https://www.facebook.com/saunghay.manhtut/posts/565781287143052

The customer, who is obviously dissatisfied, discovered that a live cockroach had supposedly emerged from her wrap when she heated it up in the oven toaster. She has since lodged a complaint with Subway Tampines 1.
http://mothership.sg/2017/06/cockroach-emerged-from-subway-wrap-woman-bought-from-tampines-1/

https://sg.yahoo.com/news/russia-claims-killed-leader-al-baghdadi-073550636.html

In the latest incident, 4 government officials (who were likely themselves Hindu) from Tamil Nadu that were transporting cattle for a breeding program were intercepted and violently attacked by a gang of 50+ vigilantes who thought the cattle were being transported for slaughter. The government officials would have been killed had the police not arrived in time.
https://thewire.in/146803/cow-vigilantes-attack-tamil-nadu-govt-truck-carrying-cows/
PTADER posted, in reference to Chee Soon Juan's SDP post on Lee vs Lee :
Chee needs to realise a few things:
1. He is held with the same (if not even more) contempt, by these Lee siblings than the contempt these Lee siblings have for each other.
2. The two siblings are in a way better position to fuck up their brother than he.
3. He will come across as an opportunist seeking to capitalize on a he-said-she-said "private" family feud.
4. Lastly but most importantly, he needs to get this into his head, i.e. blood is thicker than water.
What he needs to do is to shut up, let the dueling be drawn out which will allow for more damaging shit to emerge instead of allowing the shit to subside or go underground each time he opens his mouth thinking he can score some political points of this saga.

https://sg.yahoo.com/finance/news/us-seeks-seize-more-assets-035156573.html

http://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/data/pdfdoc/066-1996-05-21.pdf
If you didn't already know, Familee owns two office buildings in the heart of Manhattan, USA, among many other high-end properties around the world. In France it owns a very famous landmark. Total value of a few hundred million dollars.

According to Ah Gong's biography, he has donated all his monies to charity since 1990 and his fortune is worth less than a F15 aircraft. How did he afford to buy so many properties?

Papsmearer posted :
In 2006 (when the book was written), a F-15K purchased by the Korean Air Force cost them USD$100 million each. Assuming this autobiography came out around that time, the questions begs be be asked how can a civil servant amass this sort of fortune? Definitely corruption.
scroobal posted :
This is how it works. a) Old man's direct income from employment, speaking and advisory engagement, royalties etc =$XXm
b) Old man's income from family investment (previously run by his wife and now by youngest son) =$YYm
c) Old man's wife's income from her business, fees, direct investment etc = $ZZm
What is in the book is only (a).
The wife was the foremost conveyancing expert in Singapore. Her clientele included the major developers and real estate agents. Any businessman with an ounce of grey matter who wants to be on inside track for a difficult project would go to Lee & Lee. She is after all a Queens Scholar, excelled in Cambridge and is married to the most powerful man in the land. You are not only getting the best brains, you also getting more than the best brains. The Commissioner of Land would tell his PA to say that he was not in when she called his office. He needed to compose himself before handling her. What does that tell you?
Now as a Lawyer, you are dealing with cream of new developments and old valuable land and houses in the best locations in Singapore. You would have a ringside seat on what are the good investments are for the last 40 years. What are you going to do with your income and fees? Do you donate it to Amos, Roy, Chee or some Tiong whose daughter was murdered.
Are you also going put everything under your own name or put it in company that you control and that company can provide a level of privacy for you and family from those with prying eyes.
There was a case where HDB owners, a couple that owned 3 bungalows thru their private company and made money from renting it out for years. HDB could do nothing.
Old man continued use of charities to generate goodwill and political capital has never convinced the smart Singaporeans. It does impress the majority though. And thats how you stay in power. Its the same majority that will also donate to Amos, Roy and to every sob story that comes their way. Its like the 2 clowns that initiated a charity drive for the mother of Dominique Sarron Lee and she gave it it SPH's charity of all people.
As much as I dislike LKY and PAP I agree with GCT's finding that is there was no impropriety on Lees part. The familee can be considered as layman when it comes property purchase , they would not know how much discount is considered not appropriate and if someone is willing to give them discount , why refuse? afterall they are same human beings like me and you , we all like sweet deals.
Papsmearer posted :
What kind of fuck logic is that? Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. If every one say they are not lawyers or police officers or judges and therefore only laymen with regards to the law, they can then get away with anything. If a policeman stops you for speeding, do you then say you are only a layman and not a traffic policeman, and not knowledgeable about the speed limit in this particular area, and therefore, you should have no penalty against you? If the Lee Family was not knowledgeable, they should have cleared the transactions with CPIB or CAD first.
GoldenDragon posted :
they are more than familiar with the laws. lky, kgc and daughter-in-law suet fern are all highly qualified lawyers. they dont even need to seek advice from lawyers!
Papsmearer posted :
Its called the Prevention of Corruption Act. Go and read it.
any gratification as an inducement to or reward for, or otherwise on account of —
(i) any person doing or forbearing to do anything in respect of any matter or transaction whatsoever, actual or proposed; or
(ii) any member, officer or servant of a public body doing or forbearing to do anything in respect of any matter or transaction whatsoever, actual or proposed, in which such public body is concerned, shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $100,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or to both.
Note it says any gratification. So, even a 0.05% discount is a chargeable gratification, much less the 7% discount Gay Loong and Old Fart received. This law explicitly prevents a public employee any means of gratification whatsoever. I would say a Sg$400k discount per condo is a hell of a lot of gratification.

