Originally posted by Flying grenade:2012 p3 qn 2eii)
Different answers from different publishers ultima please help!!!!
I concur with this answer https://www.dropbox.com/s/dbdp64mdsbog5dr/20151119_172600.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fviekfa65r21zte/20151119_172611.jpg?dl=0
Can help check, thank u ultima
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
Eh both are the same answers lah. If you wanna be even more precise than these publishers' answers, you can indicate the unipositive formal charge directly next to the N atom, and the uninegative formal charge directly next to the Cl atom.
OHHHH i understand this alr. Thank u god 😄
If we use sulfuric acid instead, then there will be so42- attached, instead of cl-?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:OHHHH i understand this alr. Thank u god 
If we use sulfuric acid instead, then there will be so42- attached, instead of cl-?
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:Eh don't confuse yourself in the last few hours before each paper lah! Don't worry so much lah, if Chan Kim Seng or George Chong or CS Toh say "heat", then you write "heat" lor. In almost all cases for H2 syllabus, just "heating" without "reflux" is acceptable. But if Cambridge asks you questions about reflux, or why / when it is needed, I wrote about it a few weeks ago :
You need to know how to draw, label and describe the use of the reflux apparatus (when it came out in the Singapore A levels a few years ago, most Singapore JC students couldn't do this question). There are 2 main types of reflux setups that can be tested at A levels : simple reflux, and reflux with distillation.
Heating is required for most organic chemistry reactions (other than those whose reactants or products are vulnerable to thermal decomposition or undesired side reactions, then room temperature or warming is required instead of heating), as most organic chemistry reactions involve breaking of covalent bonds and hence involve high Ea.
However, heating alone without reflux (ie. the use of a condenser) causes problems : organic reactants and solvents, being simple covalent molecular with weak intermolecular van der Waals are volatitle (ie. low boiling point). As such, either the solvent, or one or more of reactant(s), may vaporize and escape, instead of remaining in the reaction mixture, which sabotages the reaction by preventing it from continuing and/or reaching equilibrium yield for the product.
Hence heating under reflux (ie. with the use of a condenser) has 2 main purposes :
1) Ensuring the solvent does not vaporize away and cause the reaction vessel to boil dry, stopping the reaction. In addition, as a particular solvent has its own fixed boiling point, hence by careful choice of solvent, you can control the temperature within a very narrow range, to allow the reaction will proceed at the temperature ideal for that particular reaction. The constant boiling action also serves to continuously mix the solution, ensuring the reactants can continue to effectively mix and collide and thus reach equilibrium yield for the product.
2) Ensuring that the organic, volatile reactants (1 or more of which may have boiling points below the solvent and products) do not vaporize away and cause the reaction to slow down and stop, which prevents reaching the maximum equilibrium yield possible.
Thk u ultima
Dun get 2)
So if it does not vaporise its bad right? Then why still want to ensure that it doesnt vaporise?
Update : understood it alr. Thank you!
'Eh don't confuse yourself'
Wont, asking u is gaining knowledge, not diluting knowledge, and your explanations are always top notch and clear cut. Thanks ! !!
https://www.dropbox.com/s/kpwhn7if4vfi249/8715de6a97ecefb9e71c87cd684afc32.jpg?dl=0
Either HSO4- or H2SO4, depending on context. Unless the question specifies "compound" (ie. meaning both the main cation / anion, together with its counter anion / cation, has to be specified), in most cases Cambridge will accept your answer even if you do not include the counter ion, as long as your main product is correct.
Is it so42- u mean?
How can h2so4 attach to it?
Update : saw the edit alr. Thanks! (:
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Is it so42- u mean?
How can h2so4 attach to it?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Thk u ultima
Dun get 2)
So if it does not vaporise its bad right? Then why still want to ensure that it doesnt vaporise?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zlp6sofy7wm49fe/20151120_114103.jpg?dl=0
Why will heating several hours in inert solvent result in that compound?
Is it because strong oxidation result in bond cleavage? But i thought it only applies for double bond?
And how is CO2 gas formed?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/zlp6sofy7wm49fe/20151120_114103.jpg?dl=0
Why will heating several hours in inert solvent result in that compound?
Is it because strong oxidation result in bond cleavage? But i thought it only applies for double bond?
And how is CO2 gas formed?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/eql687yhg4w0znh/20151120_124356.jpg?dl=0
What information are we lacking such that we cannot deduce its a 2nd order rxn?
