Simple, because during those days no one mentioned anything about "use money buy title"... You spend what you earn, fair enough... It was not until RA came into the picture and spent excessively that this term "use money buy title" came aboutÂ… Obviously you donÂ’t even seem to have a clue about chelseaÂ’s recent history and you go around shooting your mouth off (again)Â… If I were to add 2000 to 2003Â… I will only be laughing at youÂ…Originally posted by ghimpheng:how about 2000 to 2003 ? and 07-08 why never add ?
if u add 2000 to 2003![]()
last time united use money the most in EPL
04-06 back to chelsea
07/08 - current back to man utd
please last time u all use so much money chelsea use like nothing and sometimes even profit from transfer market
I don't think there was much complains probably because all along there was always competition between the 2 in their respective league... Barca & Madrid spent roughly about the same... So when 2 clubs are spending about the same amount of money, this term cannot be use as it was still fair game between the 2. But if only one club is doing it... then i guess thats how it came about...Originally posted by stellazio:On this topic of buying titles. So many clubs have been doing it, teams like Barca, Madrid etc. But not many complain at least not in singapore.
Only because its Chelsea, and its in the EPL where their favourites clubs are based do they then complain.
Actually in almost every other leagues, henever a rival team wins the league, the rivals fans will always have something to say. For example
Lyon - they have all the best players due to their monopoly trade and finances in french ligue
Porto - Diver team
Madrid - Use money, Galatico policy
Barcelona - Use money also
Juve - Bribe ref
Inter - Only because rivals kena deducted points
Man Utd - Dive/ Ref treatment
Arsenal - Foreign talent
Chelsea - Money
So its actually nothing new, and i duno why people get so anal over this comments.
Its all these stuffs added up together that makes football so fun for a supporter. The banters against opposing fans etc and not just the football match itself.![]()
I hardly believe that Barca spent close to what Madrid was spending during their galatico years.Originally posted by zocoss:I don't think there was much complains probably because all along there was always competition between the 2 in their respective league... Barca & Madrid spent roughly about the same... So when 2 clubs are spending about the same amount of money, this term cannot be use as it was still fair game between the 2. But if only one club is doing it... then i guess thats how it came about...![]()
So its also a fact that money only helps to win, it doesn't guarantees titles right judging by Rianieri's record.Originally posted by red_amoeba:However, Chelsea's approach is different, banking on Abramovich's millions, they went to the market and bought all the "top" players, nevermind the price and wants instant success. And don't forget, before Mourinho was appointed manager, Mr Tinkerman failed miserably to land anything and was asked to leave. So, its a fact that Chelsea bought their success by money.
Who started this trend? Its Man U with their 12m outlay for certain Ronaldo. But they did not buy success with Ronaldo, they bought future - and they reaped dividends in the last season.
I think you could be mistaken on some areas... The galatico policy isn't like they when out and buy all the star players within a year... It was stretch out to 3, 4 or maybe even 5 years... with 1 (one) star or galatico player you called it arriving each season... We over here may not be too familiar with the Spanish league but Barce the club didn't became famous overnight... They have a long history and a proud heritage... They have accomplish it by winning titles, playing good football and of course also having quality (star) players in their rank over the years... Great names like Gheorghe Hagi, Ronald Koeman, Hristo Stoitchkov, Gary Lineker, LuÃs Figo, Rivaldo, Romário, Diego Maradona, Ronaldinho, Samuel Eto'o just to name a few... have wore their famous shirt...Originally posted by stellazio:I hardly believe that Barca spent close to what Madrid was spending during their galatico years.
At least from what it seems, maybe Barca buys like 5 players for the price that Madrid's sue to pay for 1 player.
Long gone are the days of relying on just your academy to provide your team with enough talented players to win titles. For example, if Spurs spends another 100mil or not, and they win the league, you can't put it down to money, because money always helps, but there're so many other variables left in the equation to win the league.
Originally posted by ghimpheng:how about 2000 to 2003 ? and 07-08 why never add ?
if u add 2000 to 2003![]()
last time united use money the most in EPL
04-06 back to chelsea
07/08 - current back to man utd
please last time u all use so much money chelsea use like nothing and sometimes even profit from transfer market
Simple, because during those days no one mentioned anything about "use money buy title"... You spend what you earn, fair enough... It was not until RA came into the picture and spent excessively that this term "use money buy title" came aboutÂ… Obviously you donÂ’t even seem to have a clue about chelseaÂ’s recent history and you go around shooting your mouth off (again)Â… If I were to add 2000 to 2003Â… I will only be laughing at youÂ…Why Ah Pheng suddenly so quiet never reply one... Now i add 2000 to 2003 already what... and also statements like "chelsea use like nothing and sometimes even profit from transfer market" ... How come he got no figures to back up what he says one and anyhow shoot his mouth off (again)... This is a forum for information, not disinformation... So irresponsible one... Like i said, this fellow anyhow Pluck from the sky one...
