Personally I agree with the fact that the players, rather than Grant, organised themselves and got Chelsea to the UCL final and BPL runners-up spot. Most of the players I feel do not respect Grant. Did you see their match with Man Utd? Ballack and Drogba were arguing with each other in front of TV cameras and in front of Grant and Grant didn't/couldn't do anything about it. Do you think other successful managers like Ferguson, Wenger or even Mourinho would stand for such behaviour?
Obviously the big name players do not respect the muppet. If Chelsea want to attract big names to replace those who are expected to leave, they'll need a manager with a more solid reputation than Grant.
Ballack never respected Mourinho also while he was there... He even when back to Germany to have an operation without informing Jose who was against it at that time... Then there was Gallas... How much did he respected Jose?
Grant is just crap.. what difficulties? what taking them far??? he is just a person whom Roman install purely to show Jose that with the money that he had invested on, anyone, yes just about anyone can take them to the same level as what Jose did.. but IMO Grant fail, Chelsea ends the season without any silverware which is whats counts as failure in a team of Chelsea current class
Grant had the same group of players plus another couple of new players but he cant win the league, can't win the league cup, can't win the FA cup, can't win the ECL on a night when ManU didn't really played well.. also his so call Tactics which he keeps reminding the press that its what that helps them win the game, true as it seems but its just the same thing over and over again, putting another striker in when they are level or losing don't really says much IMHO, any manager would have did so with the among of talents in a team like Chelsea..
When we talk about the league... Chelsea lost the league title by 2 points... But when Grant took over, they were already behind United by 2 points... Grant didn't get a chance to start on a level playing field... He didn't get a chance to bring in his own players... If anything, Its more like Jose lost them the title when his team fell behind early in the season... Jose also lost to United on penalties in the Community Shield (with a worse score result)...
And when it comes to the Champions League... You can say Terry lost it for them rather than anything else...
I like to see if the next guy can bring them as close next season... lol
Huge mistake...
This probably rank up there with the Real sacking of Del Bosque...
Tribute to Grant

I think the fact Gram did not play attacking football and did not win anything resulted in the sack. Mancini proves capable of promoting attacking football but under modern football times, defense football always proves easier to implement.
Originally posted by Xtrider de Deux:Tribute to Grant
This is so funny! :D
Mourinho has stuck the boot in, claiming the Israeli was destined to fail due to lack of a winning mentality.
“In my philosophy it was a very bad one because in football ‘almost’ means defeat,” he said.
“Chelsea almost won the Carling Cup, almost won the Champions League, and almost won the Premier League. Almost is nothing.
“After two titles per season for the last three years there were zero titles this season.
“In my philosophy that means a really bad season.
“Maybe in the philosophy of a loser this was a great season, which I respect.”
SPORT of the WORLD COMMENT
FOR all the money swilling around in Chelsea's coffers, the one commodity they cannot buy is class.
Everybody in football knew that Avram Grant was no Special One. He was merely a decent and dignified man who deserved to be treated with a modicum of respect.
But Chelsea don't seem to do respect — they do only heartless, cruel and vicious. Grant was thrown into the middle of a crisis when Jose Mourinho was axed.
But not only did he steady the ship, he took Chelsea to within a penalty kick of the Champions League crown.
So how is he rewarded? With betrayal and a knife in the back. The sickening thing is, we expected nothing less from Chelsea.
Originally posted by snowfoxx:hes a fucking jew.
a wanker, this man buay paiseh, lobbied so hard to backstab the special one until he gena sacked. Also never do some self assessment to see he got the balls to carry the team, funny sia, even a beggar also can run jose's built team on auto pilot.
I see his sad jewish face, when he lose in three finals, EPL,CL,FA cup, i laugh. What a shit head, fat head on a equally fat body
It's Carling Cup, not FA cup.
if its Roman's money that buys the league then its Grant's failure that lost them the entire battle this season
Chelsea without The Special 1 is not Special at all
chelsea fans and players are still sore abt the sacking of the so called special one which imo doesn't seem so special at all. Grant did a reasonable good job. Can you win something w/o the respect of ur players ? dont blame Grant, blame the players.
so Don't Blame the player, BLAME THE GAME!
imagine that
jose converted the team to HIS tactic
and chelsea won 2 league champs in a row
and when jose got fired, grant had to 'kio sai', pick up his shit, and had to continue with jose's pace
and he still picked chelsea up so well
now, that is a big feat, not many managers can do that
to bring up a team in just 8 months, it's really a great achievement
jose is jose, grant is grant, please don't compare both together
they are two different managers with different tactics in their heads
Grant does not have UEFA badges, won exactly zero trophies this year, lost to Barnsley and Spurs in cup competitions. He lost 8 games in 37 matches in all competitions. Chelsea played a very boring style of football under his "guidance". He did manage to beat powerhouse clubs like Olympiakos (very impressive), Fenerbache (barely) and Liverpool (Thanks Riise!) so that makes him one of the best coaches in the world? Chelsea has one of the best squads on the planet and these kind of results are unacceptable. This guy was hired against Mourinho's wishes and caused all kinds of problems behind his back with his whisperings of sweet nothings in Roman's ear. He essentially got the job by kissing A** and not by qualifications. If almost winning something is your goal, Avram is your man!
Originally posted by zocoss:Ballack never respected Mourinho also while he was there... He even when back to Germany to have an operation without informing Jose who was against it at that time... Then there was Gallas... How much did he respected Jose?
Originally posted by dukedracula:
the difference was that the ass mouth didn't let them get away with disrespecting him, he froze one while the other was axed.....
What i recalled more likely was one keep complaining about being injured or not fit even tho Jose didn't belief so... and the other one refuse to play out of position... Neither was froze or axed... The former also being one of the "Untouchables" and the other asked to be transfer out to their London rival despite Jose trying to persuade him to stay back...

Originally posted by zocoss:
What i recalled more likely was one keep complaining about being injured or not fit even tho Jose didn't belief so... and the other one refuse to play out of position... Neither was froze or axed... The former also being one of the "Untouchables" and the other asked to be transfer out to their London rival despite Jose trying to persuade him to stay back...
Originally posted by dukedracula:
the point being ass mouth was not held hostage by them...grant had no choice but to play drog despite being undermined by the long legged one on more than one occasion...
Not really lah... He had Anelka but felt Drogba was still a better choice upfront and rightly so too... And on Ballack, I have never seen him play so well untill Grant took over... How ironic he was made one of the "untouchables" by Jose himself during his time...
it isnt so bad getting the sack. i am sure grant got a good compensation package.

Former Chelsea manager Avram Grant claims he rejected the director of football role at the club after being sacked.
The ex-Israel head coach was dismissed by The Blues last weekend after missing out on the Premier League and UEFA Champions League trophies to Manchester United.
Grant had been the club's director of football prior to Jose Mourinho's exit last September which then saw him take charge of first-team affairs for the remainder of the campaign.
The 53-year-old understands why Chelsea wanted to retain his services, although he did not see the move as the right way forward at this stage of his career.
"I understand the offer and why it was made but I thought that from my point of view it was not the correct move," he revealed.
"What I discussed (privately) will stay private but let's say that I saw that it was not a good move for me at this stage."
It had been mooted Grant was angered by the club's decision to sack him, although, following a chat with owner Roman Abramovich, he has nothing but love for the club.
"Roman (Abramovich) gave me the opportunity and what I had to say to him was that I love the club and now each of us goes his own way," he continued.
"It was a great time, I enjoyed very much to be at Chelsea, I breathed the club 24 hours a day during the time I was in charge."