True yea. he's improved alot.Originally posted by In_Between_Days:Adebayor...he has improved alot since Henry left...
Haha, thats my friend, surprised to see you nominating Shevchenko as the best striker in EPL. Well, frankly speaking he has passed his prime already or the english football just doesnt suit him. To be honest, he is my favourite striker since Roberto Baggio. But, we have to be realistic a bit lah, the best striker in EPL at the moment IMO is Torres.....has to be him coz he is just too explosive. I guess he has proven me wrong that he would struggle in english football for the first two seasons......i hope he keeps it up, this weekend i hope he die die will score at least one goal against MU.Originally posted by Gasfene:Andriy Shevchenko
Well, sorry to say Rooney is nowhere near the top of the best strikers in EPL. Its either coz he dons MU jersey or the premiership doesnt have good quality strikers. To me, he is very ordinary striker, just because he plays for MU, he gets the attention. I think hor his bad temper catches my attention more than his prowess on the pitch.Originally posted by lpx88:Rooney was the hottest striker before he got injured, so Torres lor![]()
Actually, I think he is an impt player for united. At least his scoring rate are decent , 8 goals in 9 games before his injury and runs non stop to create chances for the rest of the player. Howver, i agree the quality of strikers in the league has gone downhill, as compared to the likes of Zola, Cantona, Bergkamp, Shearer..RVN and Henry we've seen in the past. No way can u compare people like Rooney, Drogba ,Torres and say Anelka can match up to them. Just my 2 cts.Originally posted by robertobaggio:Well, sorry to say Rooney is nowhere near the top of the best strikers in EPL. Its either coz he dons MU jersey or the premiership doesnt have good quality strikers. To me, he is very ordinary striker, just because he plays for MU, he gets the attention. I think hor his bad temper catches my attention more than his prowess on the pitch.![]()
Well, i suppose the quality has dropped in recent years, not only in england, but europe in general. Italian serie A has gone from bad to worse since the bribery scandal two seasons ago. I really wish to see the likes of RVN, Bergkamp, Gullit, Zola, Henry, Riedle, Yorke, Shearer, Cole, Rush and many more plying their trade in premiership. Nowadays, premiership not that exciting anymore, or maybe i have become older liao, dont know lah, just cant feel the adrenaline rush anymore like when i was still young in the 90's. I used to follow closely the premiership....but now who cares if MU win again.....Originally posted by lpx88:Actually, I think he is an impt player for united. At least his scoring rate are decent , 8 goals in 9 games before his injury and runs non stop to create chances for the rest of the player. Howver, i agree the quality of strikers in the league has gone downhill, as compared to the likes of Zola, Cantona, Bergkamp, Shearer..RVN and Henry we've seen in the past. No way can u compare people like Rooney, Drogba ,Torres and say Anelka can match up to them. Just my 2 cts.
I think if teams like Blackburn, Villa, and City can continue to improve..they could be outside contenders too in the next 3 years.Originally posted by robertobaggio:Well, i suppose the quality has dropped in recent years, not only in england, but europe in general. Italian serie A has gone from bad to worse since the bribery scandal two seasons ago. I really wish to see the likes of RVN, Bergkamp, Gullit, Zola, Henry, Riedle, Yorke, Shearer, Cole, Rush and many more plying their trade in premiership. Nowadays, premiership not that exciting anymore, or maybe i have become older liao, dont know lah, just cant feel the adrenaline rush anymore like when i was still young in the 90's. I used to follow closely the premiership....but now who cares if MU win again.....![]()
I can only assume that you are one of those anti-united fan who would blindly disregard anything positive about Manchester United. So your bias opinion is really expected.Originally posted by robertobaggio:Well, sorry to say Rooney is nowhere near the top of the best strikers in EPL. Its either coz he dons MU jersey or the premiership doesnt have good quality strikers. To me, he is very ordinary striker, just because he plays for MU, he gets the attention. I think hor his bad temper catches my attention more than his prowess on the pitch.![]()
Ya RVP has lots of potential as well..Originally posted by 798:RVP if he is not injure, he will be godlike.
Knew it someone from MU fan club gonna disagree with my opinion about Rooney. Please lah for god's sake, i am not anti-MU football team ok, but i am anti-MU fan who only knows about MU players while ignoring the others. When we talk football, please lah, be matured a bit ok....i am a Liverpool fan but i never talked like Liverpool is the best team in the world, IMO Gerrard and Torres are the only world class players in Liverpool, others so-so only......Carragher some say is super good centreback, but to me he is just too ordinary when compared to Cannavaro or Nesta......just that i like his workrate, that one no doubt is his quality.Originally posted by zocoss:I can only assume that you are one of those anti-united fan who would blindly disregard anything positive about Manchester United. So your bias opinion is really expected.
Rooney started last season as a 20 yrs old player and ended it scoring 23 goals along with Ronaldo. So if he is really nowhere near the top of the best strikers in the EPL... Then who is?
For your info, only Drogba and Benedict McCarthy as strikers scored more goals than him in the league and how old are they? Drogba will be 30 in 3 months time and McCarthy... was 30 last month. So Rooney a 20 yrs old topping the standings along with them isn't good? Where were they at his age? Well, Drogba was still playing for a Ligue 2 side. And McCarthy... He was still playing for some South Africa club call Cape Town Spurs.
Its not because he plays for Man u that he gets all the attention, Probably its because he is regarded as England's best player that is why he gets the attention. If a top manager like Sven Goran Eriksson considers him to be such an important player to England, then he must be of some quality. And i have no doubt Capello would to.
And for the record, most of his 23 goals didn't come from penalties as Ronaldo is United's regular penalty taker.
Yes, he is improving and still ordinary compared to Henry, Shearer, etc. He is ony 20. Please bear his age in mind. He can only improve and go on to be an excellent truly world-class player with achievements and medals to prove.Originally posted by robertobaggio:Knew it someone from MU fan club gonna disagree with my opinion about Rooney. Please lah for god's sake, i am not anti-MU football team ok, but i am anti-MU fan who only knows about MU players while ignoring the others. When we talk football, please lah, be matured a bit ok....i am a Liverpool fan but i never talked like Liverpool is the best team in the world, IMO Gerrard and Torres are the only world class players in Liverpool, others so-so only......Carragher some say is super good centreback, but to me he is just too ordinary when compared to Cannavaro or Nesta......just that i like his workrate, that one no doubt is his quality.
As for Rooney, he is improving but to me still ordinary compared to Henry, Shearer and the likes. To be honest lah, we all know that Rooney could score many goals coz the defenders in premiership are weak compared to La Liga or Serie A. And dont forget the MU factor, meaning when you play for MU, the opposing teams already scared of you, no wonder he scored so easily lah. If you were talking about RVN, then i would say he is world class, Rooney no way man!!!
Dont forget how England lost in the last world cup to Portugal, i am sure you all know rite? Rooney lor the villain, no wonder Sven Goran lost his job lah. Rooney important for England, think again....if i were capello i would put him on the bench nia, supersub role for me is ok for Rooney. Haha, what toking lah you? What has football skill got to do with age, are you saying Rooney gonna be better than he is now 5 years from now, thats bullshit if anyone would say that. Here, we are talking about NOW. Drogba is certainly better than Rooney and who knows Drogba still has 5 good years ahead of him. Hope i make my points clear here, i am not anti-MU, but i hate MU fan who only knows nothing except MU, cheers.....![]()