4 May 09, 21:40
    Originally posted by limpper:

im backing barce to win =)

you need repeat how many time..

knn see ur post i am starting to be si bei du lan liao

• omgukilledkenny
    4 May 09, 22:29

Barca deny Henry report

Barcelona have refuted reports that Thierry Henry is out of action for two weeks and stated that not only is he in the squad to face Chelsea, but he could play.

The Frenchman was the subject of claims that the knock on his knee that he suffered during the Blaugrana's historic win against Real Madrid would sideline him for two weeks.

Sport ran the report as their main story, but have since been forced to retract it and replace the news with confirmation that Henry is travelling to London.

Marca state that sources from within Barcelona have told them he is not out for two weeks and will be monitored ahead of the game at Stamford Bridge before undergoing a late fitness test.

It is a sudden turnaround from the earlier statement, because while he was kept quiet in the first leg against Chelsea, Henry showed what he can do against Madrid three days later.

After netting two goals in a superb display in the Bernabeu, Henry's absence would have been sorely noticed by the Catalan outfit and there was talk that Andres Iniesta would move up to the left side of attack.

Allied with an injury to Rafa Marquez and the suspension of Carles Puyol, coach Pep Guardiola would have had to shuffle his squad even further had Henry been ruled out.

• zocoss
    4 May 09, 23:14
    Originally posted by youyayu:

revenge is sweet right? icon_lol.gif

I have no doubt about that but... Doing the double is sweeter... Very Happy

If Chelsea gets through, I hope Ballack will play in the final... You know why... icon_lol.gif

• zocoss
    4 May 09, 23:56

Lionel Messi

• HyuugaNeji
    5 May 09, 00:04

I dont really think the thrashing of real madrid is really good at this time for barca. It may have been a great boost for them but there are side effects as well.

For one thing, they may become complacent. They must strictly remember that they are fighting a genius manager in guus hiddink and they are playing at stamford bridge.

• zocoss
    5 May 09, 10:36

Attack, attack, attack! We will outplay Chelsea bullies, insists Iniesta.

Sergio Ramos

Barcelona’s Iniesta (right) does not appear to hold back as he gets stuck into Real’s Sergio Ramos at the weekend

Barcelona arrive in London this afternoon, back on the attack and again calling on the football world to unite against Chelsea’s suffocating system.

The purists in Pep Guardiola’s side, which includes just about everyone who lined up in the first leg against Chelsea in the Nou Camp last Tuesday, believe their devotion to the beautiful game will be their pass to the Champions League final in Rome.

Andres Iniesta, one half of Spain’s dynamic central midfield partnership with club-mate Xavi Hernandez, promises that they will attack all night in the return leg, just as they did in the goalless draw last week and as they did to devastating effect in the 6-2 mauling of Real Madrid in the Bernabeu on Saturday.

According to Iniesta, Chelsea will be beaten by the beautiful game at Stamford Bridge, taken apart by the fearsome front line of Samuel Eto’o, Lionel Messi and Thierry Henry, should the former Arsenal striker come through a fitness test.

‘We will be thinking, “Attack, attack, attack”. That is the Barcelona way,’ claimed Iniesta.‘Chelsea play football the way they want to, and they have had success that way. But we will not play their game. 

‘It is hard to play beautiful football when the other team are not playing beautiful football themselves. We think beautiful football is the only way the game should be played. They play it very tough and have some tough players. I think the referee will need to have a good game so that we can play our flowing football.

'We can’t allow the way they approach a match to affect our approach. We will not compromise our system for any team in the world, and Chelsea are no different.’
    It was hard-hitting stuff from a player who was shocked by Chelsea’s negative tactics last Tuesday, the Londoners sitting back at the Nou Camp and inviting Barcelona to attack them in a stifling 0-0 draw.

Jose Bosingwa

Bosingwa: Kept Messi quiet in first leg

Guardiola’s team are the guardians of free-flowing football, an advanced version of Arsenal’s young team, capable of slicing teams apart with their exquisite touches on the edge of the area.

They believe they can overcome Chelsea’s bully-boy tactics, finding a way past the
    muscular presence of Frank Lampard, Michael Essien and Michael Ballack in the centre of their midfield and then leaving it to their attacking trio to conjure their way past the Stamford Bridge defence.

Iniesta added: ‘I made it quite clear I was unhappy with the first leg. Chelsea had their game-plan and realised that the way to stop us was to hit us hard. If that’s what they want to do then that’s fine. ‘We will not stop playing the way we do because, quite simply, beautiful football is the only game we know. We pass quickly, play with style and a flow. That’s how it will need to be if we are to beat Chelsea.’

To do it they will inevitably turn to Messi, the world player of the year in waiting. He was subdued by Jose Bosingwa’s solid performance at left back last week, but he came alive again in the Bernabeu on Saturday evening, scoring twice against Real.

