Referee Andre Marriner judged Dirk Kuyt to be offside when Gerrard
swung in a second minute free-kick in the clash against Stoke City at
Anfield.
The attempted cross found the far corner without a
touch, but despite replays proving otherwise, Marriner ruled the
Dutchman as offside.
It would have given Gerrard his century of goals for the club, after hitting 98 and 99 in midweek against Marseille.
Benitez was unhappy with the decision and let his feelings be known in the aftermatch of the 0-0 draw.
He said: "The disallowed goal was a key decision. If that had been allowed it would have been a much more open game.
"I have no idea why the goal was disallowed. The referee told Jamie Carragher that it had been his decision, not the linesman's.
"But it was a massive mistake. And nobody knows why the effort was ruled out."
Stoke
battled hard and were well worth their point but Benitez was
disappointed that his side's possession on the ball cold not have been
turned into goals:
He continued: "The players worked very
hard. They tried everything, but maybe we needed a little more ability
in the last third to make use of all that possession and all those
shots."
Pcb. The goal should be allowed. Noob referee.
This kind of decision happen all the time.
No point being excited over that.
The reds cannot overcome stoke city lats night.
The strikers esp kuyt did not show their sharpness in front of goal.
Back to drawing block liao.
Originally posted by chrisbenoit:Pcb. The goal should be allowed. Noob referee.
I guess refs are humans and humans are stupid... they make mistakes.
its normal, the Arsenal game's 1st goal was allowed because the ref/linesmen was blocked imo.
Its terrible! How could it have been offside? If it had gone in, the score might have been 3-0 or 4-0
wa heng sia, i made a killing thanks to this draw! :)
that was a goal.. but then again
30 shot and 0 goals WTF!
I think it was Torres and not Kuyt.
Marginally offside though as you can see in the pics below.

http://www.dailymotion.com/search/liverpool%2Bstoke%2Bcity/video/x6tf36_stoke-cit_news?from=rss
Since he did make an attempt to go for the ball coming from an offside position, it was a right call?
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:I think it was Torres and not Kuyt.
Marginally offside though as you can see in the pics below.
http://www.dailymotion.com/search/liverpool%2Bstoke%2Bcity/video/x6tf36_stoke-cit_news?from=rss
Since he did make an attempt to go for the ball coming from an offside position, it was a right call?
maybe
lan jiao la
instead of complain about the goal disallowed
why not complain about ur team cant score more goals?
tis is liverpool la, one week u see them beat the top teams the next week u will see them dropping points against the weak teams. ![]()
Originally posted by gunner77:lan jiao la
instead of complain about the goal disallowed
why not complain about ur team cant score more goals?
tis is liverpool la, one week u see them beat the top teams the next week u will see them dropping points against the weak teams.
ya lor.. some more 30 shots 0 goals.... complete utter shit =X
Got like 20 corners also? ![]()
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:Got like 20 corners also?
yea..
even joecole that shorty can scored from corner.. why liverpoo can't
But tbh, Stoke did park a bus in front of their goal la.
They were so deep that iirc, Carragher even had a shot at goal from outside the pen area?![]()
true, im a liverpool fan and im very disappointed with the way we played against stoke. totally different from the way we played man utd. dirt kuyt still sucks as ever.
Originally posted by limpper:true, im a liverpool fan and im very disappointed with the way we played against stoke. totally different from the way we played man utd. dirt kuyt still sucks as ever.
thats y i always says.. 1 match prove nothing
Originally posted by youyayu:thats y i always says.. 1 match prove nothing
i always hated kuyt, i mean, why is he in liverpool football club? -.- fcuk up man. ya, he can score, he can produce results, but what we really need is not him.
when i play FM, he will always be the first one i sell. even if i make a lost on the price. lol
Originally posted by limpper:
i always hated kuyt, i mean, why is he in liverpool football club? -.- fcuk up man. ya, he can score, he can produce results, but what we really need is not him.
when i play FM, he will always be the first one i sell. even if i make a lost on the price. lol
hello.... kuyt was a prolific scorer for Feyenoord before he moved to Liverpool. 71 goals in 101 appearances.. dat dumb rafa played him out of position and his goal rate dropped tremendously..
Originally posted by lem0nade:hello.... kuyt was a prolific scorer for Feyenoord before he moved to Liverpool. 71 goals in 101 appearances.. dat dumb rafa played him out of position and his goal rate dropped tremendously..
i can only say... rafa is a worse manager interm of signing compare to JM..
JM is a good manager in techni.. but the player he signed.. is really...
Originally posted by limpper:
he can score and he can produced results but Liverpool doesn't needs him?? so you need someone who can't do all those and just get paid fat salary by sitting around the bench???
Well, it is reported that Since Benitez took over at Liverpool in June 2004, he has spent £188m on 26 players while Fergie has spent £177.5m over that same period... I am beginning to feel Keane may not be the right partner for Torres afterall... and he cost them $20m pounds...