u mean, becos english is the key to other subjects?Originally posted by Chin Eng:your ang moh no good, you cham....
your ang moh good, other subject less porbem....
should beOriginally posted by breytonhartge:so that should be good news right??
but with things as they are in singapore, and the high cost of living... it is also hard for parents... i know my dad was never around when I was younger, he was always working... never at home. Always at the hospital and my mum was always at work too. It sometimes also depends on the individual child. One thing I find that is lacking in modern society today is that children these days lack discipline... that could be part of the problem...Originally posted by Chin Eng:Easier said than done....
The curriculum favours those who are strong with their languages. Someone who's reasonably good in his English will have less problem with his science and maths. Even if this individual's weakest subject is science, it is not likely that he's so bad with the scores.
I am aware that my boys' primary school has being doing this for years. Students are supposedly grouped based on their scores on the subjects. I am quite sure that it didn't help as much they think it did.
I blame it on uncaring/unconcerned parents as well as the society when a child falls by the wayside.
so why the shock??Originally posted by laurence82:should be![]()
some people can understand math without english and maybe physics, but I find that people generally struggle with chemistry and biology with weak english...Originally posted by laurence82:u mean, becos english is the key to other subjects?
i dont know..but some people can go thru maths and science with lousy english
i struggle with chemistry, but i dont think my english that badOriginally posted by breytonhartge:some people can understand math without english and maybe physics, but I find that people generally struggle with chemistry and biology with weak english...
yes, i think it does not help much with people if they are always made to feel like second rate citizens, they then tend to adopt a mindset that they are sub rate and cannot do it and then they loose focus... and the slide continues...Originally posted by laurence82:i struggle with chemistry, but i dont think my english that bad
anyway, the system wont be able to fit all needs, but at the very least, removing EM3 removing the stigma that is unneccessary
i am worried at the prospects they will be evil and fail me for my last paperOriginally posted by breytonhartge:so why the shock??
yes, English is the key to all subjects (except chinese), the new syb for primary schools will be geared towards testing the students in their ability to understand questions, and articulate the solutions, and these may not be straight forward ones, but those that may even involved in playing of words.Originally posted by laurence82:u mean, becos english is the key to other subjects?
you should do fine...Originally posted by laurence82:i am worried at the prospects they will be evil and fail me for my last paper![]()
but is it still based on a rote learning system? articulation of solutions from rote learning is not going to help without basic understanding...Originally posted by vince69:yes, English is the key to all subjects (except chinese), the new syb for primary schools will be geared towards testing the students in their ability to understand questions, and articulate the solutions, and these may not be straight forward ones, but those that may even involved in playing of words.
I spoke with this Primary school teachers last week about this, her comment is that, the new syb will be more tough, especially for pri 3 onwards.
yes, according to that teacher I spoke with, most of the students that have problem are those that have problem expressing their ideas (lack of vocab ..etc)Originally posted by breytonhartge:but is it still based on a rote learning system? articulation of solutions from rote learning is not going to help without basic understanding...
then maybe the problem is deeper than just an issue of languages... the singaporean system of learning is too narrow, and now broad enough... the approach should really be broader, to enhance creativity and to encourage lateral thinking, as well as understanding of basic principles so that once they are understood, one can then reason out the conclusion of a problem based on these basic principles...Originally posted by vince69:yes, according to that teacher I spoke with, most of the students that have problem are those that have problem expressing their ideas (lack of vocab ..etc)![]()
mr brey, can speak english?Originally posted by breytonhartge:then maybe the problem is deeper than just an issue of languages... the singaporean system of learning is too narrow, and now broad enough... the approach should really be broader, to enhance creativity and to encourage lateral thinking, as well as understanding of basic principles so that once they are understood, one can then reason out the conclusion of a problem based on these basic principles...
this is the right way to go, and this is what all these changes is aiming to achieve, the problem isOriginally posted by breytonhartge:then maybe the problem is deeper than just an issue of languages... the singaporean system of learning is too narrow, and now broad enough... the approach should really be broader, to enhance creativity and to encourage lateral thinking, as well as understanding of basic principles so that once they are understood, one can then reason out the conclusion of a problem based on these basic principles...
last i checked I could....Originally posted by laurence82:mr brey, can speak english?
