The Spurs board sanctioned an £18m move for the Argie striker, whose loan at Manchester United ends this summer.
But they were blown away when the Tevez camp revealed Liverpool are ready to offer the £26m asking fee AND a staggering £160,000-a-week three-year deal — worth £8.3m-a-year.
United insist they still want to cut a deal with Tevez, who is loaned to them by his owner Kia Joorabchian.
Although they are refusing to pay Joorabchian’s current asking price, United would be sickened if he switched to bitter rivals Liverpool — a move which would also infuriate Old Trafford fans.
But unsettled striker Tevez, 25, revealed in SunSport last week that he would join Liverpool if they made a bid.
A source close to the deal told SunSport: “It seems amazing that Liverpool have the money to do this when you consider their owners are looking for funds.
“But Spurs were told that Liverpool were going to get the deal done and that Tevez was very happy about it.”
Tevez’s Argentine pal Javier Mascherano moved to Liverpool after a Joorabchian deal.
pool enjoy paying huge sums for shits
I would wish to see the transfer to go through for Liverpool.. Go Benitez Go!!
Liverpool should consider berbatov....
Where can Liverpool get the money from?
It's either the press looking for a news or the Tevez camp pressuring Manure to sign him!
lolx liverpool become Man City lia0?
post deleted
since when liverpool so much money? ![]()
can't even buy barry
Originally posted by MarkNKL:I would have thought 20mil maybe 25 max for this guy... but 50 is just ridiculous lah
$50m is the total sum... Including counting his 3 yrs salary...
Maybe Rafa just trying to pissed Fergie off so buy him leh? lol
Spurs - 18mil
Pool - 26mil
Madrid/City - Unknown $
I hope if he comes to Chelsea, we won't hv to spend anything above 20mil.
Hardworking guy + "handball" specialist. (we could use one!)
Originally posted by kopiosatu:since when liverpool so much money?
can't even buy barry
Since the 2 Americans came lor... Barry was depend on Alonso being sold... But no takers so no Barry lor... last season they spent about $40m leh... So why cannot...
It is said that Pool or Rafa will have $30m for new players next season... Plus the amount he will get for selling Ryan Babel, Dossena, Lucas and Alonso leh... We are looking at a possibility of $30 + $35 million... Total budget $65m to splash...
can only say... rubbish. why pay 50 million when 30 million will do? and with the 6+5 rule to be implemented the season after next, the value of tevez will drop further loh. the owners is obviously trying to inflate the price. Let them inflate loh, than can scare away the other bidders.....
The owners are looking for $26m... Not $50...
Just like Robinho cost $32 or $34m but... His total deal would come up to $70 over million after counting his $160k per week salary and 5 yrs contract...
uhm Pool to splash £50m for Tevez??
uhm really is impossible le.. haa
If Liverpool want him, I say let them have him... Cos it may prove to be more problematic than good... Why I say this is, Tevez would take a huge slice off their transfer budget... But more importantly, where is he going to play? Put him along side Torres then Gerrard move back to his old spot?
Not a smart move cos Rafa has already wasted many years trying Gerrard out on the left wing, then right wing and centre midfield... This season, Gerrard has shown his best is the free role behind Torres with Mash and Alonso doing the defensive job. But if you move Gerrard back there, then one of them have to sit on the bench... But Gerrard may leave them explse cos he likes to go forward... Play Gerrard on the left again, it would be wasting his talent...
But if they keep Tevez too long on the bench, he won't be happy too and may end up being a disruptive force in the squad... And given that Mash is his good friend, may get effected easier...
So, I don't see it as a good deal for Pool, They should get another decent striker who is willing to sit on the bench better than that N'gon or something and another strong midfielder... a perhaps another left winger if they sell that dutch guy...
Originally posted by zocoss:If Liverpool want him, I say let them have him... Cos it may prove to be more problematic than good... Why I say this is, Tevez would take a huge slice off their transfer budget... But more importantly, where is he going to play? Put him along side Torres then Gerrard move back to his old spot?
Not a smart move cos Rafa has already wasted many years trying Gerrard out on the left wing, then right wing and centre midfield... This season, Gerrard has shown his best is the free role behind Torres with Mash and Alonso doing the defensive job. But if you move Gerrard back there, then one of them have to sit on the bench... But Gerrard may leave them explse cos he likes to go forward... Play Gerrard on the left again, it would be wasting his talent...
But if they keep Tevez too long on the bench, he won't be happy too and may end up being a disruptive force in the squad... And given that Mash is his good friend, may get effected easier...
So, I don't see it as a good deal for Pool, They should get another decent striker who is willing to sit on the bench better than that N'gon or something and another strong midfielder... a perhaps another left winger if they sell that dutch guy...
The forward pairing of Torres and Gerrard is untouchable (when both of them fit though)...someone in the middle who can score goals is what Rafa needs...
this is so not true, i dont believe it at all
Originally posted by palachan:Spurs - 18mil
Pool - 26mil
Madrid/City - Unknown $
I hope if he comes to Chelsea, we won't hv to spend anything above 20mil.
Hardworking guy + "handball" specialist. (we could use one!)
sure or not?
i mean, hey! Terry was voted best goalie 2 seasons ago ![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:
sure or not?i mean, hey! Terry was voted best goalie 2 seasons ago
lol.. wth...
$ fell from e sky![]()
and benitez is complaining he no money? nice joke.
Originally posted by emman-7-:and benitez is complaining he no money? nice joke.
Don't trust the media blindly...
Why you all can't understand meh... Not $50m lah...
Transfer fee asking : $26m...
The rest is salary over 3, 4 yrs... Like Torres on $5 or $6m a year five yrs contract would be like $25m to $30m more on top of his transfer fee of $20m lor...
Originally posted by zocoss:Why you all can't understand meh... Not $50m lah...
Transfer fee asking : $26m...
The rest is salary over 3, 4 yrs... Like Torres on $5 or $6m a year five yrs contract would be like $25m to $30m more on top of his transfer fee of $20m lor...
i understand