Narong Wongwan posted :
Interesting nugget I came across....
There was a story of racing rivalry of Au Boon Haw and Sultan Ibrahim of Johore. Sultan Ibrahim was a sportsman and hunter. The incident took place when the Sultan, enraged at being overtaken by Aw Boon Haw in his famous Tiger Car. Sultan Ibrahim fired his loaded pistol at the Tiger Car on Bukit Timah Road. It was considered lese-majesté to overtake royalty even on foreign roads. Consequently, the British colonial administration forbade the Sultan thereafter from visiting Singapore ever again except for purpose of going to and from the Singapore airport, then located at Kallang.
Was it in that tiger car (photo)?
from what i understand from your (Papsmear) posting as well as that of Kim Leng's postings, being a civil servant in singapore is a very dangerous job,no wonder they are paid such a high income, they can be framed easily by anyone slipping them a discount on their purchases. Let me paint you a scenario...so say one day lao lee gets up from his grave coz singapore has been plagued by many problem, people died servicing MRT, MP tou ciak...etc..
and after getting up from the grave, he goes straight to the coffee shop run by Ah Sengs brother , Ah beng and Ah Beng seeing the beloved Ah Gong rising from the grave like Jesus on the easter day decided to give lao lee 50% discount of his favorite teh si...as lao lee, a filthy rich man,especially now covered in mud, has never paid for his own food and drinks since eons ago and has no idea and does not care how much a kopi or teh costs..happily pays Ah huat using $1000 hell notes...and Ah Huat who has anticipated the coming of lao lee(as he has had dreams) returns lao lee with correct change using hell notes as well, but giving lao lee 50% discount.
and then lao lee goes back and just about to lay down in the coffin, he hears a knock..above him , Ox head and Horse face appear telling him he is under arrest for corruption...
so Papsmear and Kim leng are you telling me lao lee has commited a crime???
Nassim Jade & Scotts 88 are the only 2 that made the public eye. And that was because the shareholders of the development company HPL went to complain. after all, they would also like such discounts and felt that as shareholders they should be getting it instead of some politicians and their families. Also, the developer and shareholders were alarmed when the Lee and Kwa family started "piling on". They only offered the discount originally to Gecko, but she brought in so many other family members. Developer cannot make her lose face so lan lan got to give the discounts to her friends and family too. All that is eating into their profit margin.
The Lees/Kwas buy property every single year, but the other companies don't open their mouths and admit it. You can be assured that the Lee/Kwa Family and the PAP elites are collectively the largest private property owners in Singapore. Before they announced the MRT line extension to Marina Bay, no one wanted to buy the condos that were being build in that area. I hate many PAP elites were the main buyers for as cheap as $700/sq ft. Once they announced the MRT will run there, the prices shot up $1500 per sq ft or more. This is actually insider info, You think there is no corruption in singapore?
Khosa was in Law Council with Francis Seow as President. They were testifying at the Select Committee on Amendment to the Legal Profession Bill in 1986 together with other Council Members and other some law representatives. It was chaired by Barker but it turned out to be a session on character assassination and Barker could not control the session. Old man did his usual research on each individual.
For Khosa, he asked him if his 2 character referees for admission to the bar knew about his dismissal for loan received from Chap Ji Kee operators. Khosa said he could not recollect who they were. Old man said that if AG knew he would have objected to his admission, as a lawyer was an Officer of the Supreme Court and more important than OC of a Police Divison. It was a short session. Old man did it to Francis Seow, Mirza Namazie and why he was asked to leave the Legal Service and Subhas Anandan for his Black Eagles Gang and incarceration under CLPS. He even berated Teo Soh Lung for graduating from University of Singapore and not Cambridge. He even asked Chor Pee who came from Cambridge to say that local law grads were of poor standing.
