zidane, podolski, eduardo (croatia), deco and many others are also FTs playing for a "richer" and more established country. hey but look at uzbek and saudi...they dun have any foreigners in their team man. especially so for saudi which is a filthy rich country with so many foreigners in their local football league.
Originally posted by redDUST:the question you need to ask is did they really trade nationality or are they still holding the passports of their respective country? i am sure most did not give up the nationality of their country of birth.
here, singapore is trying to `buy success'. i guess this is widely accepted already, so there's little to add or say....
There are 2 ways you can play for another country other then the country of your birth:
1) Prove your parentage, if your grandpa or grandma or father or mother or whatever is born in Papua New Guinea, you can choose to play for them based on parentage. But once you play for the national team for a country, you cannot play for another country ever.
2) If you have not played for any national teams, you can renounce your citizenship in one country and take up the citizenship of another like what Singapore did.
So every single FT that played in the Singapore National Team are Singapore Citizens and like all Singapore Citizens, we are not allowed to have Dual Citizenships so you are not allowed to hold 2 passports too. PRs is allowed to play in SLEAGUE but only CITIZENS can play in the national team.
And to say they buy success may be abit harsh. Do note what they buy are potentials, not sure successes. To say they buy success would mean they buy tried and tested players. Li Jiawei was not anywhere near the top when she became a Singapore Citizen but she is now one of the top paddlers. So Singapore do invest alot in the training and development of the players and not just buy success. And of cos, as a singaporean, i still wish that one day i will be able to see a singapore born singaporean succeeding in the world stage of sports hehe. Anyway Remy Ong is singaporean born right and he has made us proud in the international bowling arena....
Originally posted by redDUST:the question you need to ask is did they really trade nationality or are they still holding the passports of their respective country? i am sure most did not give up the nationality of their country of birth.
here, singapore is trying to `buy success'. i guess this is widely accepted already, so there's little to add or say....
If you wanna talk about Immigration law then I think some countries do allow people to keep two passports and have dual citizenships but Singapore is a country that would demand they first give up their Nationality before becoming a Singaporean
Originally posted by sebosebo:zidane, podolski, eduardo (croatia), deco and many others are also FTs playing for a "richer" and more established country. hey but look at uzbek and saudi...they dun have any foreigners in their team man. especially so for saudi which is a filthy rich country with so many foreigners in their local football league.
Uzbekistan has many talented footballers so dont need FTs at the moment as for Arab countries these days they do cheat also.
Originally posted by gasband:There are 2 ways you can play for another country other then the country of your birth:
1) Prove your parentage, if your grandpa or grandma or father or mother or whatever is born in Papua New Guinea, you can choose to play for them based on parentage. But once you play for the national team for a country, you cannot play for another country ever.
2) If you have not played for any national teams, you can renounce your citizenship in one country and take up the citizenship of another like what Singapore did.
So every single FT that played in the Singapore National Team are Singapore Citizens and like all Singapore Citizens, we are not allowed to have Dual Citizenships so you are not allowed to hold 2 passports too. PRs is allowed to play in SLEAGUE but only CITIZENS can play in the national team.
I wanna play for Papau New Guinea pleaseeee!
Well, in my views... These bigger nations didn't went out of their way to get these"FT" in to play for them in the first place... If there was anything they did, they gave them an opportunity and help them develop their skill and potentials... and most of these have ancestral linkage like someone here mentioned and could choose to play for either nations of their choice...
On Sg ways, the FT that they brought in are either very old already or have pass their chance to represent their birth country... Some of these they brough in are consider not good enough in their home country that's why they are here...
On some like Zidane, Eduardo and most of the Black French players, they went to that country before they even became football stars... They were in their youth when they left their country of birth for a new life in a new country... These country didn't go out of their way to nationalize them for their footballing talent unlike Singapore...
I believe there are many so called "New Singapore Citizens" who are here only for the money or prize money... and when their time is up in the sports arena, be it Swimming, Badminton, Table-Tennis they go back to their country of origin again... I think its this kind of FT that the majority are not happy with... They just came to take and with no intention to give back...