He showed flashes of his creative genius against Chelsea, but Iniesta believes one
    moment of Messi magic can turn the tie in Barcelona’s favour tomorrow evening.

Iniesta said: ‘At the moment, all eyes are on Leo, and if he doesn’t have the best game of his life then people say so — and that is crazy when you consider what he has done this season.

‘He is the best player in the world and the pressure that comes with that will not get to him. He loves occasions like this because he can really lift his game.

‘With a player like Leo he doesn’t even need to have a good game to punish you. He can have one moment of genius and that’s a team finished before they even have time to understand what has happened.

‘Chelsea will try to keep him out of the way again, but that is not an easy thing to do, as many teams have found out this season.’

• zocoss
    5 May 09, 10:59

What happen to Ricardo Quaresma ah?

Ever since Guus took over, never see him already... Not even on the sub bench. Is he still at Chelsea or not?

• Aang
    5 May 09, 13:24

me backing for barca

• omgukilledkenny
    5 May 09, 17:19

Build up to the Match....

Chelsea could drop striker Nicolas Anelka back to the bench for their Champions League semi-final second leg against Barcelona on Wednesday.

Michael Ballack will return after being rested and Ashley Cole is back after being banned for the 0-0 first leg tie.

Barcelona's Thierry Henry sat out a training session on Monday with a knee problem and he is a doubt to recover in time to play at Stamford Bridge.

Barca are without the suspended Carles Puyol and the injured Rafael Marquez.

Uruguayan Martin Caceres could partner former Manchester United star Gerard Pique at the heart of Barca's defence.

Coach Pep Guardiola's other options include playing left-back Eric Abidal or midfielder Yaya Toure at the back.

• iceFatboy
    5 May 09, 19:55
    Originally posted by limpper:

if chelsea win, boring final again

it became exciting when Pool went out.. at least we won't see jokers with "rome" on their backs...

• popmynutsy
    5 May 09, 20:01

im looking for a man u barca champions league game. not a bpl man u chelsea game. :D

• Rock^Star
    5 May 09, 20:06
    Originally posted by zocoss:

For me, I will back Chelsea to win if United win on Tue... But if Arsenal win, then I back Barce lor... lol

hahaha thats cool. U just gave me an idea to do the same too.

• zocoss
    7 May 09, 16:44

BOSINGWA - REFEREE `WAS BOUGHT`

Drogba has a go at Ovrebo.
    Bosingwa brand referee was bought and a "thief" 

Chelsea's Jose Bosingwa has launched an attack on referee Tom Henning Ovrebo, branding the Norwegian a 'thief'. The Blues will not have the chance to gain revenge on Manchester United in this season's Champions League final after losing out to Barcelona on away goals. 

Andres Iniesta's stoppage time goal levelled Michael Essien's first-half goal and sent the Catalan side into the final to face United. But Chelsea were left fuming with Ovrebo's performance as they feel the referee failed to give them at least three clear-cut penalties. 

After the game, striker Didier Drogba could not control his emotions and called Ovrebo a "disgrace", and Bosingwa has now echoed the Ivorian's frustration. "This referee was bought. I do not know if he is a referee or a thief. There are no words to describe the person that was on the pitch here," he told RTP after the game. 

"The way he refereed the match was not the most correct one. He should never referee again. "We are all sad, but we have to raise our heads high again. There is nothing to say about Barcelona's goal, but there were penalties that were not awarded."

• youyayu
    7 May 09, 16:48

u see next season which referee not scared of chelsea i bow down to you!

• charlize
    7 May 09, 17:07

Now Chelsea will realise the importance of an away goal.

They should have opted to try to score an away goal in the first leg instead of playing so defensively then.

Haiz. icon_lol.gif

• limpper
    7 May 09, 17:10

good job barca thumbs_up.png

• Rock^Star
    7 May 09, 17:21

seriously, only 1 penalty appeal was valid: the pique handball and even that was 50-50.

Drogba being a frequent diver when under mourinho has the cheek to call the ref a fucking disgrace? haha. He ever admitted that it would be perfectly fine to go under the slightest of touches. This is to make the most out of a tackle. I wouldnt disagree with that but for these words to come out of his mouth is out of this world.

• charlize
    7 May 09, 17:23

To lose by a last minute goal always pisses the losing team off very much.

Let alone a CL semi final. 

But life goes on. icon_lol.gif

• youyayu
    7 May 09, 17:24
    Originally posted by charlize:

To lose by a last minute goal always pisses the losing team off very much.

Let alone a CL semi final. 

But life goes on. icon_lol.gif

i just hope during the time of terry/lampard they will be able to win 1..

