Super sub: Andre Ooijer celebrates David Dunn after scoring the winner for Blackburn
Substitute Andre Ooijer scored a dramatic late winner to ease Blackburn's fears of relegation from the Barclays Premier League.
Ooijer made no mistake from close range in the 87th minute after goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes failed to deal with a corner from El-Hadji Diouf.
Tottenham had opened the scoring through a Robbie Keane penalty but then had Wilson Palacios sent off and Benni McCarthy equalised.
Spurs were looking to build on their superb victory against Chelsea in their last outing. Relegation-threatened Blackburn showed one change from the team that drew with West Ham, Keith Andrews replacing Andre Ooijer.
Blackburn were looking to take advantage of the early kick-off and boost their league position for a couple of hours at least. However they do not have a good record against Tottenham having won just one of their last 10 meetings.
The visitors pushed forward in the eighth minute when Aaron Lennon tried to release Robbie Keane only for goalkeeper Paul Robinson to make the interception.
Tottenham were showing plenty of attacking intentions and Vedran Corluka cut into the area a minute later, only to send his effort wide of the post. They did not have long to wait, however, before making the breakthrough.
Referee Peter Walton awarded a penalty after French defender Gael Givet was adjudged to have handled a cross from Lennon and Robbie Keane took his tally for the season in club football to 10 goals when he scored with a cool 29th-minute penalty.
Blackburn boss Allardyce made an extraordinary change at half-time. He took off Jason Roberts, pushed central defender Christopher Samba into attack and brought on Ooijer.
Four minutes later the game took another dramatic twist with Tottenham midfielder Wilson Palacios sent off after collecting two yellow cards in the space of two minutes.
Blackburn took advantage and McCarthy scored his 11th goal of the season from close range in the 81st minute after being sent up by Samba.
Warnock's shot was turned over in the 87th minute by Gomes. But the goalkeeper failed to deal with Diouf's corner and Ooijer was on hand to score a dramatic winner.
Results
Saturday, 18 April 2009
Aston Villa 1 - 1 West Ham
Middlesbrough 0 - 0 Fulham
Portsmouth 1 - 0 Bolton
Stoke 1 - 0 Blackburn
Sunderland 1 - 0 Hull

Very exciting. Only in one match week, Hull are suddenly in danger of relegation.
Wah... Newcastle is being left behind liao... Way to go Toons... Lose tomorrow and soon we will see you in the League Championship... ![]()
lol..
Spurs 1- 0 Newcastle.

wolves is back in epl next season.
toons are going down down down
haiz Shearer should have make the team start at 4-3-3 formation -.-
the game has changed so much after martin and Viduka are bring off the bench
Shearer is an inexperience manager lah... Newcastle are in deep trouble...
I just wonder how come they even got him to do this job... Cos when Spurs were in trouble, they go get Harry... Blackburn were in very deep trouble and they go get Sam... Newcastle go and get a greenhorn... ![]()
Newcastle uplorry soon... ![]()
newcastle will get relegated. they really sucked big time.
viduka, smith, duff and many others are all flops. they spent more time on the injury list than on the field.
the team dont even have the spirit needed to fight relegation.
I believed thats the manager's job... He can't instil the spirit needed to fight relegation... and it could be he doesn't know how to... Cos in terms of players, they have many good ones in the squad... . But they don't seem to know what they are doing... Shearer wants to be a messiah like Keegan to the Toons... but I think he could end up taking them down instead... He is better at being a pundit at BBC than actually being a manager... lol
But there is still hope I guess... Cos Newcastle's run-in is much easier than some of the others... Their 3 home matches with Portsmouth, Boro and Fulham could still save them... Hull and Boro have a much more difficult run-in...
i hate to see newcastle go down.
they are a good club.
hopefully they avoid the drop and the current owner sells.
On the contrary, I'd like to see Newcastle go down, good reason to dump all the overpaid players.
where are the great TOONS ARMY?