Cos from the summer of 2001, Chelsea signed Frank Lampard from West Ham United, Emmanuel Petit, Boudewijn Zenden from FC Barcelona, Jesper Gronkjær from Ajax Amsterdam, as well as William Gallas from Marseille for over £30million…Ranieri spent a further £120 million on players in the summer of 2003. These signings included Irish winger Damien Duff for a then club record £17million, English youngsters Wayne Bridge, Joe Cole, Scott Parker and Glen Johnson, Argentine pair Juan Sebastian Veron and Hernán Crespo, Frenchman Claude Makelele and Romanian star Adrian Mutu…
So you see, they spent in excessive of $150 million pounds from 2001 to 2003… I wonder where did you get your “chelsea use like nothing and sometimes even profit from transfer market” from?... Any how Pluck from the sky is it? What profit are you talking about? Still have to pay part of their salary while they play for other clubs... Veron, Crespo, Mutu, Duff… got profit meh ?
Whereas in Man UÂ’s caseÂ… Pity you... I give you one year extra lahÂ… 2000 to 2003Â… Total for 4 YearsÂ…. $122.47m. And to think they were still making profits yearly whereas Chelsea were only losing yearly until they were in $80m debtsÂ…
2000 : Fabien Barthez, Monaco (£ 7.8 Million)
2001 – Total : $49.6m
Ruud Van Nistelrooy - PSV Eindhoven (£19 Million), Juan Sebastian Veron - Lazio (£28.1 Million) – (Later sold to Chelsea for $15m), Roy Carroll - Wigan (£2.5 Million), Laurent Blanc (Free Transfer)
2002 - Total : $38.4m
Jan Diego Forlan - Independiente (£6.9 million), Rio Ferdinand - Leeds United (£30 million), Ricardo Lopez - Real Valladolid (£1.5 million)
2003 - Total: $26.67m
Jun David Bellion - Sunderland (£2 million), Eric Djemba-Djemba - Nantes (£4.2 million) Tim Howard - NJ/NY Metro Stars (£2.3 million), Cristiano Ronaldo - Sporting Lisbon (£12.24 million), Jose Pereira Kleberson - Athletico Paranaense (£5.93 million)
Next time, want to go shooting your mouth off (again) about chelsea and putting others down, go to the chelsea forum lah... At least over there bluff also people won't mind... You call yourself a chelsea fan and you don't even know such a simple thing from 2001 to 2003... Even i a non-chelsea fan know more than you about chelsea's recent history... Shame on you...![]()
and SidwellOriginally posted by ghimpheng:We sign Pizzaro , Ben Haim , Alex Freewe got experience ready made players for $0
Hmm yeah you maybe right. But then again those players you mentioned, i think like 90%of em were bought with money.Originally posted by zocoss:I think you could be mistaken on some areas... The galatico policy isn't like they when out and buy all the star players within a year... It was stretch out to 3, 4 or maybe even 5 years... with 1 (one) star or galatico player you called it arriving each season... We over here may not be too familiar with the Spanish league but Barce the club didn't became famous overnight... They have a long history and a proud heritage... They have accomplish it by winning titles, playing good football and of course also having quality (star) players in their rank over the years... Great names like Gheorghe Hagi, Ronald Koeman, Hristo Stoitchkov, Gary Lineker, LuÃs Figo, Rivaldo, Romário, Diego Maradona, Ronaldinho, Samuel Eto'o just to name a few... have wore their famous shirt...
Percisely, they were bought with great amount of money during their time... That is why i said Real alway had Barce to compete with them in the transfer market... It was never a one-sided thing... That is why Barce fans cannot accuse Real of "Buying the title" just like Real cannot say the same of Barce too.Originally posted by stellazio:Hmm yeah you maybe right. But then again those players you mentioned, i think like 90%of em were bought with money.
But anyway, the world is based on money now. Don't spend and you lose out.![]()
so if man utd never win epl or ucl next season = faliureOriginally posted by zocoss:Percisely, they were bought with great amount of money during their time... That is why i said Real alway had Barce to compete with them in the transfer market... It was never a one-sided thing... That is why Barce fans cannot accuse Real of "Buying the title" just like Real cannot say the same of Barce too.
Another one of your illogical reason i see...Originally posted by ghimpheng:so if man utd never win epl or ucl next season = faliure
am i right to say that ?
Not really..Originally posted by ghimpheng:so if man utd never win epl or ucl next season = faliure
am i right to say that ?
lol ? they never win anything not equal to failure ?Originally posted by turbo_drift:Not really..
Eg. Liverpool..Originally posted by ghimpheng:lol ? they never win anything not equal to failure ?
okay
so much for a top club and epl champ of 06/07
they spend the most and so many of the FANS here / in singapore are backing them to winOriginally posted by funniegal:a bit tough for man utd to win again next yr. other clubs have also been buying players, even young players who proved to be gd. i have to cross my finger![]()
Liverpool and Arsenal is a failure last season they won nothingOriginally posted by turbo_drift:Eg. Liverpool..
Liverpool and Arsenal cant win, is 1 thing.. Man United fail to win any trophy, is another thing cuz United won the EPL..Originally posted by ghimpheng:Liverpool and Arsenal is a failure last season they won nothing
if they are not require to win any trophy they may as well be like other club like wigan and so on just aim to stay in epl that all![]()
Agree.Did most of us really expect Man Utd to win the title at the beginning of last season?Originally posted by turbo_drift:The ball is round, so every team in the EPL might have a chance to win the title.. And dun underestimate Liverpool and Arsenal.. Who knows? They might be better than last season and might challenge the title?
Cheers..