keane should not even be in liverpool title fight squad
Now that Keane has returned, wonder who will feature in the first team?
Ideally one from Keane and Defoe and one from Pavlyuchenko and Bent, based on their style of play. But then Keane and Defoe has proven that they can play together too. Think Bent will be the last in the pecking order despite being their leading scorer this season.
Still can't forget his horrendous miss against portsmouth at white hart lane few weeks ago which cost them 3 pts.

Keane, 28, will train with his old Spurs pals today after scoring just seven times in 28 Reds games — a cost of £1.1MILLION per goal.
A total of 1,578 minutes on the pitch under manager Benitez since July cost £5,070 a minute.
Spurs boss Harry Redknapp said: “Robbie will make a massive impact. "He is full of enthusiasm which we need. I am delighted.”
Benitez is short of options in attack and his title chances could be blown apart if hitman Fernando Torres gets injured.
Meanwhile, Keane will be thrown straight into a derby against Arsenal. The fee for him could rise to £15m depending on his success at Spurs.
Keane said: “Some Spurs fans will feel I let them down by leaving but I can assure them I shall give my all.”
Redknapp swooped for Keane after £15m star Jermain Defoe picked up a stress fracture in his right foot in training. Defoe will have surgery today and is expected to be out for the season.
Like I said again... How ironic that Pool's last opponent in the league is Spurs...
Let's just imagine that Pool challenge for the title last till the last match and they need only to win to be champions and up come Robbie Keane to score the equalizer for Spurs and deny Pool their 1st title in like what, 20 yrs?
Oh my... Ah ben will have eggs all over his face... lol
Benitez better hope Torres can stay fit for the rest of the season. If he ever get inj again, look who Liverpool got left to challenge for the title. David Ngog? Dirk Kuyt? I think Benitez should have signed or loaned a replacement before allowing Keane to go back to spurs.
It would be interesting to watch the next Liverpool Spurs game. ![]()
Originally posted by zocoss:
Like I said again... How ironic that Pool's last opponent in the league is Spurs...
Let's just imagine that Pool challenge for the title last till the last match and they need only to win to be champions and up come Robbie Keane to score the equalizer for Spurs and deny Pool their 1st title in like what, 20 yrs?
Don't worry, this won't happen. However it might still be a crucial match that determine whether or not they can make it to champions league action next season.
Originally posted by zocoss:
as a liverpool fan, i kinda hope that happens.
sure we don't win the league but its all because of that man who was given a good player but used him badly.
Originally posted by Cristiano@Red_Devils.com:Now that Keane has returned, wonder who will feature in the first team?
Ideally one from Keane and Defoe and one from Pavlyuchenko and Bent, based on their style of play. But then Keane and Defoe has proven that they can play together too. Think Bent will be the last in the pecking order despite being their leading scorer this season.
Still can't forget his horrendous miss against portsmouth at white hart lane few weeks ago which cost them 3 pts.
very hard to cost a team 3 points, cos if never win also have draw... 2 points bah...
what if Tottenham got relegated, i think they will lose all their players and also their $$.
I honestly don't understand this whole episode... Pool fought really hard to get Keane, even got complaint or something from Spurs... Then when it finally got through after some very big money spent... 6 months down the road and this is the outcome of it all...
I personally feel that Keane was very unfortunately to be in this situation... Cos he is too good a player to be kick around and be treated this way... Rafa as a manager should have made the best used of him and not treated him this way...
For Rafa to add insult to injury is really uncalled for as if I remember correctly, it was Rafa's public pursuit of Keane that Spurs wanted to complaint to the Premier League over which they eventually dropped after Pool's donation to some Spurs charity fund and a big money payment that settled it...
but honestly speaking, Keane is not the kind of player that liverpool want.Strange is why Benitez bought him and dun use him might be due to his ineffective and blunder in front of goal.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:as a liverpool fan, i kinda hope that happens.
sure we don't win the league but its all because of that man who was given a good player but used him badly.
If you really want ah ben to get retribution for the way he treated Keane... Then the best thing would be for Torres to get a serious injury soon and watch him play David Ngog & Dirk Kuyt as his only cover striker... I think that would be more painful for Pool fans and they will be reminded every week when they see them take to the field...
I can't believe ah ben actually got rid of Keane without getting another decent cover striker...

Pool will have to pay Robbie $20k per week for the next 3 and a half yrs to make up his salary difference.