Captain Jonathan Greening believes West Brom can win their last five matches in a bid to preserve their Premier League status.
The Baggies are propping up the table with a five-point deficit to second from bottom Newcastle with games running out.
Fellow relegation candidates Sunderland are next on the agenda for West Brom, this Saturday, and title-chasing Liverpool also lay in wait for Tony Mowbray’s side during the run-in.
It looks like a mission impossible on paper for West Brom to avoid an instant return to the Championship but Greening remains optimistic.
“We need to win all five games and we’ve got some difficult games as well,” Greening said on the club’s website.
“It’s still possible and we’ll give it every shot. As the gaffer said on Monday in training when he was trying to pick the boys up.
“If we give a good account of ourselves like we did on Sunday we’ve got a chance.
“Obviously it’s a very small chance but you never know in football.”
Mowbray says one of his roles as manager is to constantly improve players and Chris Brunt - who scored both goals in West Brom's 4-2 defeat against Manchester City on Sunday - is a case in point.
“I try to improve players and Chris is an example,” Mowbray also told the club’s website.
“He scored two at the weekend so he is higher profile at the moment – but Chris has still got a long way to go in his development.
“He is an international footballer but I see him now growing into the role we are asking of him."
lol
newcastle, west brom n hull...
bye bye to epl liao..

Jonas Gutierrez insists he has no regrets over joining Newcastle as he prepares to face a club he once wanted to join.
The Argentina international nearly joined Portsmouth last year but after the deal fell through Newcastle pounced for the winger.
Gutierrez, who joined from Real Mallorca, claims he is happy with life in the north east despite Newcastle’s precarious position in the league.
He told the Chronicle: “I have no regrets.
“I hoped I would have the chance to go to Portsmouth in January 2008 before I came here, but I am glad that I came here.
“The only worry is that we have five games and we have to win as many of them as possible.”
Gutierrez is determined to reproduce his early season form which saw him pick up the man-of-the-match award at Fratton Park – arguably his finest performance to date for Newcastle.
He still has the magnum of Champagne at home and he is planning a special celebration should The Magpies avoid the drop.
“I still have the Champagne. I didn’t drink it and it’s still at my home,” he said.
“If we stay up at the end of the season I am sure I will drink that Champagne.
“This is going to be my most important game for the club.
“We know exactly where we are so we must take three points. The training has been very good and everybody is prepared for the game with Portsmouth.
“All the players are aware of just how serious this situation is.”

Newcastle manager Alan Shearer has admitted that the game against Portsmouth at St James' Park on Monday is the biggest match of his life.
The Magpies' temporary boss has challenged his players to win their three remaining home games, starting with Pompey, to give them a fighting chance of survival.
The financial implications should the club succumb to the drop would be unthinkable, especially with Newcastle having one of the highest wage bills in the Premier League.
Newcastle currently sit second bottom, four points from safety, and Shearer has called for one of his players to make a name for themselves on Tyneside on Monday.
"It will be the most important game these players have played for Newcastle without a doubt and I suppose from my point of view as well, without question," he told the Daily Mirror.
"I've asked the players to give me three wins in our home games, including Middlesbrough and Fulham starting with Monday night.
"There's a chance for someone to go out and I wouldn't say be a hero - hopefully we will have 11, 12, 13 of those on Monday - but make people sit up and say maybe Newcastle are going to fight, Newcastle are going to scrap for everything.
"I can't afford to look beyond this game but there's a real opportunity for a group of players or an individual to make a real name for themselves so that in 10 or 15 years' time someone may be talking about them."
If Newcaslte Beat Portsmouth, Ok so i bet
18) Hull City - From Incredible Hull become Rotten Hulk
19) Boro - It time Dorwning get another Clubs le
20) West Brom - i dun think they good
Wolves are coming up, so WBA confirm going down one..
Always shit on the tesco carrier bag...
Newcastle: Harper, Beye, Coloccini, Bassong, Jose Enrique, Smith, Butt, Duff, Viduka, Martins, Owen.
Subs: Krul, Barton, Guthrie, Gutierrez, Lovenkrands, Edgar, Carroll.
Portsmouth: James, Johnson, Campbell, Distin, Hreidarsson, Davis, Belhadj, Hughes, Mullins, Nugent, Crouch.
Subs: Begovic, Pennant, Pamarot, Utaka, Cranie, Kanu, Basinas.
Referee: Mike Riley (Yorkshire)