Henry: believes that Ronaldo is the better footballer than Messi.
There has been an intense rivalry between Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi - or at least their supporters - of late. The debate raged as to which of them should be given the title of the best player in the world, with Ronaldo claiming the FIFA World Player of the Year award in January for last season's successes, as well as the Ballon d'Or.
What about next time? This term, the Portuguese star has found it hard to repeat such form and many are tipping the Argentina international to dethrone the Manchester United man.
But Thierry Henry, who played for eight years in the Premier League, believes that Ronaldo is the better footballer right now. "First of all, you have to take into account that Leo [Messi] and Cristiano Ronaldo are different players," he told Record. "For sure they can play on any position from the midfield up, they both have extraordinary technique, but they are different.
"And, if Messi is scoring more goals nowadays, Ronaldo is a player that has scored more and topped the scoring charts last season.
"Then, the greatness of a player is measured by the titles he has helped his team conquer. Therefore, I have to recognise that Cristiano Ronaldo is better than Leo Messi."
Still, Henry praised Messi, whom he considers to be a player who "can make the difference at any moment".
"When Messi is playing well, he can do things that no-one else can. "I honestly understand why there are those who compare him to Maradona but I repeat: at least right now, Cristiano Ronaldo is the best. In the future... we will see."
Early
Meanwhile, Henry stressed that it is early to judge whether this squad is Barcelona's best ever: "I am not the one to say that. In fact, I believe that, at this moment, no-one can say that.
"You can praise this team how much you want, you can talk about the numbers you want, but the truth is that we have not won anything yet."
The Frenchman also commented on the impact of Pep Guardiola, who was appointed as manager of the club in the summer and has made the club mount serious challenges for La Liga and the Champions League.
"Guardiola came with his ideas and conquered the dressing room. He made us believe that, if we followed him, we would win things. In return, he only asks for us to work."
true, in terms of creativity, i will say ronaldo is better
messi normally waits for defender to tackle him then he make his move in
ronaldo normally will approach the defender first, to try to cut into him before the defender tries to make any move
ronaldo cannot tahan spanish football
messi cannot tahan english football
maybe its something like that la
diff ppl diff skills la
Messi's dribbles are much better and effective than ronaldo's... simple and gets the job done... nothing fancy... ronaldo is more individual and better with his headers
Cristiano Ronaldo hit an absolute screamer to clinch victory for Manchester United in Porto and set up an all English semi final against Arsenal
It was the sort of match that would once have been portrayed as a moment for madcap risk-taking by Manchester United. Instead they went methodically about the business of becoming the first English club to beat Porto on their own ground in European competition. The statistic is no prize in itself and United were really intent on displaying their command after being held 2-2 at home.
The outcome is therapeutic for holders who are now in better shape to make a successful defence of the Champions League, even if they will have to deal with a reviving Arsenal in a semi-final whose first leg is at Old Trafford. United appear gradually to be regaining authority, and spectacle was confined last night to the remarkable long-range goal from Cristiano Ronaldo in the sixth minute.
Ronaldo has failed to scale the heights of last season’s Champions League form but he took less than six minutes to reassert his credentials as the world’s best player by producing a stunning goal out of nothing.
Ronaldo said: “That’s the best goal I’ve ever scored. I didn’t know it was from 40 yards and flew at 65 mph until I saw the television replay after the game. Wow! It was a fantastic strike.”
The Portuguese, stripped to the waist, was almost the last player to leave the field at full-time. This occasion in his homeland clearly had resonance for him, and Sir Alex Ferguson must have incorporated that factor in his scheming, since Ronaldo was given the key post of lone striker.
The champions of the world, the universe and everything now face Arsenal in what promises to be yet another cracker of an all-English European tie thanks to a quite incredible goal from the world's finest player.
He has scored great goals before, with just about every part of his anatomy, from just about every part of the pitch. But rarely has he unleashed a shot as breathtaking as the 40-yard rocket that flew past Helton in the sixth minute of this quarter-final second leg.
That United protected their advantage for the 84 minutes which then followed also amounted to quite an achievement. Strengthened by the return of the remarkable Rio Ferdinand, they contained a side who simply ran riot in the first leg at Old Trafford eight days earlier. In so doing, they became the first English side to conquer Porto in their own backyard.
Sir Alex Ferguson's men become the first English team to ever win a European Cup match in Porto
messi is better for me
Originally posted by -Hibari-:messi is better for me
I guess if Man Utd meet Barca in the finals it'll answer this question once and for all
wa, but the ronaldo goal
sibei zai
lolx henry say wrong
messi better than ronaldo
ronaldo way better than messi lah.
Can Ronaldo and Messi Play together?
Ronaldo is Right Winger Right? Whats Messi Best Position in 442?
Ronaldo is a different type of player to Messi lah. How to compare?
If Messi comes to EPL, he might not survive. But for Ronaldo, he is suited to play in any league.
In terms of adaptability, Ronaldo might have the upper hand compared to Messi.
Originally posted by pierre^^:Can Ronaldo and Messi Play together?
Ronaldo is Right Winger Right? Whats Messi Best Position in 442?
Messi plays on the right too, but cuts in to use his left foot.
he should say im da best striker ever
instead of saying who is better than who
Ok why not just scrap the question of who is the best...
Let judge them by one criteria only.
The trophies they won.
Period.
PS: U can be the most skilful and elegant player in the world but if u win nothing, u are just, nothing.
Be it Messi or Ronaldo, whoever wins the most trophies this season is the better player.
Of coz winning the champions league is the most impt, follow by their league, follow by the smaller cups.
Henry wants Ronaldo to become complacent, which is so very possible.