Home > Football & EPL

'Wake up', S-League!

• Source: The Straits Times

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Sport/Story/STIStory_428347.html

• angel3070

Fiona Xie leaving mediacorp, Alam Shah leaving s league, more and more people migrating, more and more foreign aliens, PAP getting more and more rubbish by the day.

I live in a rubbish country with a rubbish government.icon_lol.gif

• limpper
    Originally posted by angel3070:

Fiona Xie leaving mediacorp, Alam Shah leaving s league, more and more people migrating, more and more foreign aliens, PAP getting more and more rubbish by the day.

I live in a rubbish country with a rubbish government.icon_lol.gif

lol, even alam shah's departure also link to PAP uh

• 2cansam

Wa lau, i agree with what he says on the state of the quality of fan support. In the case of refereeing, i am unsure of that as i'm not a referee myself. 

while i think that the beep test is very important to maintain fitness standards in the local football. It may sound harsh, but if you fail to pass the beep test, you shouldn't be playing against others who passed it

• zocoss

The S League is just pathetic... and its getting from bad to worse... I read quite a number of national team players are heading for Indonesia... How much worse can it get? Maybe they should start to charge people $1 and $2 for matches... Not sure if it will even bring the crowd back... lol

• Rooney9

which smart alec said  the S League is in the top 10 asian league in Asia lol. how self eluded that claim is lool.

• Rooney9
    Originally posted by zocoss:

The S League is just pathetic... and its getting from bad to worse... I read quite a number of national team players are heading for Indonesia... How much worse can it get? Maybe they should start to charge people $1 and $2 for matches... Not sure if it will even bring the crowd back... lol

even if the entrance is free, dun think a lot of people are interested anyway. people are more interested in BPL than our local clubs. our clubs are not professionally run, it is run by amateurs and footballers are semi pro.

• gunner77

Anybody watch S league just now? icon_lol.gif

Look at the jalan besar stadium, its a far cry from the one i saw and been there last year. icon_lol.gif

I still remember i wanted to sit at the tampines side, but full, so no choice go sit at gombak united side.

In the end gombak win tampines 2-1.

icon_lol.gif

• charlize
    Originally posted by Rooney9:

which smart alec said  the S League is in the top 10 asian league in Asia lol. how self eluded that claim is lool.

http://www.rankopedia.com/ZoneID=3/28452/Best-Soccer-League-in-Asia-%282008%29/Step1/17587.htm

I could only find this list on the rankings of asian leagues.

But I suspect the reason why the S League is 8th and higher than some other leagues is probably more due to administration, management and sponsorship of the league rather than spectator interest or revenue generation etc. 

So the high rank does is not indicative of player skills or playing standards.icon_lol.gif

• Junyang700
    Originally posted by zocoss:

I think Sleague organisers will be worst off. Currently tickets range from $5-$6. Those who wan watch will go watch, $1 or $2... crowd most likely same. =) At most 10 - 20 more. Not economically viable?

Tink there are too many tempting things to do rather than watch sweat out at the stadium watching football these days. =)

• zocoss
    Originally posted by Rooney9:

even if the entrance is free, dun think a lot of people are interested anyway. people are more interested in BPL than our local clubs. our clubs are not professionally run, it is run by amateurs and footballers are semi pro.

Cannot say until like that... Its losing interest but its not dead yet... There are still some people who would go even at present pricing of how much I am not too sure, $5 or $6?

• QX179R

I didn't manage to watch the 2nd half till the end..
    so wats the end score between tampines & sengkang..icon_question.gif

• charlize

The S League 10 years ago was more exciting.

They had more star quality players then - had ex World Cup players from Iran and Hungary before.

These days, "star" players are the national squad members.

Foreign players are also not as good even when compared to the national players. icon_lol.gif

• Detached

Sigh.. I miss the Fandi days.. Malaysia Cup too.. It used to be Singaporeans' pride.. now even football is flooded with FT... Not trying politicize... But really like what Bee Gees sang "the world had lost its glory.... let's start a brand new story now.... " icon_cry.gif

• gunner77
    Originally posted by QX179R:

I didn't manage to watch the 2nd half till the end..
    so wats the end score between tampines & sengkang..icon_question.gif

3-1

• Patrik

Lee Man Hon!!!!!

• Y_Shun

Quite boring their football...always got mispasses then lose possession...then the other party dribble dribble and lose possession, it starts all over again for like the 90mins. 0-0 most sian.

• angel3070
    Originally posted by Patrik:

Lee Man Hon!!!!!

you are oldie like me. Still remeber Lee Man Hom.icon_lol.gif

Go go Fandi, Abbas!icon_lol.gif

time to fuck off S league and go back to M League.icon_lol.gif

Half of s league also foreign clubs.icon_lol.gif

Fuck you PAP for destroying local football.

• zocoss

Singaporean I believed still love to watch football and would go if they find it worthy... But the S League is fast becoming not their cup of tea... Cos not only has it got no "star attraction", now its losing its average joe's as well... At the end, people won't be bother to pay even $5 to watch leftovers kicking around...

• angel3070

S league all foreign clubs. What sort of fuck is that?

Which other country got fucking foreign clubs in it? Foreign players is one thing, but foreign clubs?

This fucking PAP. Now island also flooded with foreigners.

Fucking traitors of Singapore, this fucking PAP government.

Singapore Armed Forces FC
    Tampines Rovers FC
    Home United FC
    Brunei DPMM FC
    Gombak United FC
    Super Reds FC
    Geylang United FC
    Woodlands Wellington FC
    Albirex Niigata FC (S)
    Sengkang Punggol FC
    Young Lions
    Balestier Khalsa FC
  • limpper

i dont know for others, but gombak united's home is not located at gombak. is at queenstown. ?_?

• No_10_Tomas

every year sure to be saffc winning the title, so boring

even with the stringent beep test, watching sleague matches is like watching inter-school football tournament played in a secondary school or junior college, sloppy dribbling and poor footwork

Liverpool was so strong last season, but after they came to Singapore for pre-season warm up, their standards in the EPL now is like Singapore's standard

• Shao Wei
    Originally posted by limpper:

i dont know for others, but gombak united's home is not located at gombak. is at queenstown. ?_?

gombak united home is at jurong west....

• Medicated Oil

Although what he say is correct, he forgot one most important thing.

If he played well enough, people will be flocking to watch him play ball.

Just be honest and say that the money is better there.

That is the most simple and most reasonable explanation.

No need to drag out the fans and referees as nothing will be change.

• TIB657M

And.........

1 non-local S. League club and 2 non-S. League teams are at Singapore Cup Semi-finals, only left Geylang United the only local team.