Originally posted by Flying grenade:2010 p3 qn 1d
Sir ultima can help check my drawingsFor cpd A, the cl is substituted at that position is it because it is most stable there because attached to 3 mildly electron donating C group ah? Markovnikov’s rule ah?
For D, im asking this as an extension
When the Br is being eliminated, are there 2 other by-product as drawn?
Ohh!!
I only thought of that, due to the factor of ring strain.
Becos sp hybridised should have a angle of 180°, however in that case its bent at an angle.
Hence the diene cannot be formed
So yes, only 1,3diene can be formed right?
Can help improve and add in the rest of the factors into the answer pls
Thank u ultima!
Why iodine cannot undergo FRS? Cos its nt gaseous / I-I bond too strong?
Which 2 factors?? Alkyl stability and temperature uh?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Ohh!!
I only thought of that, due to the factor of ring strain.
Becos sp hybridised should have a angle of 180°, however in that case its bent at an angle.
Hence the diene cannot be formed
So yes, only 1,3diene can be formed right?
Can help improve and add in the rest of the factors into the answer pls
Thank u ultima!
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Why iodine cannot undergo FRS? Cos its nt gaseous / I-I bond too strong?
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
You got the idea.
Cumulated dienes can indeed be generated, just not within a small ring like this molecule, because of the resultant ring strain due to angle strain (due to the significant deviation from the ideal bond angles about the sp hybridized C atom as predicted by VSEPR theory, which is to maximize thermodynamic stabilities by minimizing electron pair electrostatic repulsions) making it thermodynamically unstable and thus its formation thermodynamically unfeasible.
Conjugated dienes (such as the final product in this Cambridge qn) are thermodynamically favored due to the resonance stabilization energy (for the same reason why only benzene, but not the non-resonance mythical version, cyclohexa-1,3,5-triene, exists), which results in the resonance hybrid enjoying overall stronger C-C bonds (ie. 3 C-C bonds all with partial double bond characters, is overall still stronger and still has a more exothermic formation enthalpy compared to 2 full double bonds and 1 strictly single bond), a more exothermic formation enthalpy, and thus more thermodynamically stable and formation more thermodynamically favored.
Another godly answer.., thank you so much..!!!
Iodine is such a big molecule so it's unreactive?
The equation c2h5• +I• -> c2h5I +HI , is endothermic is it?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Which 2 factors?? Alkyl stability and temperature uh?
Isnt no. Of H atoms available for substitution same as tertiary, secondary or pri alkyl radical intermediate?
Is temperature a factor for FRS?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:
Another godly answer.., thank you so much..!!!
Iodine is such a big molecule so it's unreactive?
The equation c2h5• +I• -> c2h5I +HI , is endothermic is it?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Isnt no. Of H atoms available for substitution same as tertiary, secondary or pri alkyl radical intermediate?
Is temperature a factor for FRS?
Thank you so much for helping me and the community..
Yes and i hope to have chemistry education at ur place someday
pH lower than pka, compound protonates
pH greater than pka, compound deprotonates
Which chapter is this??
Acid base equilibria?
Does this have any link to equilibria Le chatelier's principle shift left shift right?
I just memorise ^ only!
Hope i can draw links to reinforce
2010 p3 qn 2b
Need draw all the protein structures to answer this qn?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:pH lower than pka, compound protonates
pH greater than pka, compound deprotonates
Which chapter is this??
Acid base equilibria?
Does this have any link to equilibria Le chatelier's principle shift left shift right?
I just memorise ^ only!
Hope i can draw links to reinforce
Originally posted by Flying grenade:2010 p3 qn 2b
Need to draw all the protein structures to answer this qn?
From
http://sgforums.com/forums/2297/topics/414979
The problem with FO2, is that F (being in period 2), cannot expand its octet (since it doesn't have vacant, energetically accessible 3d orbitals to use). Hence, it cannot form a similar structure as ClO2, which has expanded its octet (4 bond pairs + 1.5 lone pairs on Cl = 11 electrons in terms of an expanded octet).
Should it be 1.5 lone pairs on Cl?
Btw may i ask,
When will have formal '-' charge and partial δ -ve charge?
Is it one lone electron will result in the molecule/atom having partial -ve charge, while a pair of electrons gained will have full -ve charge?
When will full -ve charge happen? Is it when a lone pair of electrons dative bond is donated to a acceptor atom?
And also when an atom ionises in water, gaining a lp of e-?? Dont really know how ions gain the -ve charge also
Also, for the case of ClO2,
It can potentially form a structure of 2 dative bonds bonded to 'O'
But it is doubly bonded to both O atoms,
Because double bond more stable so preferentially form right?
Also, i think one term is confusing. The term of 'number of electron bond pairs'
Say for like, example, NO2.
So we want to consider the bond angle for it
So we say it has one lone pair (one lone e-) , and 2 bond pair, with respecr to N atom
But in the above post, the sentence ' clo2 has 4 bond pairs'
So when do we say a double bond , comprises of 2 bond pairs?
We treat a double bond as 1 bond pair, when we're considering molecular shapes is it?
How about other situations?
Wtf sia
I hope this website forum wont crash or database lost etc. The wealth of knowledge will be lost just like :
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burning_of_books_and_burying_of_scholars
Mr heng may i ask u, is the one drawn with pencil correct
https://www.dropbox.com/s/avl731ngdwlyxmb/20151105_134421.jpg?dl=0
Then, if one were to draw the 9 e- ard cl atom, would it be wrong?
For FO2 to have single bonds between the F and two O atoms, F will gain a 2+ charge and each O atom with gain a -ve charge, and this separation of charge is destabilizing, since F is more electronegative than O.
Wouldn't '+' and '-' attract?
Originally posted by Flying grenade:Mr heng may i ask u, is the one drawn with pencil correct
https://www.dropbox.com/s/avl731ngdwlyxmb/20151105_134421.jpg?dl=0
Then, if one were to draw the 9 e- ard cl atom, would it be wrong?
SOLUBILITY OF SULFATES, CARBONATES, NITRATES DECREASES DOWN THE GROUP
Whereas SOLUBILITY OF HYDROXIDES INCREASES DOWN THE GROUP
How to account for this? I only know this
Less exothermic DelHsoln signifies a less soluble salt
Less exo DelHhyd decreases solubility
Less exo L.E. enhances solubility
Originally posted by UltimaOnline:
Edited : Yes, my typo, 1.5 lone pairs not 2.5 lone pairs.
I'll only reply to your last qn. For all the other qns, you need to come for my tuition to properly discuss and understand it. Furthermore, there's no time to address it now liao, it's best not to confuse yourself further just a few hours away from the A level exam.
Yes, your doubly bonded ClO2 is acceptable (unless the Cambridge qn specified conditions such as the presence of a dative bond, etc), and is actually 1 of the resonance contributors for ClO2 (the only one without separation of formal charges), no worries.
Mr heng i wan come ur tuition !!!
Mr heng wont confuse lah i love to seek knowledge
Wont confuse, i understand and absorbed everything you've posted hehe
2010 p3 qn 4 gii
Photo is here
https://www.dropbox.com/s/morxcgb8519dx60/20151105_145329.jpg?dl=0
How can secondary alcohol oxidise to Carboxylic acid??
Thought secondary alcohol can only oxidise to ketone at maximum?