On the ball: Johnson has improved dramatically
Chelsea were last night locked in talks with Portsmouth over a deal to take England defender Glen Johnson back to Stamford Bridge, for a fee that could eventually reach £17million, despite interest from Liverpool.
The right back, sold by former Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho for £4m less than two years ago, is with the England camp in Kazakhstan, where he is expected to win his 14th cap on Saturday.
For Liverpool it will mean they have been stunned for the second day in succession by the speed of movement, and money on offer, of a transfer rival. Only 24 hours earlier, they lost out to Manchester City for Gareth Barry.
The Anfield club may respond today with an increased offer, but manager Rafa Benitez needs to sell first and they cannot match Chelsea’s spending power.
That means Johnson, 24, is set to follow Daniel Sturridge into Stamford Bridge, with the deal probably completed early next week.
It is believed England coach Fabio Capello recommended Johnson to new Chelsea manager Carlo Ancelotti.
Johnson, then with West Ham, was Roman Abramovich’s first signing for the club and, despite failing to impress Mourinho, has since become one of the most cultured full backs in Europe.
Sportsmail revealed on Tuesday how Johnson was part of Ancelotti’s wish-list when he tookover from Guus Hiddink. It is thought Johnson’s conduct since leaving the club, as well as his playing development, has impressed Chelsea. He refused to criticise them and admitted he had to improve his game.
One source said yesterday: ‘He has behaved in a mature manner, as well as improving as a player with regular first-team football. Roman always liked him because of his attacking dare as a full back. Jose did not always agree, but he’s
not at the club any more, is he?’
Rafa no chance liao....£17m....
sold for 4m now bought back for 17m. ![]()
take la ..... Liverpool not desperate for Johnsen .
eh??
the bosingwa fake 1 isit
lolx i think they buy him for sub ![]()
bosingwa is human
will get injured
so they need cover
now its whether johnson wanna go back to where he was
Fabio Capello may recommend Johnson to join Chelsea to help fellow Italian Carlo Ancelotti... lol
Originally posted by youyayu:eh??
the bosingwa fake 1 isit
Bosingwa can play cover for left and right back positions mah...
17 million for him....no go Rafa. i not going to approve it. not worth it
bosingwa leh? think johnson wana go back to being second string again meh? lolx..
Chelsea are locked in negotiations with Portsmouth over re-signing fullback Glen Johnson for £17 million.
The Daily Mail says for Liverpool it will mean they have been stunned for the second day in succession by the speed of movement, and money on offer, of a transfer rival. Only 24 hours earlier, they lost out to Manchester City for Gareth Barry.
The Anfield club may respond today with an increased offer, but manager Rafa Benitez needs to sell first and they cannot match Chelsea’s spending power.
That means Johnson, 24, is set to follow Daniel Sturridge into Stamford Bridge, with the deal probably completed early next week.
It is believed England coach Fabio Capello recommended Johnson to new Chelsea manager Carlo Ancelotti.
17 million pounds for a full-back is nuts
glen johnson just signed a new deal with Portsmouth if i remember,
and then you will have to buy him out his clause.
looked like everyone is trying their best to stop us from buying the players we want .
first Barry signed for Man City .
Now Chelsea want Johnson despite having got one of Portugal best left back in Bosingwa .
Bosingwa is Scholari's first signing , AuntieLotti might not want this Portuguese .
I doubt we will get Johnson.
Hes B.S
I rather have bosingwa. ![]()
THEY claimed they are preparing for the 6+5 rule thingy.
hmm, it seems some clubs like to sell, and then buy back their players..
Spurs did it with defoe and keane, and now chelsea..
Originally posted by Poolman:first Barry signed for Man City .
Now Chelsea want Johnson despite having got one of Portugal best left back in Bosingwa .
Bosingwa is Scholari's first signing , AuntieLotti might not want this Portuguese .
well, it is just bad luck.
Pool bid for Barry @ 18M, but Barry sign for City @ 12m (if I am not wrong), despite Pool in UCL while City in UEFA. you draw ur own conclusion..
Originally posted by Poolman:looked like everyone is trying their best to stop us from buying the players we want .
and I do believe Portsmouth still owe Pool for Crouch's transfer..
Originally posted by iceFatboy:well, it is just bad luck.
Pool bid for Barry @ 18M, but Barry sign for City @ 12m (if I am not wrong), despite Pool in UCL while City in UEFA. you draw ur own conclusion..
£18m was last year.....
Originally posted by sg_forum:
£18m was last year.....
they offered more?