a lost is a lost.... ref dont always make the right decision, thus the call for video ref...
barcelona vs man utd...
Drogba is such an emotional man...
It's a shame that the result of an important match like this has to be decided by horrific refereeing decisions.
The ref should be banned and investigated, no question about it.
Ok here's my comments.. Phew I don't even know how to start!
First of all, congrats to Barca for making it to Rome. And I would applaud Chelsea's brave effort and quite a commendable defensive display to twart off one of Europe's best attacking sides.
Chelsea's strategy can be no other better way. Chelsea is not able to go attacking mode even if they want to because of Barca's persistent attacking and brilliant ball possession. Their plan was to absorb and contain Barca's attack, and hit off with a counter attack. It is a brilliant strategy to go against Barca and it is evident to see that Barca's defence is super exposed when Chelsea hit them with counter attacks. Chelsea should have nicked this game by scoring more in this manner.
But, I feel, their main letdown was Drogba. There is no doubt, Drogba is a solid football player. He got the size and strength to hold off defenders. What amazes me is that when he gets into the penalty area, all of a sudden he seems to lose this strength and goes down easily. And for goodness sake, don't be whiny bitch like Ronaldo. Get up and continue playing. Bloody lie down there until gameplay had to stop just for you, is really wtf. And Anelka was brilliant, giving him a gifted chance, a through ball, to get another goal for Chelsea, but he fluffed it. Chelsea really depended on him that night, and he disappoints. And whats up with the chasing of ref at the end of the game? Disgusting, disgrace, stupid. If you would had scored that gifted opportunity, you don't have to chase the ref already.
Chelsea's defence was organised and rock solid. Really tight for Barca to penetrate. Really commendable. And Essien's goal was a beauty no doubt.
As much as I felt Chelsea's pain to have been robbed because of ref's stupid decisions and also because they were 99.89% into the final but lost it very very late, there is no denying that over the 2 legs, Barca would have been deserving to go into the finals, and they did. Barca's passing and control of the ball is breathtaking. Iniesta is one godlike bastard. There is no other player deserving of that emotional winning goal. Huge huge respect for this guy. Messi couldn't do much although his ball control is damn sick. Daniel Alves is a brilliant player but very disappointed with his crosses. Barca's defence is super dodgy. There is a reason why Man Utd didn't really wana hold on to Pique. He is good but somehow, he and yaya toure was very weak and susceptible to counter attacks. They are lucky to have ref's dodgy decisions to go in their favour.
Ref was a stupid dude. But I dunoe whether to blame him or not. He was under huge pressure I guess. A lot of stupid decisions. WTF is the red card for seriously? Anelka tripped on his own didn't he? Pique's handball was bloody obvious, even though it wasn't intentional but 99% of the time, most refs would have given penalty. Similar to the 2nd handball incident. There was 2 times Drogba was so called "fouled" in the penalty area. But that one a bit controversial. I would not think those 2 were fouls. Drogba was just being a silly dick.
Very intensive game.
The final looks exciting after what we had seen with the 2 semi finals. I would expect Man Utd to adopt the same style as Chelsea. Typical English solid rock hard defence style. As mentioned by Arsene Wenger, Man Utd would have the art to finish off their opponents but then again, the likes of Evra and Oshea, I feel, would find it difficult to deal with Messi and Iniesta. Furthermore, we are missing out on Fletcher who could potentially disturb Iniesta's creativity. Hard for me to predict a winner cos it seems like it can go both ways. But whoever the winner is eventually, hopefully they would be deserving of the title and not robbed due to stupid refereeing decisions. But then again, thats football. Stupid refs are part of the game. LOL.
Sorry for the long post HAHA.. :D
i wonder how the referee get his license... but his decision is final... so gd luck for the winner...
Originally posted by brokenluv:quite obvious its very kelong. i think we can expect this ref to ''die'' soon
If we want to say it's "kelong", it's very hard to believe lah... Cos he sent off a Barce player when they were 1 - 0 down and still desperately chasing the game... That could have effectively killed Barcelona but Chelsea didn't take advantage of the situation I guess... If he really intent on kelonging... lol... He could have let Abidal stayed as his tackle wasn't really that bad... Sending him off certainly proved otherwise I guess... And what's with the 6, 7 mins of injury time?
If we look at the incident carefully, I can only see the Pique one where the ball hit his hand... It's a 50/50, some referee may give while some could viewed this as "ball to hand" rather than "hand to ball"... The rest I also agree with that guy on tv last night, whats his name... That Arsenal fan, that Drogba and Anelka were falling off too easily perhaps looking for a penalty...
End of the day, to me Chelsea paid the price for playing negative football... Barce down to 10 men, they took off their top striker and hiding behind... what more can you say about them...
