Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez believes he does not need a major squad overhaul this summer.
Benitez has been relatively quiet in the transfer market so far this summer only bringing in Fernando Torres and Andrei Voronin so far.
The likes of Djibirl Cisse, Luis Garcia and Craig Bellamy have been allowed to leave and Benitez says he would be happy to add just another two new faces to his team before the season gets underway in August.
"We do not need a lot more in terms of new players for next season, maybe two new faces," said Benitez.
"We do have a lot of young players, and maybe some will go out on loan because we do not have enough games for them."
Meanwhile, Benitez has given a ringing endorsement to Jermaine Pennant after he impressed in Liverpool's 3-2 friendly win at Wrexham on Saturday.
Benitez is thought to be looking at signing some new wide players, but Pennant showed he is determined to fight for his place by setting up all three goals at the Racecourse Ground.
"Pennant produced the kind of play that I like, wingers going forward and crossing. He can do this job perfectly," added Benitez.
"He played really well in the Champions League final, and he has now started the pre-season really well also."
WiNtEr'SkiLL
get more
anhydrouscoppersulphate
hope the 2 are real good ones
r0mE_27
i wonder..
Patrik
a-Lost-9uY
hope he dun tok only.. show some action
used
still got money ar??
bananaking
got a new boss...the money like waterfall la...no problem bringing a few more faces...^^
a-Lost-9uY
Originally posted by used:
still got money ar??
tat 2 new co-owners $-power not fake leh.. only they ai mai ai mai to buy only..
CKeer
Well, he didn't take into consideration the amount of money he poured into signing youngsters? The half dozen of them?
Cheers. CK
jianfish9
Yea, Pennant is really good. I hope Liverpool keep him and play him more often.