I see the happening and read the news of that young swimmer that Ang Peng Siong guided and trained and i can't help but feel betrayed... Forget about asking for loyally, it evidence even at such a young age, it all about money first... and sadly, she not the only one it seems... and when her time is up, we can assume that she will just go back to China and resume where her family have left off with all the new money they have made while being a FT in Sg as her dad and other sibling are still in China...
Like what the Singapore Netball President Ivy Singh-Lim said: 'I'm not against foreigners, But whats the point of imported glory?
Well everyone has the right to choose a country to die in and you cant guarantee also that Noh Alam Shah wouldnt migrate to Malaysia when his playing days are over.Nowadays it is money to keep people from leaving
Originally posted by Short Ninja:If you wanna talk about Immigration law then I think some countries do allow people to keep two passports and have dual citizenships but Singapore is a country that would demand they first give up their Nationality before becoming a Singaporean
I don't think so lah... If Singaporean want to be a citizen of another country, they will demand that you give up your Sg citizen in order to make you think twice about it but it doesn't work the other way round tho... They are trying to attract FT and forcing them to renounce their birth country citizenship won't go down very well and there may be few takers...
Egmar Goncalves, remember that former Home United striker... He became a Sg citizen in 2002... Then when his playing days were up, he went back to Brazil. Today he is retired and living in Brazil, with his wife and children...
Anyway according to Brazilian law if your gf or wife bear your child then you are automatically eligible for Brazilian citizenship no problemo.So Egmar no need to chop passport or apply for Visa every now and then >LOL.So it all depends on where you are from.If Bennete and what's the other guy's name? Wants to become British Citizen again the Queen would probably say'Bloddy KNN what suka suka izzit?'
Originally posted by eagle:Do HIIT for sprints, but like the soccer players in their games, you do it >20 times.
Do liao tell then tell me how your throat and mouth feels.
Not going to try. U tell me lah. : )
Dear Mr Reyes, when Laos lost 11-0 to Singapore you think the laotians punctured all their soccer balls to start playing tennis and sepak takraw?hahaha.Soccer is one beautiful game that even elephants play ....win or lose you tell them and I dont think they are interested just dont forget that the lions got this far for the first time.
is this the best example you can find to prove singapore improve by beating laos 11-0? discounting how asean football could be corrupted?
Singapore was awful. Yes some of you are right. They are really lousy. But the difference is instead of being lousy against Indonesia or Malaysia, we were "lousy" against Saudi Arabia, the team which has alot of experience in the World Cup itself. This is the first time we have make it to this stage of the qualifying rounds. Yes, they were "lousy" but shouldnt they be given credit for the improvement?
give credit for being lousy?
i would rather give a wake up call and start total revamp in our football systems.
train fitness, build muscle, get better FTS instead of joker like precious.
Besides exaggerating and hoping your home team falls flat on their faces what nice things can you say about the Lions? For starters I would say thank god they are no longer in the Malaysia Cup and then with the FTs playing for Singapore.Nothing to be as many countries uses FTs these days cuz the also want to improve.To say that Singapore Soccer has not improve not one bit is just unjustifiable and that is why you need to start enjoying ping pong cuz lioness also do play ping pong and they seldom lose.
i am not here to make enemy. i am 100% singaporean, i serve in NS. active in speaker corner forums and what does it serve me to see singapore fall flat on their faces. the difference between me and you is that i see room for improvement, and i state the ways we need to improve. while you avoid the problems we have, and keep saying we improve and fail to address, how much we improve, where it has lead singapore, how the improvement are in comparison to our rival asian country.
a loser in my definition is when in the face of losing a match, still say we improve, we are alright and let move on. a winner is someone who lose a match, admit we are poor , what we need to improve further and get better.
It's like that one... Talk is cheap... He's not the one who represented Singapore in anything...
it seem like most ppl in this forum is talking, that doesnt mean we are all cheap. i dont mind if u are one.
one who dont know soccer just talk crap not cheap.