Robbie Keane's six month sojourn at Liverpool ended in dramatic fashion today as he braved the winter weather and dashed to White Hart Lane for a medical despite the two clubs having failed to reach an agreement.
But the i's were dotted and the t's crossed later as Spurs agreed to cancel their debt with Liverpool, some £10m and pay the Anfield club another £5m depending on appearances.
Effectively making the transfer fee £15m, or a six month loan deal that cost Liverpool £5m, depending on which way you look at the deal.
Keane's time at Liverpool did not go the way of the Dubliner's wanting, and despite giving his all for the club it quickly became apparant that Rafael Benitez did not want the Irishman, as exclusivley revealed in Bleacher Report last week.
His treatment of Keane can be compared to "the death of 1,000 cuts" as the striker was never really given a chance by the Liverpool maestro. During his 34 game career at Anfield, Keane started 23 times but only finished a full match five times. His league career was played 19 scored 5, an average of one goal in four games which is quite good for a player who was never helped by his manager.
The move to Spurs was first mentioned in mid December as Rafa made it clear for the first time that Robbie Keane did not figure in his plans. As Christmas came and went the two clubs danced with each other tentatively before Harry Redknapp set the ball rolling with his comments to Sky Sports on January 26th where he expressed an interest.
From then on it was only a formality that the two clubs should agree a fee, the main sticking point being Keane's wages which were doubled from £45k to £90k when he moved to Anfield. Liverpool are believed to have given in to Spurs demands to pay a portion of Keane's wages. He is understood to have taken a drop in wages to £70k per week with Liverpool picking up £20k.
Keane will be welcomed back to White Hart Lane with open arms by both Harry Redknapp and the Spurs faithful who feel he was never given a chance by Benitez and that he will be keen to show what he is made of.
Many Liverpool fans are understandably unhappy with Keane's forced exit and for the first time during his reign the fans at Liverpool are beginning to question his judgement and man management skills especially as Keane is seen as an innocent victim in Benitez's war with Chief Executive Rick Parry.
However the final consequences of this gamble have yet to be calculated, Benitez may have won this battle by forcing Keane out but he may lose the war if Liverpool do not win the league.
walau $8million for half a season....... can buy another decent defender leh... skrtel only cost 6.5$million... agger only 5.8$million... this stupid 8$million wasted la.
Somemore must pay $20k per week for the next 3 and a half yrs to make up his salary difference at Spurs...
$20k per week adds up to more than $1 million a season... 3 and a half yrs, $3.5 million liao... Wah, don't know why Liverpool want to do this kind of business also...
ya...waste $$ oli benitez..bring back kenny
add up all this can buy another xabi alonso (10.5$ million) le.. now the number 7 vancant again. so much hype over keane taking over the famous number 7 shirt. bahhhh.
I think the players that wear No.7 after Kenny must be real unlucky... Kewell, and now Keane... I wonder who will be Pool's next unlucky number 7. lol
Maybe Pool fans can help me fill up who else wore No. 7 after Kenny...
Ok got it liao... Peter Beardsley, Nigel Clough, Steve McManaman, Vladimir Smicer, Harry Kewell and Robbie Keane...
I think of the lot... Only Beardsley did reasonably ok, the rest... fail.
Till today, no one has brought it to the height of Kenny Dalglish since he wore it...
Nigel Clough, Steve McManaman, Vladimir Smicer, Harry Kewell, Robbie Keane
mcmanaman wasnt that bad..
Originally posted by morr:Nigel Clough, Steve McManaman, Vladimir Smicer, Harry Kewell, Robbie Keane
mcmanaman wasnt that bad..
But he wasn't that good also and he betrayed Pool when he refused to sign a new contract and left them for free... He cost them around $10 to $15m in lost transfer fee...
yea.. lol he went there then go downhill alr..
Originally posted by morr:yea.. lol he went there then go downhill alr..
Just like Owen too...
i think we all know (now) it is rick parry who brought keane in agst rafa's wishes. so, let's not crucify rafa on this...
i had wished keane to be successful but it was not to be, so this episode is water under the bridge, with him returning to spurs. this is a win-win move, imo. keeping him longer and letting him waste is probably not doing him justice (for he is not a bad player) and liverpool may not get the 15mill they got now. so, i think this is probably a good outcome for all given all the situation that presents itself. let's get a move on here....
finally, the season is not over, dun write off liverpool just yet. i agree it will be a tougher challenge chasing man u but it is not an impossibility.
WTF lolx From 15M to 17M then drop to 12M, Tottenham really know how to bargain lolx....