me too, me too...Originally posted by laurence82:Ah, mooncakes associated with some sort of worship?
First time heard this also. I would have thought its a festival celebrated like our Duan Wu Jie or Winter Solstice.
And just how is eating mooncakes being flippant about what I choose to believe in? Does the mooncake thing mix with christianity to call a pagan festival a christian one?Originally posted by Chin Eng:I really have no issues with any of these.... but as I recall, I was once accused of being flippant over what I choose to believe and what I choose not to believe.
You see, I am the "pagan" loving Christian who have no issues with the various "corrupted" practices within the church.
The reverse must be true. One must shy away from anything remotely connected with pagan practices (which in most cases are folklores anyway). In this case, the origin of mooncakes are not political but connected with a form of worship. Whether it has evolved or not IS NOT the question.
Having said all that, I guess the issue really is how we define something, perhaps we go easy on ourselves because it seems ok, regardless of. But when we judge others, we are harsher.
haha... you won't be eating the traditional cantonese rice dumpling (made with the 3layers pork as the main filling)Originally posted by breytonhartge:me too, me too...
okey, you go schoolOriginally posted by laurence82:urm, i go sch liao
you guys..urm play nice, behave....
errr. that was written this year..... since then there had not been any CNY.... and you did not bother to clarify.Originally posted by breytonhartge:in box checked... and since that post, I have revisited my stand on CNY in the light of what I know now. Or do you say that a person should always stay stagnant?? Like I siad to you before, this hebraic roots thing is new for me and as I grow in it and be convicted of certain things, I will do and follow as Yahweh leads.
this I like... good thing I don't follow the hebraic thing..... otherwise no bak kua, kong bak, lor bak, german pork knuckles, lar pok!Originally posted by vince69:haha... you won't be eating the traditional cantonese rice dumpling (made with the 3layers pork as the main filling)
*my wife also don't eat this, she see the pork, she already fainted![]()
me don't eat pork anymore... thought I did before... now I have a personal conviction.Originally posted by vince69:haha... you won't be eating the traditional cantonese rice dumpling (made with the 3layers pork as the main filling)
and it is no skin off my back that I cannot eat all these things anymore... there are many other foods that I can eat vs the little that I cannot.Originally posted by Chin Eng:this I like... good thing I don't follow the hebraic thing..... otherwise no bak kua, kong bak, lor bak, german pork knuckles, lar pok!
also no sri lanka crab, alaskan snow crab, lobster, see hum.....die! don't know need to apologise that I use the name of these foodstuff or not???
maybe not... I think can say, cannot eat![]()
What various theological denouncements have I made???Originally posted by Chin Eng:errr. that was written this year..... since then there had not been any CNY.... and you did not bother to clarify.
my point is - you did say it.... and I have not used it against you until.....you know?
So you can change you mind, and I cannot (which I must state, it has not been proven that I said I celebrate Easter - but also does not mean I didn't use those words - I just can't recall - and I invite you to quote me so that I can learn)... but it goes back to one issue - you can change your mind, and I can't, or have you been, again, too hasty, on your denounciation?
Wiki - ha ha.... as I'd always said, a dubious source, but we all use it anyway 'cos it's convenient.... and notice how we pick and choose what to quote. Both you and I are guilty of this (but I did it on purpose to illustrate this point).
Yup, we don't remain stagnant, maybe this year, mooncake is ok, maybe next year it is not... Maybe this year you give angpow, next year you don't (oops, sorry, you don't give angpow, cos you don't celebrate CNY) who knows where you drift
Since you have admitted to being young in this hebraic thing, don't go around making various theological denouncement until you are more mature, otherwise in a few months time you will again need to say that "you've learned more and understand differently now".
Like I don't know about meat replacement.Originally posted by breytonhartge:and it is no skin off my back that I cannot eat all these things anymore... there are many other foods that I can eat vs the little that I cannot.
FYI, bak kua can be made from chicken and beef too...
you can also make lor bak using chicken mince instead of pork...
