Home > Football & EPL

Gallas returns but Cesc made captain

• red_amoeba
    I think the culprit is Van Pussy. The other are all black, so they won't "insult" their own kind. He is super buay song this season liao becos he is out for so long, cannot find his form in terms of scoring and have to be pegged back by Walcott who is gem of the team. Super buay song.
  • zocoss

Gallas : We're not brave enough, says Arsenal skipper as he points finger at chief troublemaker.

You're a bunch of bottlers

CAN'T LOOK ... William Gallas reckons his team-mates have not got the stomach for a fight

In an amazing outburst certain to shock Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger, the whingeing captain questioned the heart of the youngsters around him. 

Now his position as skipper could be under threat, particularly as he also hinted that he could quit the club next summer if Arsenal fail to win the Premier League. The French defender, 31, said: “We have to understand that to be champions you have to play big matches every weekend and fight. 

"We are coming up against teams who are not scared to play football against us, who are not scared to take us on at our place, and this is becoming dangerous for Arsenal. 

“We are not brave enough in battle. I think we need to be soldiers. We have to be warriors. “There are teams who can do it well against us, we have to be able to face up to these attacks. “That is how they will forge their character and how they’ll get experience. 

“Even though they’ve played a certain number of matches, they’re still young and still learning.” The outspoken defender also believes the huge salaries of many of Arsenal’s kids could be holding them back.

And he questioned their hunger compared to the crew led by David Beckham that came through the ranks at Manchester United and had to wait for their big pay cheques. 

He said: “That makes the difference, perhaps. 

“You can rest on your laurels, that’s for sure. They can have the same success as United. “But the problem is that the Manchester United youngsters have been through something, they have won something.” 

Gallas spoke out because he insists “there are things that can’t be said and tolerated”. And the former Chelsea defender says he is fed up of taking criticism because he wears the captain’s armband.

Gallas is desperate to win something this season and admits that another campaign without silverware would be “a kind of failure”. 

Asked if he would leave the club if Arsenal do not win the title, Gallas kept his options open. He said: “We will have to see. We don’t know what will happen between here and then. 

“Four defeats is a lot but it’s a long season.

Who's the baddy? Eboue (below left) or Sagna (below right) could be the villain, but the leading candidate is Van

Who's the baddy? Eboue (below left) or Sagna (below right) could be the villain, but the leading candidate is Van Persie, who clashed with Gallas while the defender was at Chelsea (above)

Eboue, Sagna

• zocoss

Is Van Persie the troublemaker?

omg.png 

• red_amoeba
    one word - he is not fit to be the captain. A true captain does not air dirty linens in public especially such issues severely demoralise the squad. If as a captain, he cannot win the respect of the dressing room, he shld go. In times like this, he should rally his team and not openly criticise. Lead by example on the field - he is not that outstanding in any case - so shut the fu?k up and let your legs do the talking. Yah, please step down as captain lah...let Febregas or someone take over.
  • youyayu
    Originally posted by zocoss:

omg.png 

no wonder gunner77 support arsenal

icon_twisted.gif

• gunner77

omg.png 

icon_lol.gificon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

• gunner77
    Originally posted by youyayu:

no wonder gunner77 support arsenal

icon_twisted.gif

who says i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

i watch arsenal match means i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

i go arsenal forum means i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

• youyayu
    Originally posted by gunner77:

who says i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

i watch arsenal match means i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

i go arsenal forum means i support arsenal? icon_lol.gif

then

• gunner77
    Originally posted by youyayu:

then

sengkang punggol icon_lol.gif

• gigabyte14

then i think can buy man city already

• zocoss

You better don't rush in to buy City this weekend... You haven't heard their own problems meh?

EXCLUSIVE: Furious Hughes punishes rebels Ball and Hamann after latest mutiny

Mark Hughes

Hughes : Having a mutiny on his hands.

Mark Hughes has crushed the latest dressing-room unrest at Manchester City after it emerged two of his senior players refused to warm up in last Sunday’s 2-2 draw at Hull City.

Sportsmail can reveal that Dietmar Hamann and Michael Ball were ordered to play for Manchester City’s reserves on Tuesday night against Bolton after ignoring instructions to prepare to come on as substitutes at the KC Stadium.

Manager Hughes is furious with the pair and has yet to decide on further disciplinary action, following his crackdown on Jo and Elano. Sources at Hull said they were shocked when they observed the incident midway through the second half, but Hamann and Ball have yet to apologise for their behaviour.