I still cant believe that they are using referees for such multi million dollar matches (and the decisions that come along with it)
Honestly these referees are very prone to human error as history suggests. They should just all sit in an office and view the video replays which are 100% clear instread of relying on them running around the damn pitch out of tradition or what reasons.
no referees perfect.. unless u use computers lor
Originally posted by mrwonderful:I still cant believe that they are using referees for such multi million dollar matches (and the decisions that come along with it)
Honestly these referees are very prone to human error as history suggests. They should just all sit in an office and view the video replays which are 100% clear instread of relying on them running around the damn pitch out of tradition or what reasons.
i guess its part of the beautiful game.. human interaction is what makes it beautiful i guess haha.. just like life, theres shit moments, unfair moments, and it still makes life beautiful lawls.. if not play Xbox lor.. everything all computerized lawls..
This game is over, they are now out...
Well, at least the 2 losers get a chance for a "3rd place" playoff this Sunday...
How appropriate... we have a "3rd place" playoff this year right after the semis... ![]()
vs 
Arsenal v Chelsea (11.00)
Sunday 10 May
I wonder who will be more angrier of the 2...
it looks like e ref has lots of explaining to do le..
Originally posted by zocoss:This game is over, they are now out...
Well, at least the 2 losers get a chance for a "3rd place" playoff this Sunday...
How appropriate... we have a "3rd place" playoff this year right after the semis...
vs
Sunday 10 May
ltr the same referee from this match...
chelsea still playing a bit negative after leading 1-0 .
they interested only holding the ball .
Retribution for play super negative football At The Nou Camp .
Yahya Toure , brother of Kolo Toure of Arsenal , played very well ...
Instrucmental in controlling his fella Ivory Coast team mates Drogba .
Barcelona , if got Theirry Henry , Carlos Puyol .
What wil happened ?
Iniesta really played well , on the left side .
MArvellous .
The coming Final ....
Barcelona my pick for the Champions of Europe !!!
Originally posted by zocoss:This game is over, they are now out...
How appropriate... we have a "3rd place" playoff this year right after the semis...
vs
Sunday 10 May
Arsenal shouldn't be angry. They lost because of Man United's goal, which was scored quite well. Even Park's goal is due to their mistakes.
Chelsea should be angry, cos of the referee. If the referee do his good nicely, and they still lose, they won't be so dulan. It is because the referee never do the job properly, AND they lost, so is dulan.
This ref sure kanna death threats. Maybe gotta retire early like this Mr Anders Frisk.
Remember another clash between Barca and Chelsea.
Frisk sent Drogba off. Then Mourinho accused him of kelong with Rijkaard during half time. ![]()

Next time no ref wanna officiate the game between these 2 sides liao la. so stressful. ![]()
iniesta and xavi always start the attack from midfield...
Do not let anyone tell you the best team won. Do not let anyone say that football was the victor here. Barcelona may yet grace the Champions League final, they may yet dazzle this competition with a beautiful game, but this was not one of them.
They swung a boot. Swung a boot and got lucky. Swung a boot and, somehow, eliminated a Chelsea team that were superior on the night and deserved a rematch with Manchester United in Rome.
Andres Iniesta’s equalising goal in the third minute of injury time was a fine shot, a killer blow, timed and directed to perfection but for Barcelona it was also the last roll of the dice.
Full credit to them for never giving up, for sticking to their principles even when reduced to 10 men, but having promised to outplay Chelsea and demonstrate their status as superior footballers and rightful kings of Europe, they did nothing of the sort.
Lionel Messi was ineffective and largely anonymous by his standards. Samuel Eto’o was shut out of the game by John Terry, whose fate was, perhaps, harshest of all after his agonising penalty shootout miss in Moscow last year.
Chelsea should have had three, maybe four, penalties; they should have been home free long before Iniesta’s fateful intervention. That they were not was considered the work of referee Tom Henning Ovrebo, from Norway, whose interpretations of several contentious incidents were bizarre to say the least.
He judged fouls made inside the area to be outside, the ball was handled and he waved play on, and as the game unfolded those with a sense of portent began to fear that calamity loomed.
When it did it led, predictably, to an outpouring of impotent fury. Didier Drogba was the most spectacular offender and will not have heard the last of his expletive-spattered outburst but, one feels, when Chelsea’s players get in front of the microphones over the next few days, neither will UEFA.
X-rated: Drogba is restrained by Guus Hiddink during his outburst
Drogba’s brief address to camera was a brutal précis of the wilder conspiracy theories that will be doing the rounds, but the problem when Barclays Premier League football, and its elite clubs, are so often singled out by UEFA as undesirable, is that it gives some folk ideas.
