Guys, we know that England, Spain and Italy are the top 3 leagues in Europe and I've just realised something in the top scorers in the league.
Italian League(Serie A)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic 21
Marco Di Vaio 21
Alberto Diego Milito 19
Alberto Gilardino 18
Kaka 15
Spanish League(La Liga)
Samuel Eto'o 27
Diego Forlan 25
David Villa 25
Lionel Messi 23
Thiery Henry 19
English League(EPL)
Cristiano Ronaldo 17
Nicolas Anelka 16
Robinho 14
Steven Gerrard 13
Fernando Torres 13
I don't understand how come is the EPL lagging behind so badly this season, even EPL's current top scorer, Ronaldo with 17 goals, is behind La Liga's 5th place top scorer, Henry with 19 goals. Hell, even the so called, uber defensive Serie A, has 4 players scoring more goals than EPL's top scorer.
What has gone wrong this season? Although I'd still rate EPL the best league at the moment, has EPL gone too defensive? Or is it a matter of goals being widely spreaded amongst the team?
Just my 2cents worth of words guys, hope you hear some inputs fellas.
Cheers.
er.. please leh.
EPL defence is one of the strongest. you think want score jiu score?
cause, england top4 uses play team as an attacking options, so the goals gathered will be spreaded among teammates, unlike other leagues mah
I think one of the reason could be that the standards of the lower tier teams vs their top teams are wider than compared to the EPL.
In the EPL, even the top 4 teams might just win most of their games against their lower opposition by just 1 goal. Hence, scoring goals is probably harder.
Whereas in the other leagues, the classy teams might be more likely to win by 2 goals or more against their lower opponents.
Just a theory.
Unless someone can be bothered to do a study and compile the stats for the past few years in the various leagues.![]()
Other leauges have sucky lower teams, thats why the amount of goals. EPL got strong lower teams.
You never compile the topscorers for the Dutch league ah? That i wanna see
ibrahimovic is one solid player man ![]()
BPL's defence is one of the best in the world.. it is not easy to score.. and yah ibrahimovich is good lawls.. but look at the la liga.. barca's attacking trio inside the top scorer lists.. damn ownage..
cannot compare BPL to spanise league one...
E.G. Diego Forlan
Originally posted by gunner77:ibrahimovic is one solid player man
Agreed!
Originally posted by Patrik:
Agreed!
well, is he? he seems only good in serieA.. I believe his record in UCL is dismal..
Originally posted by charlize:I think one of the reason could be that the standards of the lower tier teams vs their top teams are wider than compared to the EPL.
In the EPL, even the top 4 teams might just win most of their games against their lower opposition by just 1 goal. Hence, scoring goals is probably harder.
Whereas in the other leagues, the classy teams might be more likely to win by 2 goals or more against their lower opponents.
Just a theory.
Unless someone can be bothered to do a study and compile the stats for the past few years in the various leagues.
agreed, added the fact, some EPL teams do park their bus whenever they visit the top teams.. hence, this restrict scoring.
henry pro... he at EPL or La Liga oso can score...
Ibrahimovich will not be a top scorer in England...
who is that Di Vaio sia
I think cos their attacking is better + defence weaker.
look at barca vs real. 1 game 8 goals le.
Originally posted by Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1):who is that Di Vaio sia
lol marco di vaio quite ol skool player sia lawls..
Ibrahimovic disappears in big games.
I rmb there was a statistic on this. ![]()
Hmm but guys last season's stats are way different, with EPL leading the scoresheet.
English League(EPL)
Cristiano Ronaldo 31
Emmanuel Adebayor 24
Fernando Torres 24
Roque Santa Cruz 19
Dimitar Berbatov 15
Spanish
League(La Liga)
Daniel Güiza 27
Luis Fabiano 24
Sergio Leonel Aguero 19
Raúl 18
Nihat Kahveci 18
Italian League(Serie A)
Alessandro Del Piero 21
David Trezeguet 20
Marco Borriello 19
Zlatan Ibrahimovic 17
Adrian Mutu 17
We can see that EPL dominates the top scorers, especially at the top 3 scorers. Serie A is lagging behind while La Liga is slightly behind EPL.
Is it safe to say that this season, EPL teams have been concentrating on their defense? Or more of Italian/Spanish teams being more creative and concentrate on their attack?
Or is it just a case of Ronaldo, Torres and Adebayor hitting form last season but failing to reproduce such form this season?