Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
Haha thank you :)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/zn8qpqilck3wbvz/20161008_180749-1.jpg?dl=0
NJC 2013 p3 qn 4eiv
Weak base strong acid titration CO32- + HCl
for the calculation of pH when excess HCl is used, do we need to consider common ion effect, where high [H+] from HCl suppresses dissociation of H2CO3
if i consider ntotal from HCl only, i calculate pH = 2.07
if i consider HCl+ 1molH+ from H2CO3 , pH = 1.60
if i consider HCl + 2molH+ from H2CO3 , pH= 1.38
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/zn8qpqilck3wbvz/20161008_180749-1.jpg?dl=0
NJC 2013 p3 qn 4eiv
Weak base strong acid titration CO32- + HCl
for the calculation of pH when excess HCl is used, do we need to consider common ion effect, where high [H+] from HCl suppresses dissociation of H2CO3
if i consider ntotal from HCl only, i calculate pH = 2.07
if i consider HCl+ 1molH+ from H2CO3 , pH = 1.60
if i consider HCl + 2molH+ from H2CO3 , pH= 1.38
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvz3cotvl3r2gt4/20161008_184906-1.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/otc8gwvqu6dh0wn/20161008_184909-1.jpg?dl=0
how to distinguish isomer W and X?
why the answer say white solid? phenylamine is colorless-yellow liquid, sodium ethanoate is soluble in water
Yes, you need to consider common ion effect. In excess HCl, pH is determined by the strongest acid HCl, all the CO3 2- will be protonated and eliminated from solution in the form of CO2.
ohh okay wow i see!!
dk why answer write pH= 1.30 though
Yes, you need to consider common ion effect. In excess HCl, pH is determined by the strongest acid HCl, all the CO3 2- will be protonated and eliminated from solution in the form of CO2.
for this qn, conc hcl given is 0.05 M, so i calculate using nHCl = 0.05 ×10/1000
nH+ = nHCl
total vol = 50 + 10 = 60cm3
[H+] = 1/120
pH = -lg [H+] = 2.08 (3sf)
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvz3cotvl3r2gt4/20161008_184906-1.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/otc8gwvqu6dh0wn/20161008_184909-1.jpg?dl=0
how to distinguish isomer W and X?
why the answer say white solid? phenylamine is colorless-yellow liquid, sodium ethanoate is soluble in water
You keep making the same type of mindless (ie. lacking mindfulness or situational awareness) mistakes over and over again, you coconaden. Do you really expect to see a "colorless to yellow liquid" under these conditions?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:for this qn, conc hcl given is 0.05 M, so i calculate using nHCl = 0.05 ×10/1000
nH+ = nHCl
[H+] = 1/120
Alkaline hydrolysis, followed by iodoform test, is a better answer.You keep making the same type of mindless (ie. lacking mindfulness or situational awareness) mistakes over and over again, you coconaden. Do you really expect to see a "colorless to yellow liquid" under these conditions?
cannot, thats why idk how distinguish
what was the white ppt the answer key was referring to uh???
U damn coconaden. Simple qn like this also make mistake. U wrong lah, not NJC teacher wrong. Figure out ur own mistake.
tell me la pls faster
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q9cjxra10mbj18y/20161008_233029.jpg?dl=0
what kind of molecule is V ?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:https://www.dropbox.com/s/q9cjxra10mbj18y/20161008_233029.jpg?dl=0
what kind of molecule is V ?
Protonating O=N--O- generates O=N--O-H, which can be further protonated into O=N--OH2+ which can decompose into H2O and O=N+, an electrophile to be attacked by the amine (ie. electrophilic substitution) generate the final product of N,N-dimethylnitrosamine.
Originally posted by Flying grenade:what was the white ppt the answer key was referring to uh???
Originally posted by Flying grenade:for this qn, conc hcl given is 0.05 M, so i calculate using nHCl = 0.05 ×10/1000
nH+ = nHCl
[H+] = 1/120
The reagents are in error. Sodium nitrite, not sodium nitrate, should be used.Protonating O=N--O- generates O=N--O-H, which can be further protonated into O=N--OH2+ which can decompose into H2O and O=N+, an electrophile to be attacked by the amine (ie. electrophilic substitution) generate the final product of N,N-dimethylnitrosamine.
u godly sia. u pwn everyone
u should write a godlike chem textbook
Phenylamine
phenylamine not a white solid right?
My bad, your pH is correct.
excess 10cm3 no meh??
help pls
or be godlike proof-reader /vetter
chem god
Originally posted by Flying grenade:phenylamine not a white solid right?
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:Is phenylamine a white ppt or a yellow liquid? Depends on whether ... ... ... ... (go figure out urself, u coconaden).
all 21 Singapore JCs are great
Is YJC a good JC or a lousy JC? Depends on whether you're comparing it with MI or RJC.Is phenylamine a white solid or a yellow liquid? Depends on whether ... ... ... ... (go figure out urself, u coconaden).
eh that soln/molecule/solid
both W and X amide both solid , pour colorless naoh in?? idk sia
help me
cocoboss/cocolover eat cocokrunch,drink coconut juice
where my vol of HCl wrong?
rescue me pls
Originally posted by Flying grenade:where my vol of HCl wrong?
rescue me pls
Originally posted by Flying grenade:eh that soln/molecule/solid
both W and X amide both solid , pour colorless naoh in?? idk sia
help me cocoboss
My bad, your pH is correct.
so i pwn the NJC cher for that qn