What must be hoped now is that Barcelona justify the hype in Rome. That they give the Champions League final the match they keep talking about but, over two legs, failed to deliver.
Barcelona were the superior
side at the Nou Camp, but here, while Chelsea’s game was
counter-attacking, rather than expansive, it was the home team that
consistently
looked likely to score.
Petr Cech barely had a save to make in Chelsea’s goal. Barcelona lost to Manchester United in the semi-final last season, and they will lose again if they play like this.
The cutting edge that Manchester United demonstrated at the Emirates Stadium on Tuesday night was by far the most impressive performance of the four semi-final ties.
Some will argue that what happened at Stamford Bridge was first-leg karma. Hardly. Chelsea were not fortunate in the Nou Camp, they were just not pretty enough for purist sensibilities. Neither were Barcelona last night, but they got away with it.
They got away despite a red card for Eric Abidal and a yellow for Dani Alves which put them out of the final.
It is a pity, as Alves is arguably the finest full back in the world right now, but he will hardly attract the same pity as Darren Fletcher. Alves has the worst Champions League disciplinary record of any player in the last four, further proof that the best teams, without exception, know how to mix it as well as play it.
The positives? The best teams in Europe are in the final. Placing this one match to the side for a moment, it cannot be denied that over the campaign Manchester United and Barcelona are the clubs that deserve to be going to Rome.
If they both arrive in the right spirit — and Barcelona at least know no other way but to attack — this could be a classic.
It will certainly be the most eagerly awaited final in recent years, with delicious battles all over the field, not least the coming together of the world’s finest footballers, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.
Manchester United will be hoping that Ronaldo’s defining performance did not come against Arsenal on Tuesday; Barcelona that Messi does not have another Champions League game as underwhelming as his last two.
If anything, Chelsea’s defeat — the first time an English team has fallen to foreign opposition since Liverpool were defeated by AC Milan in the 2007 final — serves
further
to highlight Manchester United’s incredible achievement in becoming the
first team since Valencia in 2001 to return to the final.
That the vagaries of ill-fortune as well as the best teams in Europe stand in the way reveals Sir Alex Ferguson’s players to be exceptional.
If
they succeed in overcoming a Barcelona team on course to rewrite the
record books in Spain, and become the only team to retain Handballs,
fouls and a late swing
of the boot do the job for Barca the European
crown in its Champions League format, it will be hard to argue against
them as the greatest of all time.
Maybe, then, it is for the best that there is not a repeat of last year’s final.
Maybe it is for the best that English football does not turn the Champions League final into its 39th game.
At Stamford Bridge last night, however, that sort of rationalisation was for another time. As the stadium emptied, it did not feel right, it did not feel just.
We knew that the better team was going to Rome; but the best team lost.
In summary of the match,
- Chelsea looked the more lively one in attack.
- Essien's strike was exquisite!
- Messi & Eto'o was subdued.
- Alves' delivery from the right wing was shitty. Plus he got his butt kicked out of the final with his yellow card.
- Abidal was just plain suay.
- The referee was a pro-Barcelona fan.
- Didier Drogba got a yellow card even after the match was over. And his outburst was even funnier! ROFLMAO!!!
In my opinion, none of the penalty appeals by chelsea is valid starting from the first one:
1) malouda was hindered on the ball and he went down very easily. He was impeded though and should have had an indirect free kick.
2) abidal made slight contact with drogba, the first contact, he didnt go down. the second contact, which was also light was not sufficient to bring a strong player like drogba down. By that time, the ball had already moved into victor valdes's safe zone and drogba went down too easily.
3) before anelka fired his shot, pique's right hand was already halfway up to get his balance while tracking back. anelka saw that and he shot towards his hand...it was pretty obvious as he wasn't shooting in the goal's direction.
4) when ballack smashed his last min shot, it was unfortunately right at eto'o's face and he used the his arm to block. Nothing wrong if u wana protect ur life. doesnt mean that every ball which touches the hand or arm has to be a penalty. the intent is extremely important.
But the ref really corked up by sending abidal off for that tangle with anelka.
Lolx Gratz Bar
So drogba zai kia
Arsenal VS Chelsea
I hope Arsenal Win
of the two sides, chelsea is far superior in my opinion. Pass the ball well, play the containment game, defend superbly and of course physically more powerful. Too bad, they paid for the negative play in the first leg.
man u can learn a few lessons from these 2 legs.
1) messi can be stifled. but give him space and look at the assist he provided for iniesta
2) their defence is prone to lapses during sieges around the box
3) their defence's concentration is suspect as they will leave the odd player here and there unmarked
It seems to me that Barca's defence is actually their attack. 147 goals so far..this statistic glosses over the frailties in their defence.
I'm pretty sure if man u play to their best, they can retain the cup.