really has NUS been that bad for you?Originally posted by laurence82:One year passed
One of my friends looked at my last year photo and remarked how i had aged over one year![]()
came and gone already now in a new Jewish year...Originally posted by laurence82:what NUS?
Its Yom Kippur already?
Heard some friends mentioned it
Yawwwwnnnn... but I am still so sleepy... Yawwwwwnnnnnn....Originally posted by laurence82:Rise and shine
*puts on records*
Mari kita rakyat Singapura
Sama-sama menuju bahagia
Cita-cita kita yang mulia
Berjaya Singapura
Marilah kita bersatu
Dengan semangat yang baru
Semua kita berseru
Majulah Singapura
For morning news...
Still hazy
EM3 stream is to be dropped
The world is coming to an end in urm...2367457 days, 23 hrs
The end
Garmen revised the education system (yet again). EM3 will be phased out. So everything is reverted to as I remember during my Primary school. There are concerns as to the social stigma attached to EM3 students a-la, the I-Not-Stupid movie.Originally posted by breytonhartge:Yawwwwnnnn... but I am still so sleepy... Yawwwwwnnnnnn....
What do you mean by the EM3 stream is to be dropped??
I see, thank you for the information....Originally posted by Chin Eng:Garmen revised the education system (yet again). EM3 will be phased out. So everything is reverted to as I remember during my Primary school. There are concerns as to the social stigma attached to EM3 students a-la, the I-Not-Stupid movie.
all these seem like such a long time ago....Originally posted by laurence82:I think the government slowly wake up their idea, but still slow
I am waiting for Normal stream to be dropped
The streaming never achieve their purpose, they only put unneccessary 'stupid label' on students who are strong in things other than mere maths or science
Furthermore, MOE is letting schools be 'niche'
Meaning if the school is top in basketball, they can change their admission criteria to allow students who have interest or good in basketball to gain entry
This would probaby the future of education
what thing?Originally posted by breytonhartge:all these seem like such a long time ago....
the secondary school, the streaming etc...Originally posted by laurence82:what thing?![]()
Streaming could be a good thing as if those who were late developers could disrupt the class for those who are more focused... then everyone suffers.Originally posted by Chin Eng:I think streaming happens whether it was officially sanctioned or not.... I remember being taken out of my class at the beginning of Primary 3, and wondered what the heck was happening![]()
Shortly after that, I found out that I got grouped with the better performing boys...
Then at secondary school, never focus properly, kena arts stream....
Personally, I think the EM3 thing was good, but unfortunately with the result-oriented singapore culture, social stigma happens. Before I get whacked for this statement, let me explain. Kids are not necessarily stupid and yes there are late developers, unfortunately, for most parts, I think it's the family structure that's to be blamed. Most of these EM3 candidates come from family with problematic background - not necessarily only financial, but perhaps even ideological. So from young, these kids are not properly mentored. End result? No focus, no drive. Many cannot even write or speak coherently.
Remove EM3, the same kids with these problems will be put into a cauldron of possibly high performing, focused kids.... the problems will not go away.
Nonetheless, MOE has not said much beyond the scrapping of EM3. See how they want to play this lah....
Not reallyOriginally posted by Chin Eng:Remove EM3, the same kids with these problems will be put into a cauldron of possibly high performing, focused kids.... the problems will not go away.
Nonetheless, MOE has not said much beyond the scrapping of EM3. See how they want to play this lah....
there are many ways to implement this, so its boils to how they (the schools/MoE) wants to do this? and also will they have the resources (example: teaching staff) in place?Originally posted by laurence82:Not really
The newspapers state that students will be grouped according to their strength
meaning, you will find a class of students who are better in English but not good in Maths or Science together
rather than being thrown into the same lot as others
It was in ST one of the days of last week
That is the stupid thingOriginally posted by vince69:there are many ways to implement this, so its boils to how they (the schools/MoE) wants to do this? and also will they have the resources (example: teaching staff) in place?
spoken with some teachers, they are still not sure how the ministry is going to do the implementations.![]()
the problem is this, besides the few top (and rich) schools, a lot of the neighbourhood schools are currently short of staff (especially teaching staffs).Originally posted by laurence82:That is the stupid thing
The EM3 was dropped because teachers voice their concern
MOE, as always, has no clue what is going on
Now they need MOE to implement? Looking at the various disasters, including the project works for JC, I am not very inclined to think positively of the future if teachers have to take directives from MOE
Neighbourhood short of staff?Originally posted by vince69:the problem is this, besides the few top (and rich) schools, a lot of the neighbourhood schools are currently short of staff (especially teaching staffs).
Hopefully they can managed this well (without killing the teachers)![]()
Easier said than done....Originally posted by laurence82:, you will find a class of students who are better in English but not good in Maths or Science together
Actually...I dont understand what you trying to say..this partOriginally posted by Chin Eng:The curriculum favours those who are strong with their languages. Someone who's reasonably good in his English will have less problem with his science and maths. Even if this individual's weakest subject is science, it is not likely that he's so bad with the scores.
your ang moh no good, you cham....Originally posted by laurence82:Actually...I dont understand what you trying to say..this part
-_-!
so that should be good news right??Originally posted by laurence82:By the way, good morning
Yesterday handed in the last possible project for my academic career![]()