Chelsea rounded off their pre-season tour of Asia with a 2-0 victory over a strong Malaysian XI on Tuesday afternoon.
Nicolas Anelka continued his impressive warm-up for the new campaign as he opened the scoring in the first half and substitute Ashley Cole doubled the advantage after the interval.
Chelsea - who had Joe Cole starting his first game of pre-season, while Michael Essien began the match at right-back - had opened the encounter in a nervous fashion.
And Malaysia's lively forward Amirulhadi Zainal should have done better when he broke clear in the opening five minutes, only to drag wide of the far post with Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech stranded.
The Blues, though, then took charge as summer signing Deco dominated the midfield, and the Portuguese playmaker almost scored in spectacular fashion as he went close with a long-range volley after a clever Frank Lampard free-kick.
With Didier Drogba absent from Chelsea's pre-season preparations, Anelka was revelling in his lone striking role and he deservedly opened the scoring on 26 minutes.
Joe Cole carried the ball over the half-way line before threading a pass through to Anelka who beat the offside trap to smash in with his left foot.
Chelsea boss Luiz Felipe Scolari introduced Ashley Cole among a number of substitutes at the interval and the defender was on the scoresheet eight minutes later.
Lampard deftly feinted to shoot only to carve apart Malaysia's back four with a neat ball to Cole, who turned before firing into the roof of the net from eight yards.
Malaysia continued to pose occasional attacking danger and the eye-catching Zainal again threatened on the hour mark when he fired wide from the edge of the box.
However, that was to be as close as Malaysia came to netting a consolation as Chelsea, who face Lokomotiv Moscow in Russia on Friday, continued their 100 per cent pre-season record.
they put so much water??haha
2-0 isn't really impressive...i was thinking that they mi9ght thrash them...but then again...haiz! I predict they'll fail again at Moscow...it's will be like a stab on the scar. Wahaa!
2-0 only ah? ![]()
i was expecting more than 7 goals. malaysia boleh.
Malaysia soccer team is way better than our national team...
Originally posted by Master -_-:Malaysia soccer team is way better than our national team...
if you take out the foreign element, i would agree malaysia has an even chance. however, the current `half' singapore team will probably beat malaysia now.
i do think singapore has a better coach though.
We lost to Brazil 3-0.Not a bad thing leh.I expect Singapore lose like siao.
If you have watched
Malaysia was playing very well for the second half. Able to possess the Chelsea players...!
Anybody here can tell me the score between Brazil and Vietnam? Seems like some teams of Aseans are imporivng faster than SIngapore.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Anybody here can tell me the score between Brazil and Vietnam? Seems like some teams of Aseans are imporivng faster than SIngapore.
The match is not even played yet... Tomorrow
Vietnam vs Brazil - Pre-olympics Friendly 01.08.2008
Brazil Olympic Team has flew from Singapore to Vietnam for its upcoming pre-olympics friendly match against Vietnam National Team on 1st August 2008. They have received a very warm welcome from their fans upon arrival at Hanoi airport.
Watch the Brazil squad received a very warm welcome from their fans upon arrival at Hanoi airport.
Singapore vs Brazil...
Zocoss Arigato!!!
No problemo...