Yup.Originally posted by SBS9828X:what is round-robin? is it like a league?
Originally posted by zocoss:i fancy tis
[b]World Cup Asia Qualifying Draw (Asia)
The minor nations in the Asia region played the first round of qualifiers in October, ranked based on previous World Cup performance. After Bhutan and Guam withdrew, Kuwait and Indonesia were given a bye into the second round. In round one, there were 17 two-legged ties. From the qualifying 19 nations, the top 11 ranked teams automatically moved into round three. The eight lowest ranked nations played another two-legged play-off. This took a total of 15 teams into round three.
Australia, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Iran were joined in the third round by Uzbekistan, Iraq, Oman, Qatar, China, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Thailand, Kuwait and Indonesia from the first round games.
The four victorious second round nations were Turkmenistan, Syria, Thailand and Singapore. The 20 nations will be drawn into five groups of four teams playing on a round-robin basis. The top two teams in each group qualify for the fourth round. The draw for the group stage takes place on November 25.
Match dates in 2008: February 6, March 26, June 7, June 14, September 6, September 10.
Group 1: Australia, China, Iraq, Qatar
Group 2: Japan, Bahrain, Oman, Thailand
Group 3: South Korea, North Korea, Jordan, Turkmenistan
Group 4: Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Lebanon, Singapore
Group 5: Iran, Kuwait, UAE, Syria
Originally posted by zocoss:
[b]England have survived a bad draw but will face the side who knocked them out of Euro 2008 in the World Cup 2010 qualifiers. Slaven Bilic's Croatia ran out 3-2 winners at Wembley in midweek to seal England's fate and the teams will get the chance to renew acquaintances when the road to South Africa begins next autumn.
Group 1 Portugal, Sweden, Denmark, Hungary, Albania, Malta
Group 2 Greece, Israel, Switzerland, Moldova, Latvia, Luxembourg
Group 3 Czech Republic, Poland, NORTHERN IRELAND, Slovakia, Slovenia, San Marino
Group 4 Germany, Russia, Finland, WALES, Azerbaijan, Liechtenstein
Group 5 Spain, Turkey, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Armenia, Estonia
Group 6 Croatia, ENGLAND, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Andorra
Group 7 France, Romania, Serbia, Lithuania, Austria, Faroe Islands
Group 8 Italy, Bulgaria, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus, Georgia, Montenegro
Group 9 Holland, SCOTLAND, Norway, FYR Macedonia, Iceland
I think Sg also will have problem beating Lebanon let alone Uzbekistan and Saudi Arabia...Originally posted by gunner77:i fancy tis![]()
They won't be able to beat Saudi Arabia and Uzbekistan.Originally posted by zocoss:I think Sg also will have problem beating Lebanon let alone Uzbekistan and Saudi Arabia...![]()
You hope for them to finish third? That is no hope!Originally posted by charlize:They won't be able to beat Saudi Arabia and Uzbekistan.
Might pull off an upset 0-0 draw at best.
Best chance is just to beat Lebanon and hope to finish 3rd in the group.
Then again, when you expect them to play well, they play like secondary schoolboys.
When you think they will lose, they pull off a result.
Singapore already had problems with Tajikistan but they adapted and overcame the problem.Originally posted by zocoss:I think Sg also will have problem beating Lebanon let alone Uzbekistan and Saudi Arabia...![]()
Yeah hopefully they will do the same again lah... But actually, looking at it... it isn't really a bad Group to be in... It could have been worse if they ended up in any of the other 4 groups to be honest...Originally posted by Short Ninja:Singapore already had problems with Tajikistan but they adapted and overcame the problem.
wait and see...Originally posted by zocoss:I think Sg also will have problem beating Lebanon let alone Uzbekistan and Saudi Arabia...![]()

Maybe its a blessing in disguise.When playing Lebanon just think Palestine and when Playing Uzbekistan just think Tajikistan.As for playing with Saudis...just think Bahrain but of course not the 3-1 defeatOriginally posted by zocoss:Yeah hopefully they will do the same again lah... But actually, looking at it... it isn't really a bad Group to be in... It could have been worse if they ended up in any of the other 4 groups to be honest...![]()
To be honest, don't mean to bust your bubble but... if i am not wrong, only the top 2 from each group would go through and into another 2 Groups of 5 teams each... and from this 2 groups, only the top 2 will go to WC2010... and the 5th best place team will still have go through a playoff with the Oceania group winner...Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:we do have a slim chance...![]()
Originally posted by zocoss:Like I've said, our best bet in this situation is to aim for 5th and play New Zealand or Fiji.
To be honest, don't mean to bust your bubble but... if i am not wrong, only the top 2 from each group would go through and into another 2 Groups of 5 teams each... and from this 2 groups, only the top 2 will go to WC2010... and the 5th best place team will still have go through a playoff with the Oceania group winner...
If the top 2 go through from each group... Still got chance meh if like this...
[b]Group 1
Australia, Japan, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait
Group 2
China, Bahrain, South Korea, Singapore, Iran
This time got Australia in Asia group as well... [/b]
At most 2nd. If not, bye bye.Originally posted by Master -_-:i think Singapore can get 2nd in that group..as for the next round..dun think so labut at least, sure jump in rankings..
My dear.Originally posted by Short Ninja:You hope for them to finish third? That is no hope!
SIngapore need all the fans collective support and postive energy
If you are not part of it...just shut the fark up!
There is a song by the sand pipers 'We may never pass this way again' and since Singapore has come this far......for fcuk sake the FAS needs you!!Originally posted by charlize:My dear.
Much as I would like to see Singapore play in the World Cup finals, we have to be realistic enough to know that it will take time.
Your passion is admirable, but for fcuk's sake, leave your swearing at the matches against Singapore's opponents.