the problem exists all over the world. even in australia, the private schools have better resources and better teachers and better teacher to student ratios... but then the fees are nice too... was just looking at private schools for a friend who wants to send her child here to study next year... all the good ones cost about $15K to $18K per year... not including board and lodging and miscellaneous things like having your own laptop and fees for outings...Originally posted by vince69:this is the right way to go, and this is what all these changes is aiming to achieve, the problem is
The implementation is too fast, the resources are feeling the strains trying to keep up with the pace.
its like... how to say this........
previously 5 persons doing 10 things, now they want 7 persons to do 20 things double time.![]()
good morning! good morning...Originally posted by laurence82:nightey
Han Wu Da Di just ended its run on Chn 8
Secondary school, maybe.... but maths - you need to understand what is being asked. Science - you need to be able to express your answers and use the correct words.Originally posted by laurence82:u mean, becos english is the key to other subjects?
Yup, I am not saying all kids that has less parental support turn out bad. For most cases, it is those in the lower income group.Originally posted by breytonhartge:but with things as they are in singapore, and the high cost of living... it is also hard for parents... i know my dad was never around when I was younger, he was always working... never at home. Always at the hospital and my mum was always at work too. It sometimes also depends on the individual child. One thing I find that is lacking in modern society today is that children these days lack discipline... that could be part of the problem...
As I'd said, the english thing is mostly for the primary level. Maths and physics generally deal with more formulas than language. Poor English? It'll affect, not only chem and bio, but history, literature, and geography (in Secondary level)Originally posted by breytonhartge:some people can understand math without english and maybe physics, but I find that people generally struggle with chemistry and biology with weak english...
Yup, the syllabus for primary school is really tough. For most parts, they are teaching things that I learnt only in Sec 2. Science questions involve describing the entire process of an experiment step by step.Originally posted by vince69:yes, English is the key to all subjects (except chinese), the new syb for primary schools will be geared towards testing the students in their ability to understand questions, and articulate the solutions, and these may not be straight forward ones, but those that may even involved in playing of words.
I spoke with this Primary school teachers last week about this, her comment is that, the new syb will be more tough, especially for pri 3 onwards.
That was my original thought too. Having said that, I am also able to learn how to cope as a parent, ie, I need to learn the way to mentor my boys over such situations. Generally, my boys are doing well in school, without tuition. Secondary boy is in the middle of his final exams, expectation for his results is most A1s or A2s, with the exception for one or two subjects. Primary boy should be getting band 1 for at least 2 subjects and high band 2 for the other two.Originally posted by laurence82:In fact, most of my friends tutoring primary and secondary school kids say that the PSLE and O level is getting harder, more towards IQ type questions
and the troubling fact is that even my friends are struggling with these questions and the students are stressed out from work overload
seems, nothing improves![]()
Lack of vocabulary is a big issue. My family is heavily into Scrabble. On a good day, my primary boy can kick my butt. Scrabble is also not only about vocab, but strategy, so it teaches them planning. My older son is in the school team.Originally posted by vince69:yes, according to that teacher I spoke with, most of the students that have problem are those that have problem expressing their ideas (lack of vocab ..etc)![]()
every system has it's problem.... to me it's probably the student/teacher ratio. Nothing much can improve if the teachers are stretched.Originally posted by breytonhartge:then maybe the problem is deeper than just an issue of languages... the singaporean system of learning is too narrow, and now broad enough... the approach should really be broader, to enhance creativity and to encourage lateral thinking, as well as understanding of basic principles so that once they are understood, one can then reason out the conclusion of a problem based on these basic principles...
That's why it's still quite expensive to stay in AU....Originally posted by breytonhartge:the problem exists all over the world. even in australia, the private schools have better resources and better teachers and better teacher to student ratios... but then the fees are nice too... was just looking at private schools for a friend who wants to send her child here to study next year... all the good ones cost about $15K to $18K per year... not including board and lodging and miscellaneous things like having your own laptop and fees for outings...
If no NUS or NTU, then like me lor, SIM, or now also got UNSW campus in Changi, supported by Gahmen..mai siao siao!Originally posted by Chin Eng:That's why it's still quite expensive to stay in AU....
I told my boys to work hard... because I cannot afford to send them overseas.It's going to be NUS or bust!