GIVEN: Furious at the Toon's humiliating 5-1 defeat against Liverpool
ARSENAL manager Arsene Wenger has tabled an £8million bid for Newcastle goalkeeper Shay Given in an effort to steal a march on rivals Tottenham.
Long-serving Republic of Ireland star Given, 32, was outstanding in Sunday’s humiliating 5-1 defeat by Liverpool and although Toon boss Joe Kinnear regards him as the best goalkeeper in the Premier League, he desperately needs funds to strengthen his injury-hit squad.
Kinnear has no idea how much money he will receive from owner Mike Ashley to raid the January transfer market and a cash deal or a swap involving Spurs defender Gareth Bale could tempt him to allow Given to leave St James’ Park.
Kinnear has a ready-made and capable understudy in Steve Harper, or he could make a move for Sheffield United’s Paddy Kenny, following his bitter fall-out with manager Kevin Blackwell.
Middlesbrough boss Gareth Southgate is also interested in Irishman Kenny, who was dropped by Blackwell for turning up late for training on Christmas Day.
Given is also less than happy, storming off the pitch after the Liverpool game, and he could well decide he has had enough propping up the Magpies defence for season after season.
Given moved to Tyneside 11 years ago from Blackburn and has played over 400 games for Newcastle, but the offer of Champions League football under Wenger could persuade him to make the switch to The Emirates.
Given is aware of Arsenal’s interest as well as Spurs’ and although he has been a loyal servant to the Magpies, he turns 33 in April and may feel it is the right time to take what could be the last big opportunity to come his way.
Wenger has been impressed by Given’s consistency and professionalism and even though he shipped five goals against Liverpool, his sterling efforts kept the league leaders from doubling that tally and earned him special praise from Steven Gerrard.
this news has been going on for so many years.
NUFC gonna sell their best player ?
Oh no!
time for him to go... he is too good for newcastle
Originally posted by gunner77:this news has been going on for so many years.
and i hope its finally true. he deserves better.
what will happen to almunia?
almunia say byebye lor
Wenger are u serious ?
It could have been 11 - 1 against Liverpool if not for Given's brilliance in front of goal...
ya i agree
shay given, brad friedel... the few brilliant goalkeepers in BPL..
Lolx when a team kena 6-2 5-1 or thrashed like siao the goalkeeper always take the credit not like Peter Cech kena blamed by a Brazilian Ah Pek
he is a fantastic goalkeeper.
i am shocked it took them so long to notice him.
I feel for this poor chap..let him go pls..
if wenger use 8m on given, then still got enough for ashivin anot?
oh goodness me! a 32 year old keeper for 8 million! that's crazy money! even cech at 32 years old is not worth so much. is wenger out of his mind, he should have spent that 8 million on craig gordon or victor valdes
cech only 20+
-.-
Er please, a goalie can easily perform up to 38 years old. (ask david seaman)
32 years old still have a good 6 years left in him, if not 4. 4 years is a long time in football, and it is not a waste of money.
hmmm asharvin, yaya toure and given?
i think Aw better have 35million in the pocket!
Originally posted by mrvictor:oh goodness me! a 32 year old keeper for 8 million! that's crazy money! even cech at 32 years old is not worth so much. is wenger out of his mind, he should have spent that 8 million on craig gordon or victor valdes
Cech is only 26! GKs usually have a very late retirement age and usually perform well till that late retirement age.
Given love newcastle..
but this time i think the management really piss him off
yeah, Newcastle does not deserve Given.
Hope to c Newcastle play C'ship football instead.
Originally posted by AEW5001:yeah, Newcastle does not deserve Given.
Hope to c Newcastle play C'ship football instead.
I hope Given Stay in Newcastle
and Newcastle wont go C ship de la
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB l0v3r:I hope Given Stay in Newcastle
and Newcastle wont go C ship de la
Given stay inside Newcastle for what? Suffer issit?
n frankly speaking, i c Newcastle as a alr fallen team.