Manchester City have signed Aston Villa midfielder Gareth Barry in a £12m deal.
The 28-year-old is Manchester City's first summer signing, and has penned a five-year deal at the City of Manchester Stadium.
Barry
had been expected by some to sign for Liverpool this summer, but has
opted for Eastlands despite the Citizens' failure to attain European
football for 2009-10.
The England international is expected to
line up alongside Steven Ireland in City's midfield, having already
become acquainted with the club today during his medical.
City
spent more than any other Premier League club last season, and have
begun this summer in similar fashion, making a "clear signal of intent"
heading into the transfer window.
Barry is a member of Fabio Capello's England squad to meet Kazakhstan this weekend.
i think city cant make it.
head over heart...
(again) the lure of money clouds all judgement
no loss for liverpool though.
roflmao sia this club lolx.. i googled for the squad.. look at this..
9 Strikers:
Bojinov, Robinho, Vassell, Jo, Caicedo, Benjani, Bellamy, Ched Evans, Daniel Sturridge
11 Midfielders:
Ireland, SWP, Elano, Petrov, Barry, Michael Johnson, Hamann, De Jong, Gelson Fernandes, Vladimir Weiss, Kelvin Etuhu
12 Defenders:
Richards, Michael Ball, Kompany, Ben Haim, Dunne, Wayne Bridge, Zabaleta, Danny Mills, Nedum Onuoho, Javier Garrido, Shaleum Logan, Glauber
3 GK:
Joe Hart, Kasper Schmeichel, Shay Given
wtf sia.. the squad depth if look at recognizable players, even better than arsenal sia but not performing.. i take this team bring inside FM confirm can win even the champions league.. lmao.. wtf.. they should revamp their training facilities and backroom staff lah.. This squad should be enough to at least challenge for League Cup sia.. wtf they all doing.. 3 quality keepers smore.. wtf..
Lolx Gratz a Noob Player signing for a Noob but Rich Clubs ![]()
Just like my FM....Gareth Barry left my FM-Villa for Man City.
But it was a 20m deal. ![]()
Hmm with Robinho, De Jong, Ireland, SWP/Elano
Wheres Barry's slot for first team XI? LB? or replacing Ireland who did a good job?
lolx 20M deal
seem like City is aiming for a Place in UCL but that not going to happen unless they gt a new formation ![]()
Tot he wanted to play CL football? He will not have a chance anymore at City. They will need at least 5 years to knock the big 4 out, especially if Mark Hughes stays as their manager...
looking at the latest transfer. I think Man City going to bring in a few more surprise signing before July. Barry is one and the next could be David Villa, and then Tevex..
With strong finances backing, Man city could be realli a threat next season.
next season, i expect city to at least get a euro league placing easily.. in fact, they should get 5th position easily. FA cup and League Cup, they should be able to challenge all the way for these 2.. at least semis..
damn shiok lah the team..
i would play 4-3-3
Given
Richards, Dunne, Ben Haim, Bridge
Barry, Ireland, De Jong
SWP, Jo, Robinho
Still got bellamy, bojinov, benjani, vassell waiting sia..
all they need is to get their pre-season training really solid..
Gareth Barry in action against his new club Manchester City in March
Manchester City began a summer of unprecedented transfer spending with the £12million capture of Gareth Barry from Aston Villa - and are increasingly confident of signing Carlos Tevez.
City moved quickly to take Barry, 28, to Eastlands on a staggering basic salary of around £130,000 a week after first making contact on Monday night and the England midfielder had a medical in London on Tuesday after agreeing a five-year contract.
And it is understood that City manager Mark Hughes is confident of persuading Argentina forward Tevez, 25, to move across Manchester from United, while he has also made some progress on signing centre half Joleon Lescott from Everton and former Old Trafford striker Diego Forlan from Atletico Madrid.
City’s move to sign Barry comes after Liverpool’s failure to come up with the money to get his signature and not only emphasises the financial restrictions endured by Rafael Benitez at Anfield but also the enormous wealth enjoyed by a club who cannot yet even offer their new player European football.
Gareth Barry is leaving Aston Villa for Manchester City
At City he will be among the club’s top earners - with Brazilian Robinho way out in front with £160,000 a week - but it is understood he has been attracted not only by the lucrative financial terms but also by the promise of a summer of top-name signings.
And the England midfielder insisted last night that money was not the motivation for his move to Eastlands. ‘It didn’t take much persuasion from Mark Hughes. They are heading in the direction I want to go,’ he said. ‘There is great potential here, and I’m sure there will be a few more additions to the squad this summer.’
Hughes met City’s owners in Abu Dhabi last week and was given the go-ahead to spend big. Moves for players of the calibre of Valencia’s David Villa are back on the agenda.
Sources close to Barry have indicated that Hughes was ‘almost certain’ to sign Tevez, even though the official stance from City was merely that they remained confident.
Tevez’s representative Kia Joorabchian is due for a final round of talks with United chief executive David Gill on Wednesday morning as the Premier League champions try to persuade the Argentine to make his two-year loan residency permanent.