• zocoss
    7 May 09, 18:46

Chelsea star Bosingwa claims refereeing conspiracy as Norwegian official receives death threats over Barca row

Michael Ballack confronts Tom Henning Ovrebo after the referee dismisses a penalty claim

Rage: Michael Ballack confronts Tom Henning Ovrebo after the referee dismisses a penalty claim

Jose Bosingwa has claimed a refereeing 'conspiracy' caused Chelsea's acrimonious Champions League semi-final exit at the hands of Barcelona.

'It seems he was told to be against Chelsea,' the Blues defender claimed in an interview with Portuguese broadcaster RTP.

'I do not know if he is a referee or a thief. There are no words to describe the person that was on the pitch here. 'The way he refereed the match was not the most correct one. He should never referee again. There is nothing to say about Barcelona's goal, but there were penalties that were not awarded.'

Didier Drogba launched a foul-mouthed tirade at the official at the final whistle of the 1-1 draw. He faces censure by UEFA, who will no doubt also be seeking explanation of Bosingwa's hint at a conspiracy against Chelsea and the call for Ovrebo to end his refereeing career.

The official was smuggled out of Britain under police guard this morning after a series of death threats. At the end of the match Ovrebo was the victim of abuse from Chelsea players and was forced to run from the tunnel to seek refuge on the pitch.

Police were so concerned about his safety that they changed his hotel before organising his secret exit from Britain.

Police in Ovrebo’s home city of Oslo said they were investigating threats made on the internet, which has been flooded with messages including the referee’s address and warnings that fans will 'hunt him' and 'kill him'.

An Oslo police spokesman said: 'We are watching closely what is being posted on the internet. Anything we believe would threaten his personal safety will be taken seriously.'

Former international referee and Sportsmail columnist Graham Poll said: 'This morning he’s being smuggled out of our country under police escort — this is a referee of a football match. That is a disgrace.

'When he booked in a hotel they had to change the hotel he was staying at because of the fear that maybe fans would find him.'

Chelsea star Frank Lampard takes issue with referee Tom Henning Ovrebo

Pointing the finger: Chelsea star Frank Lampard takes issue with referee Tom Henning Ovrebo

Poll blamed the players for stoking the fans’ anger. 'When you see players acting like that, fans are called fans because they are fanatics — they may feel it’s time to take action themselves,' he said.

He described Drogba and Ballack’s behaviour as 'a dreadful display of petulance', adding that stewards at Chelsea had failed to step in quickly enough to protect the referee. 'Players should show some restraint. They should show some respect.'

The campaign against Ovrebo has echoes of the case of Anders Frisk, a referee who faced a hate campaign after another Chelsea-Barcelona match.

Chelsea’s coach at the time, Jose Mourinho, accused him of  'adulterat­ing' the outcome of a match. Frisk eventually quit as a referee.

Chelsea internet fans’ forums posted Ovrebo's address and threats against him. On Facebook, several groups were created by this morning dedicated to abusing the referee, including one titled 'Kill Tom Henning Ovrebo'.

Anders Frisk was hounded out of the game

Flashback: Anders Frisk was hounded out of the game after criticism he received in refereeing Barcelona-Chelsea in 2005.

The creator of one group states: 'We group dedicated to the hunt for (and brutal murdering of) the second-leg champions league ref of Chelsea vs Barcelona.'

Mr Ovrebo was pursued into the players’ tunnel by Drogba and Ballack with the Ivorian hitting the wall with his fist as abuse was screamed at the official.The witness said one player shouted: 'Tell the world that UEFA didn’t want Chelsea in the final.' 

Ovrebo, 42, works as a psychologist outside football. In Euro 2008, the Ital­ian Football Federation demanded an apology from UEFA after he controversially ruled out a goal by Luca Toni in Italy’s match against Romania.

Afterwards, Ovrebo admitted he had made a mis­take and was not assigned any more tournament matches.

• jgho83
    7 May 09, 19:02

If I am the Chelsea players, I will probably give the referee many pieces of my mind too.

• Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1)
    7 May 09, 19:03

Lolx i see the Ballack face like Saying

WTF man fck u refree

• sand king
    7 May 09, 20:52
    Originally posted by zocoss:
    Michael Ballack confronts Tom Henning Ovrebo after the referee dismisses a penalty claim

Cool, a new dance routine?

• Crimsom
    7 May 09, 22:27

the ballack penalty is the worst penalty claim la.. he just wanna anyhow shoot on target then the eto' trying to use his back to block and the ball hit onto somewhere between the arms and the shoulder. also not deliberate handball.. then he still appeal till like that..

In epl this kind of claim sure turn down one.. he still behave like a mad dog.. dumbass

at least the pique handball more legitimate..

Prev Next
Home Privacy Terms