Originally posted by reyes:is this the best example you can find to prove singapore improve by beating laos 11-0? discounting how asean football could be corrupted?
I am saying Laotians are still proud of their National team despite the 11-0 thrashing.Using this as a comparison to the Singapore 7-3 lost to Uzbekistan.
how much laotians are spending in comparison to our FAS?
they had their own economic problems and heaps of domestic problems.
i would like to compare singapore with Thailand. during their recent lost to thailand, many of their newspaper criticise their player for lack of motivation and technical competence. that is not to say, they lost to Japan 3-0 at their own homw ground. but at in the stadium , there are more Japs than local thais. that the kind of message that the thais are sending to their national players.
my apology if i offend anyone, anyway this forumes should respect the view and differences perspective of individual.
no offence!
You if want respect and indifference then I salute you for your pessimism & lack of faith in your National Team.Talk to you again in 2014.Sayonara!
i did respect your views! =P
YAY! WE LOST! ![]()
Originally posted by reyes:it seem like most ppl in this forum is talking, that doesnt mean we are all cheap. i dont mind if u are one.
one who dont know soccer just talk crap not cheap.
So have you represented Singapore in anything before today such that you can talk loud?
I have worn the Singapore blazer and represented Singapore. Have you? Do you know it feels to be a national representative?
That is what I am saying about you: Talk is cheap.
Originally posted by reyes:i am not here to make enemy. i am 100% singaporean, i serve in NS. active in speaker corner forums and what does it serve me to see singapore fall flat on their faces. the difference between me and you is that i see room for improvement, and i state the ways we need to improve. while you avoid the problems we have, and keep saying we improve and fail to address, how much we improve, where it has lead singapore, how the improvement are in comparison to our rival asian country.
a loser in my definition is when in the face of losing a match, still say we improve, we are alright and let move on. a winner is someone who lose a match, admit we are poor , what we need to improve further and get better.
So qualifying to be competing with Saudi and Ubk at this stage of the WC is not considered an improvement over previous efforts?
None of us here said that we are not poor and do not need to improve further and do not need to get better. We are saying that Singapore has improved, which you have continuously claimed that Singapore didn't.
Originally posted by reyes:how much laotians are spending in comparison to our FAS?
they had their own economic problems and heaps of domestic problems.
i would like to compare singapore with Thailand. during their recent lost to thailand, many of their newspaper criticise their player for lack of motivation and technical competence. that is not to say, they lost to Japan 3-0 at their own homw ground. but at in the stadium , there are more Japs than local thais. that the kind of message that the thais are sending to their national players.
my apology if i offend anyone, anyway this forumes should respect the view and differences perspective of individual.
no offence!
You have no right to talk about respecting others when you cannot even give some respect to the efforts that has been put in by the national team while you are comfortably lazing somewhere to merely criticize.
u dont need to be national player to criticise any sports right?
do all sports writer/pundits need to be ex national player to write articles about football? please state what sport you represent singapore ? football? if not why are u talking about football? i find your logic childish.
maybe you should never be coach or leading figure of any company and organisation coz your view of improving is just within your own expectation and not in respect of what rivals are performing.
and i find that more alarming the view coming from someone who claim to represent singapore in unknown sports. in my opinion, that is not opinion of a sportsman.
None of us here said that we are not poor and do not need to improve further and do not need to get better. We are saying that Singapore has improved, which you have continuously claimed that Singapore didn't.
i never say singapore are poor. please quote me.
you said singapore is poor.i didnt. i just find that your view are contridicting.
you agree singapore need to improve. great. that what i am trying to say and u finally agree!
u claim singapore improve, in your opinion yes because u base on we qualify for the first time the second qualifying round. i say not so, coz qualifying is depend on who you play the previous round.
why dont you tell us which dept of play singapore improve? striker? defender? midfield? or still want to singapore footballs fans must support and appreciate because they try their best? dint they get their pay? din they need to prove themselves first before they can win over the fans?