The match started with Man U being more adventurous of the two. Man U also seemed more confident and played the better passing game until Lampard scored. Chelsea continued to put up a good fight right to the end.
It might have been very different had Chelsea scored first, Chelsea afterall even outside of this match has always seemed more capable at defending a lead. Even during this match itself, Chelsea's defence seemed more composed even though they were under more pressure early on.
Both sides had decent chances to score and win the game throughout the match. Man U found it hard to beat Cech who played superbly and was not to blame for the first goal. Chelsea did better in beating the keeper but couldn't beat the post on a number of occassions.
Ronaldo caused lots of problems on Chelsea's right flank while on their left flank, Ashley Cole had lots of decisions going against him.
Drogba was actually having a not too bad game, did his usual of holding up the ball and bringing team mates into play. But the red card was deserved and it was a foolish thing to do on his part.
I expected Joe Cole to have a better first half and he did have a better second have with some good defensive work. I think he was tasked to mark out Ronaldo together with Essien. But he never quite seemed like be the threat I expected him to be. Maybe due to lack of service.
It's a pity that Park Ji Sung wasn't even on the bench for Man U. Did see him in the celebrations.
I felt it was great that Lampard scored again and I feel he showed why Chelsea needed him. He scored the important equaliser in the first half and in the second, he did nicely to turn his defender and his effort fully deserved a goal, but sadly he hit the post. It would have been nice to be able to see him and his family being able to celebrate a Champions' League Victory but it wasn't to be. And between him and Ronaldo, the two regular penalty kick takers, he was the one who still managed to put away his penalty after extra time while Ronaldo missed his.
Actually when it came to penalties, I expected Chelsea to win it. Van Der Sar does not have a fantastic record when it comes to penalty shootouts and I think any other keeper would have saved Ashley Cole's penalty. Chelsea in my opinion also had so many experienced players who have been to this level before like Anelka, Carvalho. And other than Lampard, players like Ballack are penalty takers for their national team as well. Besides, the Chelsea players were older, more mature players as compared to the many younger ones Man U had taking the penalties.
Just to comment on a few refereeing decisions, I felt Makelele didn't deserve that yellow card from his tussle with Scholes.
Then there was the issue of the free kick given for Ferdinand's foul on Lampard, the one where Ferdinand got a yellow card. If that foul and free kick was given, I feel a similar challenge by Brown on Cole earlier in the game should have been a foul as well. I've actually seen these challenges not being penalised in EPL, but I'm not so sure how it is viewed in Europe. But I'd expect at least some consistency from the same ref within the same game.
I've already said the red card on Drogba was fully deserved.
Two Words - Rough Game
It was nice to see after all the battling and aggression on the pitch, when the match was over there were still signs of friendship between players from both clubs.
Scholes specially walked over to lay a pat on Terry while he was being consoled by Grant.
Lampard also gave Scholes a pat while going up to get his medal.
Nani and Carvalho also exchanged pats as Chelsea went up to get their medals.
Giggs had a soft word or two with Malouda/Kalou after they came down with their medals.
Some of this is nice stuff to watch, instead of all the fighting and slaps on chins or whatever.
Btw, anyone noticed the 'Scouser-free zone' put up by some Chelsea fans at the stadium, talk about uncalled for and mean-spirited.
I also feel Lampard underlined his importance to Chelsea and he is well worth any contract that is required to keep him at Stamford Bridge. Chelsea is a team expected to challenge on many fronts including the ever fast-paced EPL.
And if you're going to be playing extra time in Champion's league matches against Liverpool and Man U, who better to be in your team than Frank Lampard Jr who has got lungs of iron.
the arrogance is blatant..pure and raw...
Originally posted by Master -_-:the arrogance is blatant..pure and raw...
You mean the guy with the nickname Master?
Originally posted by Sumone3:You mean the guy with the nickname Master?
whatever rocks your socks, kid
Originally posted by Master -_-:
whatever rocks your socks, kid
Just couldn't help noticing how a few of your posts are so mean spirited. Nice to know you consider me young.
Sir Alex Ferguson is the next Chuck Norris!
GLORY GLORY MAN UNITED!
Originally posted by dukedracula:what a bore fest….any final that comes down to penalty is crap…..game of two halves…
well, I do agree cause the big mega-stars did not really perform. And it boils down to both teams negating each other.but given the chances, shots and drama, it was not crap. Like I said, both teams did not deserve to lose.
Originally posted by dukedracula:what a bore fest….any final that comes down to penalty is crap…..game of two halves…
2 goals were scored before the penalty shoot out and truly how could you even think it was crap? Unless of course if you're an Arsenal fan>hahaha
2 words, not bothered
Who cares.. over liao.. Man U won.. now for Euro!!
I think Terry cannot forget that penalty missed... It will haunt him for the rest of his life...
zocoss... if terry is not there... i am sure chelsea has already lost the game since if he nv clear that ball
The result of that game was already written in the heavens even before kick off.Man U won Chelsea lost.Period
chelsea dont deserve to lose... 1st 30min badly play.. but after that.. chelsea dominated the whole game.. i would say makelele was excellent. he stop alot of manu attacks. i feel that grant should haf put anelka or shev out earlier.. drogba hold the ball well.. but noone supporting him.. joe cole always tracking back to help out essien.. malouda lost ball easily.. try again nxt season chelsea!! history r to be created...
i think it would be the biggest insult to football managers if avram grant won the biggest prize, small time manager who buay paiseh lobbied to get jose off the team. Whats so great about using a jose built team to win games? fucking jewish cunt
the thin line between champions and runners up, and also the difference between the 2 teams for this season.. 1 word to sum it all up, LUCK.
sympathy for chelsea.. at 1 point i thought they were going to win it and then the next moment, he slipped. i cant say which team wants to win it more cause both teams have worked hard to get into the final. in football theres always a winner and a loser
why does everyone says that its luck?
In the first place you have to work hard for chances to happen, and when a chance come if you're capable to take it, than you deserve it. Luck wouldnt just come to you, while you have to work hard to earn it.
For chelsea case, they worked hard, chances came, however they are not capable of taking it. e.g. hitting the woodwork isnt unlucky, its just that they arent good enough to take the shot from that angle or they are being pressured thus the shot was poorly taken.