It is understood that Tevez himself is very attracted to the prospect of a move to City. He is keen on the opportunity for a central role again rather than being the peripheral figure he has sometimes been at United.

Barry trained with his England colleagues on Tuesday morning before Saturday’s World Cup qualifier in Kazakhstan.
But he was quickly rushed to a medical with the England team doctor at the Grove Hotel as City executive chairman Garry Cook, who was in attendance, tied up the deal with Villa.
Barry’s decision to go to City leaves Liverpool in a quandary over Xabi Alonso. Real Madrid are keen on the Spaniard but Benitez does not want him to leave until he has a replacement.
Lmao. Why the f*** does Man City need so many strikers? Amazing. At the rate Man City is buying or intending to buy players right now, if Man City still don't perform next season, his head is gonna roll.
I think many Pool fans will not agree but I believe he made the right choice... Cos City will be the club to be next season, and a few after that...
Villa can't offer him much next year and they won't stand a chance for the top 4. ..
City on the other hand, could be a different side altogether next season...
They have a better chance at the title than Villa... and maybe even Pool, depends on who else they are going to bring in...
Going there of course there will be some who will accuse him of being greedy for the money... But hey, $130k per week compare to Pool's $80k on offer... really no fight... $50k extra every week and $200k extra every month... who don't want? Even Kaka left Milan for Real liao...
And he will get to play infront of a crowd of 60,000 every week compare to the 40 plus at Anfield.
Overall, a smart move by Barry... But he have to thank Rafa for making his name so hot in the first place... lol
Originally posted by zocoss:I think many Pool fans will not agree but I believe he made the right choice... Cos City will be the club to be next season, a few after that...
Villa can't offer him much next year and they won't stand a chance for the top 4. ..
City on the other hand, could be a different side altogether next season...
They have a better chance at the title than Villa... and maybe even Pool, depends on who else they are going to bring in...
Going there of course there will be some who will accuse him of being greedy for the money... But hey, $130k per week compare to Pool's $80k on offer... really no fight... $50k extra every week and $200k extra every month... who don't want? Even Kaka left Milan for Real liao...
And he will get to play infront of a crowd of 60,000 every week compare to the 40 plus at Anfield.
Overall, a smart move by Barry... But he have to thank Rafa for making his name so hot in the first place... lol
it's confirmed news that Kaka leaving for Real? Thought it's just rumours by the Spanish press?
Originally posted by dinky1409:roflmao sia this club lolx.. i googled for the squad.. look at this..
9 Strikers:
Bojinov, Robinho, Vassell, Jo, Caicedo, Benjani, Bellamy, Ched Evans, Daniel Sturridge
11 Midfielders:
Ireland, SWP, Elano, Petrov, Barry, Michael Johnson, Hamann, De Jong, Gelson Fernandes, Vladimir Weiss, Kelvin Etuhu
12 Defenders:
Richards, Michael Ball, Kompany, Ben Haim, Dunne, Wayne Bridge, Zabaleta, Danny Mills, Nedum Onuoho, Javier Garrido, Shaleum Logan, Glauber
3 GK:
wtf sia.. the squad depth if look at recognizable players, even better than arsenal sia but not performing.. i take this team bring inside FM confirm can win even the champions league.. lmao.. wtf.. they should revamp their training facilities and backroom staff lah.. This squad should be enough to at least challenge for League Cup sia.. wtf they all doing.. 3 quality keepers smore.. wtf..
Maybe the list isn't updated yet leh?
Ben Haim is at Sunderland at present, Jo at Everton, Kelvin Etuhu, Danny Mills and Kasper Schmeichel are also not there...
Bojinov, Caicedo, Ched Evans, Gelson Fernandes, Vladimir Weiss, Nedum Onuoho, Shaleum Logan are all youth players... Hardly plays in the first team kind...
Vassell, Elano, Petrov, Hamann could all be sold very soon...
They do need more established players if they are going to make it big next season... And this being the first full season where the Arab owners get to show their hands... A lot is going to change at City...
So I think its more like...
4 Strikers: Robinho, Benjani, Bellamy, Sturridge
8 Midfielders: Ireland, SWP, Barry, Michael Johnson, De Jong, Elano, Petrov...
8 Defenders: Richards, Ball, Kompany, Dunne, Bridge, Zabaleta, Garrido, Glauber
2 GK: Joe Hart, Shay Given
Originally posted by redDUST:head over heart...
(again) the lure of money clouds all judgement
no loss for liverpool though.
agreed.
greed has gotten over barry.
man city n barry can wait for a few more yrs b4 going for CL title.
wtf?
city no europa league leh, at least villa got -.-
heng eh.. liddat benitez will hold on to alonso.. at least we know barry's character now
man city next year cannot top 7 can go die alr lol
Originally posted by limpper:wtf?
city no europa league leh, at least villa got -.-
No need Europa League lah... Honestly speaking, teams try very hard to make it into the top 6, 7 then when they qualify for Europe but not Champions League, they end up sending out their 2nd team at the later stages as fighting for that top 4 or top 7 places are more important than winning the Uefa cup... Like what Villa did...
