Originally posted by Chris88110:At this point in time Owen is desperate to ressurect his career, he'll open his legs for any top club who'll offer him a contract
that shows how much liverpool actually meant to him, disappointed man -.-
Originally posted by limpper:that shows how much liverpool actually meant to him, disappointed man -.-
Kinda also reflects how much Owen meant to them. They could've gotten him at an even lower price. I'm pretty sure if they'd have offered him 20-30k per week along with incentives he would chosen Liverpool. But sadly they did'nt so he did'nt have much of a choice did he?
that's a question of manager's ability choosing. his actions just prove how much his days at liverpool meant to him.
nothing wrong to choose to save his career instead of not wanting to join up with his former club's rival, just that fans wont like it.
A mouse will alway be a mouse.
I dun blame him cos he alway shown his colour when he was at Liverpool, RM and Newcastle.
He will think more of himself and it is normal.
I just wonder whether SAF have a sick bed reserved under the MM name.
MU is having all the cash and not having the players.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:A mouse will alway be a mouse.
I dun blame him cos he alway shown his colour when he was at Liverpool, RM and Newcastle.
He will think more of himself and it is normal.
I just wonder whether SAF have a sick bed reserved under the MM name.
MU is having all the cash and not having the players.
U jealous he go man utd say la. Say wat mouse mouse. ![]()
Originally posted by ViNnO:U jealous he go man utd say la. Say wat mouse mouse.
imagine seeing your ex girlfriend out with a new guy syndrome ![]()
Originally posted by marcteng:
imagine seeing your ex girlfriend out with a new guy syndrome
Lol, this is part and parcel of life. I dun see lots of Man Utd fans complaining after ronaldo or tevez leave.
Originally posted by ViNnO:Lol, this is part and parcel of life. I dun see lots of Man Utd fans complaining after ronaldo or tevez leave.
If they joined a rival team, I would be disappointed too. and it looks like Tevez is all set for Chelsea or Man City.
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:If they joined a rival team, I would be disappointed too. and it looks like Tevez is all set for Chelsea or Man City.
Lol, not really. If they go, they go. In the first place, it was the club who let them go or the player who chose to leave. For Tevez and Ronaldo, it was them who chose to leave.
Originally posted by Fantagf:still cannot get over he joins man u.
gerrard of course i believe will be sad. i believe some of them, especially the older ones from liverpool want he back.
Liverpool!!!!! ????
Gerrard sad? Isnt he the one who request for transfer a few seasons back leading to some Pool fans burning his jerseys?
Originally posted by limpper:wtf? he forgot he was once with liverpool arh?
where's that respect man?
Once with Liverpool....so u mean he cannot play for Liverpool's rivals? Dont forget he is out of contract this summer What's stopping Pool from bringing him back? And has been out of Pool so many years oredi. Its not as if he is currently with Liverpool and then decide to go to Man Utd.
I believe some of the posters here have a very cloudy meaning of traitor. I would call Scholes eg. a traitor id he is still contracted with Utd and decides to go to one of Utd's rivals but he is not a traitor is he has left Utd for another club then decided to join a rival when his contract is up when a rival club wanna sign him.
No such thing as traitor lah.
People need to eat and feed their family you know. ![]()
Originally posted by limpper:that's a question of manager's ability choosing. his actions just prove how much his days at liverpool meant to him.
nothing wrong to choose to save his career instead of not wanting to join up with his former club's rival, just that fans wont like it.
We fans are sometimes to eager and quick to criticise. The guy needs a job, he needs to be at a club that matches his talents and ambitions. So among all the clubs that have approached him, it is a no-brainer he will go to the club that can mos likely resurrect his career. Futhermore, next year is the World Cup.
So if we are real football fans, we should know its for his best nd accept it just like we accepted Ronaldo's switch coz we know he have given his all and its his lifelong dream to play for Utd. Im keepng my fingers crossed it wont be the last time we see him in a Utd shirt.
Lol juz because of Owen goin to have war. I go get my fire extinguisher first. ![]()
It's a controversy move obviously .
Liverpool fans around the world will be utterly disappointed to any former Reds joining their fiercest rival MU .
Just a normal situation , very normal .
When Wayne Rooney joined MU , those critics also quite alot .
What u people don't know , Ferguson and Owen has a common interest , Horse Breedings !!!
I am not surprised M.Owen signed for Man Utd , i was very surprised Man Utd signed him .
Originally posted by Poolman:It's a controversy move obviously .
Liverpool fans around the world will be utterly disappointed to any former Reds joining their fiercest rival MU .
