what about this?
One way to create a pseudo-1st-order reaction is to manipulate the physical amounts of the reactants. For example, if one were to dump a liter of 5 M HCl into a 55 M ocean, the concentration of the mixture would be closer or equal to that of the ocean because there is so much water physically compared to the HCl and also because 55 M is relatively larger compared to 5 M.
this is for http://chem.libretexts.org/Core/Physical_and_Theoretical_Chemistry/Kinetics/Reaction_Rates/Second-Order_Reactions/Pseudo-1st-order_reactions
Originally posted by Flying grenade:what about this?
One way to create a pseudo-1st-order reaction is to manipulate the physical amounts of the reactants. For example, if one were to dump a liter of 5 M HCl into a 55 M ocean, the concentration of the mixture would be closer or equal to that of the ocean because there is so much water physically compared to the HCl and also because 55 M is relatively larger compared to 5 M.
this is for http://chem.libretexts.org/Core/Physical_and_Theoretical_Chemistry/Kinetics/Reaction_Rates/Second-Order_Reactions/Pseudo-1st-order_reactions
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
So what don't u understand?
it's like making H2O pseudo first order
Originally posted by Flying grenade:it's like making H2O pseudo first order
Go ask your school teacher or private tutor, u coconaden.
Buay tahan. Tak boleh tahan. Going out for makan now, be back after midnight. Move on, don't make me vomit blood with this qn liao.
i think its make HCl pseudo first order from second order
yeah ok moved on
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
Go ask your school teacher or private tutor, u coconaden.
Buay tahan. Tak boleh tahan. Going out for makan now, be back after midnight. Move on, don't make me vomit blood with this qn liao.
i stopped asking my school chemistry teachers qns long long time ago
Originally posted by Flying grenade:what about this?
so pseudo first order not very useful/relevant to H2 chem?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:so pseudo first order not very useful/relavant to H2 chem?
the oxdn number of carbonyl C atom in benzaldehyde is between 0 and +1 ?
how to determine the exact value for these type of cases? also the N atom in nitrobenzene is between +3 and +5?
for other normal aliphatic aldehyde, O.N. of C atom is +1 right
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9coywg6c8q0nzl4/20161005_214555.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j9bagm5kenl8m3s/20161005_214614.jpg?dl=0
how is it that Uand V yield the same products on ozonolysis
W and X also
U,V and W,X all have diff structural formula
http://chem.libretexts.org/Core/Organic_Chemistry/Hydrocarbons/Alkenes/Reactivity_of_Alkenes/Ozonolysis
only ketone CH3CH2COCH3 generated from oxidation of X via ozonolysis can be distinguished only
Originally posted by Flying grenade:the oxdn number of carbonyl C atom in benzaldehyde is between 0 and +1 ?
how to determine the exact value for these type of cases? also the N atom in nitrobenzene is between +3 and +5?
You need to correctly deduce the OS value in the individual resonance contributors, before you can correctly elucidate the actual OS value in the resonance hybrid.
You go draw out the resonance contributors of nitrobenzene, then see if you get " between +3 and +5" or not, you coconaden.
Originally posted by Flying grenade:for other normal aliphatic aldehyde, O.N. of C atom is +1 right
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/9coywg6c8q0nzl4/20161005_214555.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j9bagm5kenl8m3s/20161005_214614.jpg?dl=0
how is it that Uand V yield the same products on ozonolysis
W and X also
U,V and W,X all have diff structural formula
http://chem.libretexts.org/Core/Organic_Chemistry/Hydrocarbons/Alkenes/Reactivity_of_Alkenes/Ozonolysis
only ketone CH3CH2COCH3 generated from oxidation of X via ozonolysis can be distinguished only
Second (once you've chosen oxidative or reductive), then draw out all the products.
If they're not the same, then they're not the same lah! (in which case, authors also can make typos ok! you urself know can liao!)
If they're the same, then *that's why* they're the same lah! (in which case, who say different reactants cannot generate the same products after a reaction?)
molecules with diff structural formula generate same product after a reaction, eg. oxidative cleavage? agree, its possible
I know CH3CHO can be produced by both U and V
i dont see how CH3CH2CH2CHO can be produced from V
how would X produce CH3CHO and CH3CH2COCH3?
from the qn : how to use ozonolysis to differentiate these structural isomers of C6H12
ok moved on alr. thanks for your patience
no need reply these qns, can selective reply some and some not, i dun mind
this not impt, moved on alr
if serious or impt qn then i will implore/beg/pester u to reply
Originally posted by Flying grenade:molecules with diff structural formula generate same product after a reaction, eg. oxidative cleavage? agree, its possible
I know CH3CHO can be produced by both U and V
i dont see how CH3CH2CH2CHO can be produced from V
how would X produce CH3CHO and CH3CH2COCH3?
from the qn : how to use ozonolysis to differentiate these structural isomers of C6H12
open ended qn : how to differentiate U,V , W, X
is it too complicated to systematically differentiate that 4 isomers of C6H12?
fact :
ester group bonded to benzene ring is https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethyl_benzoate. methyl benzoate too. produced from benzoic acid as the carboxylic acid
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phenyl_acetate , produced from phenol and ethanoic acid
Originally posted by Flying grenade:open ended qn : how to differentiate U,V , W, X
is it too complicated to systematically differentiate that 4 isomers of C6H12?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/nbb33pfyobl68uj/20161005_233018.jpg?dl=0
1. LiAlH4 in dry ether
2. followed by H2O/ heat? no need heat right?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/nbb33pfyobl68uj/20161005_233018.jpg?dl=0
1. LiAlH4 in dry ether
2. followed by H2O/ heat? no need heat right?
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyclobutadiene
is cyclobuta-1,3-diene aromatic? why not?
all C atoms in cyclobuta-1,3-diene are sp2 hybridised right?
The pi electron energy of cyclobutadiene is higher than that of its open-chain counterpart, 1,3-butadiene, and it is therefore said to be anti-aromatic rather than aromatic.
The rectangular structure is consistent with the existence of two different 1,2-dideutero-1,3-cyclobutadiene stereoisomers. This indicates that the pi electrons are localized and therefore not considered to be aromatic.
can cyclo-oct-1,3,5,7-quad-ene be aromatic? haha