Even Harry Elias who later became GCT's lawyer and who had no skeletons was given a hard time.
Basically Select Committee did not meet it objectives. Shanmugam's ex-wife wrote a scathing book about law in Singapore and mentioned this theatre.
Years later Old man did the same thing to the Pilots Union by inviting them to Istana to seek a resolution. At the meeting he revealed intimate details of Cpt Ryan Goh, including details about his daughter having difficulties then studying in Perth, and even specified the convenience store she regularly goes to. He also highlighted who played what part in the SIA strike. They all left the meeting totally shocked and intimidated.
Papsmearer posted :
Basically, this confirms that he used state resources to spy on people who were just exercising their rights. 100% he did it. He was J Edgar Hoover running the Stasi. And in many cases, he exceeded this by spying on their families too. Same hatchet job he did with Devan Nair, even managed to obtain Nair's personal medical records from Nair's own doctor. No doctor/patient confidentiality applying to him. Sinkies have no idea how Old Fart and the PAP abuse state powers, and this might be a good time to remind them ahead of the BB by-election.
scroobal posted :
SIA comes under national core interest and the Intelligence agencies struggle not to act. I am also aware that Perm Secs and Key staff have withheld information that are not core interest because they know they work for the State and not the man. Unfortunately you do have PLPs ready to jump and only waiting to be told how high.
There were a no. of cases where the code have been breached for political reasons. In all the cases it involved he Old Man and in one Teo Chee Hean over WP.
Look at Malaysia's Security Branch. One of the best ground operatives. They even caught Nathan and couple of our chaps red handed. They also compromised COS PA. They also had the info on Bin Laden and gave it to the US who kept it for Christmas. Look at SB now under Najib - a laughing stock. Brazen day light robbery of the State Sovereign Fund 1MDB and they have become pawns.
soikee posted :
Thank you Bro for your response. His behaviour reveals to us that he was one extremely malicious, unforgiving & vindictive person and thus he had to suffer a very difficult death. I think Khosa was honourable enough not to expose Freddy Lee to embarrass the old bastard. What saddens me most is that the majority of the population who are totally ignorant of his horrible character.
scroobal posted :
Thats LKY and he did this all his life. When he and his wife returned from London after she fell ill. He summoned the Sean Seow, Mano Sabnani and Val Chua to the Istana and screwed the hell out of them. That poor girl reporter only wrote what he said - that hospital standard in London was bad. He claimed that her statement embarrassed him and she and her superiors should have known better.
This arsehole confined a man for 32 years without trial. Chia Thye Poh was no longer a threat and frail man long before he received his freedom. If Chia Thye Poh was not a university Physics lecturer but held a layman's position he would not have bothered. The fact that while Chia was in Prison he allowed the Singapore CP leaders to return to Singapore from China and he allowed their kids to be given positions in GLCs shows how vindictive he was. The ISD officers had no say.
The way he harangued a (back then) young female lawyer Teo Soh Lung was disgraceful. It was relentless. I lost all respect for Barker after this incident.
Back then Mahathir was having a serious political crisis when Musa & Razaleigh challenged his PM post and Mahathir had to create diversion by picking up fights with S'pore.
Eddie knew that the late Sultan Iskandar was due to become the next King of Malaysia in 1984 and it was Eddie who advised the old fart to befriend the late Sultan.
After Eddie introduced them to each other, old fart was invited to attend the Sultan's daughter's wedding in JB. Old farker was so inconsiderate he turned up at the wedding dinner two hours late.
The late Sultan Iskandar went out of his way to protect S'pore by telling Mahathir to stop his mischievous acts. The rest is history.