Is it information of rate? What else?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/eql687yhg4w0znh/20151120_124356.jpg?dl=0
What information are we lacking such that we cannot deduce its a 2nd order rxn?
Is it information of rate? What else?
hello there! i know it's not very wise to ask about the h2 chem bell curve since most teachers said to carry on and focus on other papers.
could you give an estimated marks that one should get for each paper for 2015 to achieve an A, assuming that p1 is an easy paper? i heard from peers that p2 is manageable/weird, while p3 is generally ok and much easier that p2.
Eg.
Paper 1: /40
Paper 2: /60
Planning: /12
Paper 3: /80
it would help a lot thanks :)
Originally posted by Ibenedictkoh:hello there! i know it's not very wise to ask about the h2 chem bell curve since most teachers said to carry on and focus on other papers.
could you give an estimated marks that one should get for each paper for 2015 to achieve an A, assuming that p1 is an easy paper? i heard from peers that p2 is manageable/weird, while p3 is generally ok and much easier that p2.
Eg.
Paper 1: /40
Paper 2: /60
Planning: /12
Paper 3: /80
it would help a lot thanks :)
Excellent point, Sugarfortress (are you a H2 or H3 student? or not even a student?).
This *appears* to be irreconcilable at A levels, given the stoichiometry and magnitudes of the relevant oxidation and reduction potentials. A easy workaround would be to suggest that excess I- be required (again, non-standard molarities). However, as it turns out, there's actually a more important reason that enables the redox reaction to proceed to generate CuI(s) even without excess I-. Which is, the reduction potential of Cu2+(aq) to Cu+(s) precipitate is actually far more positive than given in the Data Booklet, which is for aqueous species, ie. Cu2+(aq) to Cu+(aq). So much so that as CuI(s) precipitates out, the magnitude of the decrease in oxidation potential of I- to I2, is still far outweighed by the magnitude of increase in reduction potential of Cu2+(aq) to Cu+(aq) to Cu+(s). As such, admittedly my earlier explanation is simplified and incomplete, but would still suffice for A levels, should Cambridge ever ask this question.
Hi Ultima,
Really sorry for the late reply! I'm a H2 student. Also, thanks for that clarification pertaining to CuI!
On another note, could I seek your advice pertaining to the Mcq question below? The answer provided is C, but we couldn't figure out why. We understand that they are asking for fractions instead of just concentration of X so it's less clear cut, yet we know that there is more than 1 variable in the fraction changing at any point in time (ie LHS, RHS, fraction numerator, fraction denominator). How should we approach such questions?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0qaWFuyyNByRjBCSFJoRW1wQlE/view?usp=docslist_api
Thanks so much! :)
Originally posted by Sugarfortress:Hi Ultima,
Really sorry for the late reply! I'm a H2 student. Also, thanks for that clarification pertaining to CuI!
On another note, could I seek your advice pertaining to the Mcq question below? The answer provided is C, but we couldn't figure out why. We understand that they are asking for fractions instead of just concentration of X so it's less clear cut, yet we know that there is more than 1 variable in the fraction changing at any point in time (ie LHS, RHS, fraction numerator, fraction denominator). How should we approach such questions?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0qaWFuyyNByRjBCSFJoRW1wQlE/view?usp=docslist_api
Thanks so much! :)
discussing very useful information
Q: http://papers.xtremepapers.com/CIE/Cambridge%20International%20A%20and%20AS%20Level/Chemistry%20(9701)/9701_w09_qp_42.pdf
^Q5 part (a) of the above paper.
I simply dont know how to solve this part....i do understand that in benzene, all carbons are arranged in trigonal planar compared to cyclohexane but i cant understand how methylpropane is not planar while butane can be planar
A detailed explanation of how to solve this question would be very helpful. Thank You
Mark Scheme : http://papers.xtremepapers.com/CIE/Cambridge%20International%20A%20and%20AS%20Level/Chemistry%20(9701)/9701_w09_ms_42.pdf
Is the cj acid and cj base of H2O, H3O+ and OH- respectively?
Is the cj base of H3O+, H2O? What would it be its cj acid then?
Why higher pressure means less of the species, and
on the side with greater number of moles of gas?
Is it because greater number of moles of gas in a fixed vessel volume , there is higher pressure, and since there are greater no. moles of gas, the mole fraction of the gas we're interested in, is smaller, and hence less of the species??