City staff are stunned that two senior players, particularly 35-year-old Hamann, would react in such a manner and it is understood that their team-mates were appalled when they were told what had happened.

Hamann and Ball were ordered to warm up after Geovanni’s 60th-minute equaliser for Phil Brown’s team, but the Manchester City pair appeared reluctant to leave the bench.

They eventually brought on Brazilian striker Jo in place of Benjani after 75 minutes.

Jo is another player Hughes recently had to get tough with. He was fined after being spotted in a nightclub when he claimed he was sick.

Hamann’s attitude is also a problem for Hughes, but it is understood that the German is claiming he did not hear the instructions to warm up.

The midfielder had not started a first-team game since the defeat against Tottenham on November 9 but he was given a shock on Tuesday when he was ordered to play in the centre of City’s reserve midfield against Bolton.

Brazilian Elano was also fined recently by Hughes for comments he made on TV about his treatment by the club.

• SiMiLaiEh*

now players think they are bigger than their clubs

• kajagugu

But he will pay a heavy price for the added publicity, with Arsenal set to fine their French international centre-back a minimum of two weeks’ wages — around £180,000. 

wow, his wages so freaking high man. if the report is true, it would be around 90k pounds per week....

isn't arsenal the team who is stingy with their transfer and wage policies??

• omgukilledkenny

Ade backs Cesc for captain

Emmanuel Adebayor has told skysports.com that he believes Cesc Fabregas could captain Arsenal.

Fabregas has enjoyed a dramatic rise since he signed for the Gunners as a teenager from Barcelona in 2003.

The 21-year-old has already recorded over 200 appearances in an Arsenal shirt, netting 27 goals from midfield.

Adebayor, who has played alongside Fabregas for two years, has praised the diminutive schemer's character and has backed him to one day lead out his team-mates.

"He's got the character. He can be Arsenal captain in the future, for sure. He is a good person," the Togolese told skysports.com at the launch of FIFA 09 from EA SPORTS.

"He's one of the best midfielders in the world. I think everyone knows that. He's a very good player and he is enjoying himself at Arsenal."

• zocoss
    Originally posted by kajagugu:

wow, his wages so freaking high man. if the report is true, it would be around 90k pounds per week....

He is one of those "special case" on extra higher than the rest one...

• zocoss

Get out

WILLIAM GALLAS has been told he can leave Arsenal after a furious bust-up with boss Arsene Wenger. Wenger stripped defender Gallas of the captaincy in a sensational showdown yesterday. And he ordered the Frenchman to stay at home for today’s game at Manchester City. 

SunSport understands Gallas was “shocked and devastated” and is now considering his future. A close family member revealed: “Arsene told him ‘If you don’t want to be in my team then just go. You are free to leave’. William was shocked at the outburst and went straight home. 

“He’s had the captaincy taken away and has also been suspended from the team. “Of course, he’s totally devastated about what’s happened and is now wondering what to do next. 

Gallas, 31, stunned Wenger by revealing problems in the Arsenal dressing room. He claimed he had to break up a fight between Robin van Persie and Theo Walcott at half-time during the explosive 4-4 draw with Spurs last month. 

The defender also claimed there was a rat in the Emirates camp who everyone dislikes, thought to be Emmanuel Eboue. Our source, who asked not to be named, added: “William’s had big fall-outs with Nicklas Bendtner in the past and most recently he’s had a problem with Eboue. 

“He doesn’t mix with anyone in the club any more and is a bit of a loner. “He has no friends in the dressing room and feels his authority has been undermined.

“But the other Arsenal players seem to have short memories. “After all, one of the first things he did as captain was negotiate a better deal for the players’ win bonuses. 

“Under him, they went from earning a win bonus of £800 per game to £2,500. “That made him everyone’s friend at first. Now he has no friends.” 

One player said: “We were called into a team meeting and told William was not going to be captain for the match at City. “We are all very angry with William. But we were told we have to move on and forget about the captaincy. 

“But at the moment, there are a lot of problems at Arsenal.” 

Gunners chairman Peter Hill-Wood said: “Baring all these things in public is no help for anybody.”

• youyayu
    Originally posted by kajagugu:

not with france players

• I-like-flings(m)

Gallas: hey boy.. play better can or not?

Rat: uncle u play better urself first lah, knn talk so much....

I bet this is the insult he is talking about..

• limpper

cesc should the captain.