Originally posted by breytonhartge:What various theological denouncements have I made???
who got it right, obviously not the modern day church.Originally posted by Chin Eng:Oh the usual.....
Who's knows the bible (sorry, I meant the torah) more....
Who's has deeper understanding....
Who's flippant.....
Who's got it right... and who hasn't....
Which evangelists messed it up.....
... and by the way, I am still searching for information on prominent Jewish evangelist who could have prevented the confusion and corruption in the modern church, apparently caused by the Romans and the Greeks... if you happen to have any information pertaining to this matter, please enlighten me.![]()
SORRY... oh great and enlightened one... who knows everything...Originally posted by Chin Eng:Like I don't know about meat replacement. I get my pork straight off Australia, wonderfully airflown healthy corn fed pork.
there you go again...Originally posted by breytonhartge:who got it right, obviously not the modern day church.
who knows the bible/torah better/more, obviously not the modern day church as well.
who has a deeper understanding of the bible/torah, the jews and messianic jews definitely....
who is flippant, not me.
which evangelist messed it up... you be the judge of that one...
so no need to evangelise??? the world then got it all wrong???? evangelised, discipled, plant the seeds, sow the crops.... ain't splitting hairs???Originally posted by breytonhartge:to the jews, it has never been about the need to evangelise. Yeshua has asked us to make disciples of all nations, which is something the church did not do. The church evangelised, not discipled. They changed the teachings of Yeshua and perverted the wisdom of Shaul....
So what happened in between Peter, Paul, John and the folks like Ralph MesserOriginally posted by breytonhartge:Prominent Jewish evangelists... I think Yaffa named you some already. Peter, Shaul, John... etc...
In Modern times...
Rabbi Ralph Messer, Rabbi Baruch and Bishop Dominiquae Bierman, Ed Nydie, Rav.Hollista Alewine,
Many programs today as well... just a little google search will let you know...
If you really wanted to know, you would find out.![]()
No need to apologise lah.... one thing I still don't know, so did the Jews go out to DISCIPLE all the nations after Paul and Peter.... once I know this one, I know everything. But because you are not telling, I am still lacking in something.Originally posted by breytonhartge:SORRY... oh great and enlightened one... who knows everything...![]()
no...Originally posted by vince69:Chin Eng, Brey,
both of you may not like to hear this, are these exchange between both of you here edifying to anyone? glorifying to God?
or is it causing confusion?
what is the purpose of all these exchanges? what would these be achieving instead?
there is no need to reply to these questions, just need to ask yourselves these questions and what would be the appropreiate things to do.
Thanks
Shalom.
brey is a peranakan, and i recall, there is a thing called nonya dumpling which i believe is made from chickenOriginally posted by vince69:haha... you won't be eating the traditional cantonese rice dumpling (made with the 3layers pork as the main filling)
altho i do eat the ones with egg yolk, but i prefer other types, like with sunflower seeds in them, with almond etcOriginally posted by vince69:okey, you go school
later come back here eat moon cake (4 yoke type), but only serve with green tea can?![]()
not sure about the chicken part, those nonya dumplings I had is normally pork (minced), but I do come across people using lamb as subsitute.Originally posted by laurence82:brey is a peranakan, and i recall, there is a thing called nonya dumpling which i believe is made from chicken
thats what i like chinese food, the variety![]()
she don't like the smell of pork, daughter alsoOriginally posted by laurence82:altho i do eat the ones with egg yolk, but i prefer other types, like with sunflower seeds in them, with almond etc
anyway, why your wife dont eat the pork dumplings? cannot eat pork, or too 'sinful'?
siao liaoOriginally posted by vince69:not sure about the chicken part, those nonya dumplings I had is normally pork (minced), but I do come across people using lamb as subsitute.
*ok, lamb tasted better than pork, and the pork in Aussie land was horrible (I am serious about this)
first time heard of thisOriginally posted by vince69:she don't like the smell of pork, daughter also