Saturday, 1 November 2008
Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is welcoming the pressures involved in taking his team to Tottenham as leaders of the Barclays Premier League. But he believes former Tottenham skipper Robbie Keane, now in Liverpool's ranks, has no reason to feel any extra burden as he prepares to return to the club he left for £20million in the summer.
Keane can expect a hot welcome from Tottenham fans who saw their idol defect to the club he supported as a boy.
Benitez insists he 'enjoys the pressures of managing a team at the top of the table' and he also hopes that Keane is treated with respect by the Spurs supporters. He compared Keane's return to Peter Crouch's arrival at Anfield in a Portsmouth shirt on Wednesday, just months after his move to Fratton Park.
Benitez said: 'Peter came back to Liverpool this week and was given a great reception. He will always be a good player and he has the respect of our fans. I do not believe that Robbie has anything to prove, he has great quality. Hopefully Spurs fans will acknowledge this and what he did for them, and that he is now with another team.
Can Liverpool keep their unbeaten record in the Premiership?
Robbie Keane can dream about title medals now he is a Liverpool player and, having been told he is starting at White Hart Lane today, he wants to show Tottenham fans what they are missing.
As Harry Redknapp urged the home support not to boo former captain Keane as he makes his first return since his £20.3million summer move to Anfield, Keane admitted: 'There's still a lot more to come.
'You haven't seen the best yet of me but we have a lot of games coming up and I'm looking forward to showing what I can do. 'Every player wants to win things no matter where they are from. You want to look back on your career and see medals.'
Although leaders Liverpool are playing down title talk after their recent back-to-back 1-0 victories over Chelsea and Portsmouth, Keane said: 'We don't talk about things like being top in the dressing room.
'It's there in the background because a lot of people talk about it but we have a lot of experienced players who've won the Champions League, the FA Cup and the UEFA Cup. They'll make sure we handle the pressure. 'We're lucky in that we don't have any players who are cocky or arrogant enough to think they've won anything at this stage of the season.'
eh, nothing to prove or cannot prove anything? 20m transfer but only 2goals this season? both at CL, one against PSV, another one against AM. flop of the season?
Wah... Pool never rest any players for this match despite having Atletico Madrid away on tue in the CL.
1 - 0 Pool scored.
wonderful opener by dirk kuyt !
1-0 to LIVERPOOL!
dirt kuyt.
Gomes looks like he is all over the place... Poor goalkeeper.
Wah... Bent just miss making it 2 - 0 to Pool and game over too...
But with this kind of luck, maybe the heavens will smile on Spurs later... lol
Originally posted by zocoss:Wah... Pool never rest any players for this match despite having Atletico Madrid away on tue in the CL.
they rest torres. torres recover liao but never even on bench.
Come on REDS
WHY DUNWAN LET SPURS SCORE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by gigabyte14:WHY DUNWAN LET SPURS SCORE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Then the match won't be nice to watch liao... lol
Now Harry got chance to show his magic again... lol
Finally liverpool can score 1st lor. Almost everytime this season, opposition score 1st then we come back to win. My heart will buay tahan one.
liverpool really deserve to win this game. very good play.
babel coming on!
Liverpool had too many chances to finish the game off... I guessed gerrard had hit the goal frame twice lol
why the hell spurs fans booing keane off? -.-
wtf! spurs score! _|_ ccb
Poor carragher... l'pool should have killed the game off earlier... learn from arsenal's mistakes
1-1 lol own goal
2-1...
Wah... Power to the Spurs beating Pool and ending their unbeaten record too!
Originally posted by zocoss:Wah... Bent just miss making it 2 - 0 to Pool and game over too...
But with this kind of luck, maybe the heavens will smile on Spurs later... lol
Wah... Like what I said at the start of the match... Bent almost scored for Pool and made it 0 - 2. Instead their luck really showed us heaven is indeed smiling on the Spurs...
Harry made the right subs and Benetiz made the wrong ones.
Amazing... Top of the Table loses to the Bottom of the Table...
I was only expecting a draw at best but to win... Simply amazing...