If its not the Champions League, its really nothing...
City can count their blessing that they won't have the Europa matches to distract them next season...
Originally posted by zocoss:
No need Europa League lah... Honestly speaking, teams try very hard to make it into the top 6, 7 then when they qualify for Europe but not Champions League, they end up sending out their 2nd team at the later stages as fighting for that top 4 or top 7 places are more important than winning the Uefa cup... Like what Villa did...If its not the Champions League, its really nothing...
City can count their blessing that they won't have the Europa matches to distract them next season...
he said he wanted CL
then scali go to a club that doesnt even play at europa league, this is seriously wtf.
money speak for him -.-
Originally posted by dinky1409:roflmao sia this club lolx.. i googled for the squad.. look at this..
9 Strikers:
11 Midfielders:
12 Defenders:
3 GK:
Hmm Hughes said he'd be buying first before selling..now lets see who will leave lor.
My guess is Vessel, Jo, Elano, Michael Johnson, Hamann and Ben Haim to leave.
Six of the best from the man who said “I don’t want to be eating my own words”
As super-ambitious Gareth Barry finally fulfils his lifelong dream of playing Champions League football having a rich Arab sugar daddy, OTP looks back at his careful £££ though-process £££ behind the £££ move.
1. “My mind’s made up, I want to join Liverpool. There’s no going
back, it’s time for me to move on. I’m desperate to play Champions
League football and that’s why I have to leave Villa.”
D’oh!!!
2. “This year, in terms of England, it has not been a problem for me
not playing Champions League football. I have played in the UEFA Cup,
I’ve played regularly for my country this last 12 months. It is not the
be-all and end-all to be playing in the Champions League but it does
help coming into the World Cup playing at the top level.”
World Cup worries are put on the backburner.
3. “There’s nowhere else I would want to be playing at the highest
level. It’s easy for me to want Aston Villa to play Champions League
football.”
So a sideways move is out of the question, right?
4. “Come next summer, once the speculation starts again, I hope
Aston Villa will be in a strong bargaining position. At the same time,
I don’t want to be sitting here holding the club to ransom, saying,
‘It’s the top four or I’m off’. It’s about improving and making strides
forward.”
Well, to be fair he didn’t mention the top four this summer!
5. “If I’m playing Champions League football, there’s no need to
look elsewhere. That would have to be a definite. I don’t want to be
eating my own words.”
So if they had finished fourth you would have stayed, but
because they finished sixth you had to go to the team that finished
tenth?
6. “I hope the Villa fans understand. I have given my all for the
club for 10 years and I’m only leaving because now I need to test
myself at the very highest level.”
The very highest level of mid-table Premier League football, that is.
The events on the Continent served to overshadow City’s capture of Barry, who reneged on his very public claims that he wanted to leave Villa for a club offering Champions League football by shunning Liverpool and signing a five-year deal with City worth close to £100,000 a week.
“It didn’t take much persuasion from Mark Hughes,” Barry, 28, said after passing a medical. “They are heading in the direction I want to go.”
The news brought a humiliating end to Rafael Benítez’s tortuous year-long pursuit of the England midfield player and the Liverpool manager’s misery is expected to be compounded by the likely departure from Anfield of Xabi Alonso, the Spain midfield player, this summer. He, too, may join Real, whose spending could end up surpassing the ¤200 million mark.
City’s summer spree will also continue as Hughes seeks to secure deals for Joleon Lescott, the Everton defender, and Carlos Tévez, the Manchester United forward. “I was looking to get a number of deals done as soon as possible and we have had a great start with Gareth joining us,” Hughes said. “I hope we can conclude some more so that when we come back for pre-season training, we have everybody fit and well and set for a successful campaign.”
Tévez’s future is likely to be resolved today during talks with David Gill, the United chief executive, and Kia Joorabchian, who owns the Argentina player’s economic rights.
United have so far balked at meeting the £25.5 million fee agreed with Joorabchian two years ago and, barring a surprise about-turn from the Premier League champions, City are likely to beat Liverpool to the player’s signature in a deal that would cost almost £54 million over four years.
Hughes is expected to make an opening bid of about £12 million for Lescott, but David Moyes, the Everton manager, is fiercely opposed to selling the England defender and is unlikely to consider accepting a bid of anything less than £20 million.
Originally posted by limpper:he said he wanted CL
then scali go to a club that doesnt even play at europa league, this is seriously wtf.
money speak for him -.-
He was on only $40k per week at Villa, Pool offer $70 to $80k per week... City giving him $110k to $130k per week... Thats more than what Torres just sign recently... How can he turn down...
Moreover, we can see City becoming a real powerhouse within the next 2 yrs... Liverpool will still be Liverpool like they have been these last 20 years... Unless some rich Arab take over them...
I feel that its really more than just money here... City are a real potential considering the noise they are making and the money they are willing to throw...
Barry, 28, said after passing a medical. “They are heading in the direction I want to go.”