Originally posted by zocoss:Wow... didn't expected this but what an own goal...
At the end, United could have won by 4, 5 goals... But they got lucky today, just like Pool did. Only difference is its against an in form Arsenal side...
Poor Wenger, last min so happy then kena sent off for kicking water bottle... lol
The 4th official was being lame lor.
and Wenger showed some ownage defiance standing on top there.
Damn lucky, but I'm not complaining
MOM for me has gotta be Fletch.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):hehe anyone got the link for the highlight?? mi fall asleep in the middle.. and miss the last 2 goals... hehe
The way diaby scored that goal when there wasn't any United players around him... Like he himself placed bet for a United win like that... Finished just like a pro striker... lol.
Anyway, we have to say a big thank you to him... Thank you Diaby...
What a horrid performance today.
Defence was hanging by a thread, attack was total chaos. midfield totally outgunned.
And i dont know how the fk we won??? This has to be the most weird match i ever watched. I guess the ball is really round?
Or perhaps it was just retribution because eduardo dived earlier this week.
Oh and eboue, the whole world saw that too.
Mike Dean and company was terrible also.
Arshavin is a good player but cannot last long one... By the middle of the second half, he no strength to run already... That could be a reason why the Gunners ran out of steam in the 2nd half...
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:
thanks...sibei pro OG...
if diaby nvr og
then arse would still have the morale to play on lor
i almost bought an away win
wonder who are the lucky people who bought A-H
huat big big
We should all be happy United won this match...
Next one up is the new improved Spurs woh... Another big London fish to fry...
i think fletch should be MOTM. He played relatively well.
lol its fletcher's kind of game.
After rooney scored the pk, fletcher didn't go running to celebrate the equaliser..but instead he picked the ball up and ran back to the half way line ready for the restart..
MotD highlight capped b6 fred54
http://www.mediafire.com/?yqhn4mtd4y0
http://rapidshare.com/files/273199787/EPL_Manchester_United_V_Arsenal_29.08.09_MotD_highlights_f54.avi
cant say united deserves the win....but still.....
SONG BO!!!
very long nvr see united come out with all the crunching tackles liao
United only manage to take 4 points out of a possible 16 from the other big 3 last season, So far they already got 3 points for this... I guess we can say its a good start... to make up for their Burnley lost...
Man U had better buck up if they want to win the Premiership again.
As I said before, depending on an own goal and a penalty is not the way champions are supposed to play. The better team lost this time.
Attack was ineffective. Even the commentator seemed surprised that Fergie didn't bring on either Berba or Owen sooner after half-time to bolster the attack.
Either Berba or Nani should have scored in the final minutes and shut the game down for Arsenal. On a normal day, they should have been able to score easily.
The OT fans having a ball at Wenger's expense... I guess they would feel that they got value for their money afterall... See them happily waving goodbye to Wenger...
Lolx was it a penalty for the first goal?
Originally posted by zocoss:
The OT fans having a ball at Wenger's expense... I guess they would feel that they got value for their money afterall... See them happily waving goodbye to Wenger...
Before this, there was a fan waving his glasses in front of Wenger.
The Arsenal midfielder inexplicably headed into his own net as United came from behind to stay in touch with leaders Chelsea.
Arsenal had stunned the champions thanks to Andrey Arshavin's rocket opener five minutes before the break.
But Wayne Rooney levelled from the spot before Diaby's gaffe handed United the points.
Robin van Persie found the net in injury time but his effort was chalked off after William Gallas had strayed offside.
Arsene Wenger could not believe the decision on the touchline and was promptly sent off for his protests.
Ryan Giggs then sparked United's comeback as he threaded a superb pass through to Rooney on 59 minutes.
The England striker took one touch past Almunia and contact was inevitable, with Rooney hitting the deck.
Almunia was booked and then had to pick the ball out of the net as the United hitman sent him the wrong way with his spotkick.
Van Persie hit the bar with a curling free-kick from wide on the right three minutes later.
But the United fans were celebrating again within 60 seconds as Diaby headed Giggs' free-kick towards his own goal, leaving Almunia stranded as the ball bounced in.
Dimitar Berbatov had a superb chance to round off the scoring in injury time but he skewed his effort well wide.
Almunia made a save from Nani soon after before the Portuguese winger blazed the rebound over.
IT'S NOT FAIR ... Arsene Wenger protests against another decision against his team
Originally posted by Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1):Lolx was it a penalty for the first goal?
Man Utd's first goal? or the one Fletcher slid in on Arshavin 24secs before Arshavin scored ?
It was a soft penalty to give imo. Rooney had definitely.prodded the ball away, I guess then the ref could have deemed the ball unplayable. But Almunia had also clearly fouled Rooney.
On the Fletcher tackle, at first glance it looked like he got the ball. But from the replay it looked he slid in and the ball hit his arm or was it his chest?
one thing, the official very 'on-the-ball'.. Mike dean right? he is like our parking warden leh.. the more yellows, the merrier...
I think he spoilt the game a bit..
In the 1st half, MU was on the back pedal. SAF's ploy to play Giggs, to shore up the MF, but Giggs' contribution, holding on the ball is below par. It is as if, they were playing for the first time.
Dumb-struck by Gunner's goal, Arshavin. He was the man, MU needs to nail down. Instead he was given a free look @ goal, and with little backlift, just let fire a thunderbolt. When he cuts in from wings, a MF should pick him up but given MU's two MFs were plugging holes left, right & centre. Bobianlah..
Fletcher is really molding into a Keano-type player. He is everywhere. On Current form, he is head over shoulders over all. I am quite disappointed in carrick, no fire. He put in a professional display, but expected more.
I think all of us know can see how limited Valencia is. Against a fast LB, he is restricted, n lack creativity. A worry whether as matches come, will he "mold" into a MU player??
lastly, berba-cock.. I scream at the top of my lungs @ 2am, when this joker hits the corner flag when given a rare chance at goal, and to kill off the game. What boots he is wearing? can he take one of Rooney's?? He is good at shielding, passing, but he should be better @ finishing. @ 30M pounds, I think SAF must be pulling his hair out. I just imagine, if Owen was there, at least, he would have troubled the keeper.
I think all in all, MU got a lucky escape. Gunners did deserve something. And they showed their young squad is good enough. However, sometimes, football doesn't play out like the way we all want..
P.S. did we see another gooners diving??
Originally posted by zocoss:
Lol, what happen?
Originally posted by sand king:Lol, what happen?
giggs was horrid.
Its okay if you play him against a team with one youngster since he can outgun the opponent with his wits.
But when u play him against a team of youngsters, they just run round and round him all day long. It just renders him ineffective.
i dont know what the hell he was suppose to do, didnt support rooney well, didnt hold the midfield well also.
Wrong match to use him in.
They are not called the Red Devils for nothing.