HIGH 'N MIGHTY ... Jamie Carragher
The Kop idol was outstanding in Sunday’s win over Chelsea at Stamford Bridge. Rafa Benitez’s men brought down the curtain on the Blues’ 86 league game unbeaten run and took a three-point lead in the championship.
And even though it has been 19 years since they last claimed the crown, Carragher insists this team can handle the pressure. He said: “People will be talking about us a bit more now because we are top of the league. “But we have to live with that. It’s a different kind of pressure but it’s what we are in it for and we have to cope with that.
“We haven’t had that pressure for a while now but if we want to be successful then we’ve got to cope. “Teams are going to want to knock us off there, we know that, but that’s part of the game.”
While the travelling fans at the Bridge celebrated as if they had won the title and not just the game, the players were more low key.
There is a good reason for that according to Carra — there is still a lot of work to be done. The centre-back said: “It was a great result for us as they have an amazing record at home. “It’s the first time I have ever won at Chelsea — and I have been going there for more than 12 years. “It’s always been a tough place to go to but I’m delighted that we are the team that has broken the record.
“Our reaction was not ecstatic — it was just a job done. We’re delighted with the position we are in, top after nine games. “But we should not get too carried away with it. “We are a massive, top club with a lot of great players, so we are only doing what we should be doing.”
But Carragher still has a stark warning for his team-mates. After all, they beat huge rivals Manchester United at Anfield earlier in the season and then followed it with a frustrating 0-0 draw at home to Stoke.
For that reason, Carra is already focusing on the challenge of Portsmouth tomorrow night before visiting Tottenham on Saturday. The 30-year-old admitted: “We are not getting carried away. Don’t get me wrong it was a good result. It’s something no other side has achieved in over four years, so it’s to be enjoyed, but we have to capitalise on it now.
“Not just live on the fact that we got a great result at Chelsea. “It was disappointing to draw with Stoke and there was a lot of talk at the time that we were getting complacent — but that kind of thing happens.
“We were very unlucky against Stoke. If we played that game again, nine times out of 10 we would win it. “But for most of the season now we have done quite well.
“We have got Portsmouth and then go to Spurs. “There’s a lot of stuff going on at both of those clubs at the moment and you never know how they are going to react. So the next two games are going to be very tough but we have got to go for maximum points.
zz. It's only the good form they're having. Let's see how long it last.
just wait and see when the other big 3 hit top form
too early to say anything la.
man ure sucks
so hao lian
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:man ure sucks
so hao lian
lmao? wtfbbqfishheadcurry..
Originally posted by dinky1409:lmao? wtfbbqfishheadcurry..
CCB what talking u
the topic title is misleading...
his comments are not said in that manner ![]()
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:CCB what talking u
u talking what CCB
Originally posted by dinky1409:u talking what CCB
catch cockroach boy you
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:catch cockroach boy you
boy cockroach catch you
Originally posted by dinky1409:boy cockroach catch you
low life man u fan
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:low life man u fan
u fan low life man
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:man ure sucks
so hao lian
red shirt on the top of the league doesn't always refer to ManU, just like got breast doesn't always means its your mama
now too early to gloat carragher, by april if you all still top then say lah
not reported in soccernet yet. Anyway, these kind of comments very common nowsaday so it doesnt mean much anymore. zocoss must be busy digging such news to prove that liverpool are hao lian.
At least Chelsea's record is broken by a top team, not by the likes of Hull or WBA.
When Champion's League comes into full swing, let's see whether Pool can maintain.
Originally posted by dotaro:At least Chelsea's record is broken by a top team, not by the likes of Hull or WBA.
When Champion's League comes into full swing, let's see whether Pool can maintain
At least chelsea's record is not broken by diving united.
HOLY FCUK! carrgh's words NEVER carry such meanings, it's the title that's misleading everyone! liverpool not hao lian de.
Originally posted by dotaro:At least Chelsea's record is broken by a top team, not by the likes of Hull or WBA.
When Champion's League comes into full swing, let's see whether Pool can maintain.
seriously, i rather pool don concentrate on CL leh, as a liverpool fan, i hope the EPL title comes instead of CL cup this year. CL win before liao, EPL haven, this year EPL first, next year then go take CL. lol
Originally posted by weewee:
At least chelsea's record is not broken by diving united.
x2
seriously, i rather pool don concentrate on CL leh, as a liverpool fan, i hope the EPL title comes instead of CL cup this year. CL win before liao, EPL haven, this year EPL first, next year then go take CL. lol
Yes, you are right on that. Forget about the damn CL, it's the League title cup that all Pool fans want to see Stevie lifting!
Though, on a personal note, I wish an english manager is the one winning it....
How's that? You're off the top now.
off the top, ousted by the bottom!
Originally posted by dotaro:Yes, you are right on that. Forget about the damn CL, it's the League title cup that all Pool fans want to see Stevie lifting!
Though, on a personal note, I wish an english manager is the one winning it....
Stevie and Alonso getting personal?

Damn scousers![]()