Just a normal situation , very normal .
When Wayne Rooney joined MU , those critics also quite alot .
What u people don't know , Ferguson and Owen has a common interest , Horse Breedings !!!
Horse Betting ar? ![]()
M Owen sick note ?
End of coming season then we see before verdicting ....
I bet he won't play beyond 30 matches according to Sam Allardyce's medical team .
Originally posted by Poolman:M Owen sick note ?
End of coming season then we see before verdicting ....
I bet he won't play beyond 30 matches according to Sam Allardyce's medical team .
Well, its still unclear how Fergie will utilise Owen.
Rotation like Tevez? or sub like Solskjaer.
Either way, he probably wont be playing as often as in Allardyce's team. So that should also mean lesser chance of getting injured lor. ![]()
Originally posted by omgukilledkenny:Well, its still unclear how Fergie will utilise Owen.
Rotation like Tevez? or sub like Solskjaer.
Either way, he probably wont be playing as often as in Allardyce's team. So that should also mean lesser chance of getting injured lor.
Yeah I think he will have rotation. Or mayb a 4-3-3
• 'I never really had it in my wildest dreams,' says Owen
• 'You think winners, think trophies, think the massive fan base'
Michael Owen leaves the Bridgewater Hospital in Manchester after attending a medical.
Michael Owen has admitted to being as surprised by his move to Manchester United as many onlookers were after putting pen to paper on a two-year deal at Old Trafford, but believes he is joining a team of 'winners'.
At 29, Owen realises his best days are behind him but still thinks he can prove his doubters wrong by playing a part in helping Manchester United to continue their success next season.
"Manchester United, you automatically think winners, you think trophies, you think the stadium, the massive fan base, but until you sign you don't really let yourself get carried away," said Owen. "There's so many top players here, obviously it's a very exciting time for me.
"Right throughout the squad they are obviously a fantastic team with fantastic players, that's why they've all won so much throughout their careers, and hopefully I can jump on the bandwagon, score a few goals, and help us to further success."
And even he - scorer of 40 goals in 89 England internationals - admits he is excited about playing in the same team as the likes of Wayne Rooney, Dimitar Berbatov and Ryan Giggs.
"A few days ago I never really had it in my wildest dreams," said Owen, who seemed set to be fought over by Hull and Stoke before Ferguson made his move. "I probably won't sleep at night thinking about all the top players I'm going to be playing alongside, so there's a lot to think about and a lot to get excited about."
Owen will also benefit from the full backing of Ferguson, having known for some time his new manager was an admirer of his talents. "In the last few years I had an idea that the manager obviously thought I had something, so I always clung to that hope that he would ask me to come and play for him one day," he added.
"I'm not silly, I know there will be some people saying maybe the manager shouldn't have signed me. That gradually goes in time and as soon as the first game kicks off, I can do my talking on the pitch."
M Owen is in a totally different mode like Tevez ...
Tevez is not a typical English centre forward ....
Owen is a typical penalty box's predator .
I put Owen a threat to Berbatov in the forward line .
The only player will benefit alot from Owen is that young italian forward .
I hope Owen prove me wrong .
I can say he will not score lot against teams like Liverpool , Arsenal and Chelsea .
Maybe he can be handy against those teams like Wigan , Birmingham , midtable or lower teams .
Stats will tell .
Originally posted by Poolman:M Owen is in a totally different mode like Tevez ...
Tevez is not a typical English centre forward ....
Owen is a typical penalty box's predator .
I put Owen a threat to Berbatov in the forward line .
The only player will benefit alot from Owen is that young italian forward .
Danny welbeck is also english. So not only kiko, welbeck will benefit.
Owen have a habit of scoring important goals so I belief if he plays, he will be very useful against the bigger sides... But I am not expecting him to be used every match or for the full 90 most of the time... Fergie knows how to control it and will keep him hungry and eager...
One more thing that I find surprising is, Owen scored 23 goals in 62 games in a poor Newcastle team, at a ratio of one every 2.69 games. Tevez scored 34 in 99 games in a magnificent Manchester United team, a rate of 2.97. Last season, his ratio was 3.4.
And during his time at Real, Owen scored his 13 La Liga goals ending the campaign with the league's highest ratio of goals scored to number of minutes played and it was mostly from the bench too...
Like I have said, whatever happens, it won't matter as he is free, came without a transfer fee... Fergie has been a fans of his for a long time already and almost bought him 1 or 2 yrs ago when it became known he had a buy-out in his contract...