I hope M1 bid for it in future lol. the more the merrier.
*facepalm![]()
Originally posted by Rooney9:I hope M1 bid for it in future lol. the more the merrier.
Wait a minute.
How many boxes can be attached to your TV by the way?
Anybody think of the potential problems if you have 5 set boxes? ![]()
agreed with dotaro, enough is enough, it's time we as a consumer has a say, let's game enough and collectively show them who's the real paymaster and what we're capable off...worst case this is juz another luxurious we can afford to give out despite been a hard core fan of the league for > 20 years...let them eat their own humble pie!!!
Imagine 5 remotes.
Numerous wiring.
Numerous plugs. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Wait a minute.
How many boxes can be attached to your TV by the way?
Anybody think of the potential problems if you have 5 set boxes?
whoever wins the bid I subscribe lor. whoever loses I cancel lor lol
Originally posted by gatang:agreed with dotaro, enough is enough, it's time we as a consumer has a say, let's game enough and collectively show them who's the real paymaster and what we're capable off...worst case this is juz another luxurious we can afford to give out despite been a hard core fan of the league for > 20 years...let them eat their own humble pie!!!
unless you want to watch football live via streaming. I doubt so lar. most football fans although unhappy, will still subscribe to miotv. those who dun either watches streaming or watch at pubs and clubs and kopi diam.
SINGTEL is prepared to come in to lose money for the first 5 years de. it has to think long term, 10 years into the market before thinking of earning a profit. look at how many years did starhub start to earn after laying out cables in many estates. singtel is lucky that it can count on its land lines. Dun tink the same can be said of M1 lar, who does not have any landlines or cables wired across the island.
plus SINGTEL got other businesses, like hp sets, land lines, and cables and also revenue from overseas. starhub strategy is to merge with M1 to seriously to rival SINGTEL, who was a former monopoly before 2000. maybe after merging, M1 can build on land lines to compete with SINGTEL.
Originally posted by Rooney9:unless you want to watch football live via streaming. I doubt so lar. most football fans although unhappy, will still subscribe to miotv. those who dun either watches streaming or watch at pubs and clubs and kopi diam.
SINGTEL is prepared to come in to lose money for the first 5 years de. it has to think long term, 10 years into the market before thinking of earning a profit. look at how many years did starhub start to earn after laying out cables in many estates. singtel is lucky that it can count on its land lines. Dun tink the same can be said of M1 lar, who does not have any landlines or cables wired across the island.
agreed.
utlimately, fans will still have to subscribe to mio. unless you're willing to bear with the poor quality of online streams websites, which personlly, im willing to bear with it.
unless you can get up to 80% of the BPL fans not to switch over to mio, if not i dont expect singtel to back down.
SINGTEL strategy is simple. capture as much market share it has by offering low prices for now and freebies thrown in to entice people to switch network. it is prepared to lose money anyway. once it has the volume to rival or surpasses starhub, it will slowly and gradually start to increase prices one, I can guarantee you that. that will be many years down the road, not a mere 3-5 years time. also it also need to win the next bidding after the present bidding has ended, so that it wont go to waste the money spent on the winning bid this time round. doesnt make sense that starhub win the next bidding and customers flocked back to starhub again. EPL or BPL is the cashcow of cable tv in Singapore, retail and corporate customers like clubs, pubs and kopi diam.
because their rights last only for 3 years, what if they failed to win the bid after that?
kinda risky.
maybe you're right, i dont know. i'm not good in business stuffs. lol.
i'm alr so not happy when starhub lost the CL rights. now BPL, omg -.-
Dammit. .. i just sign a 2 years extension couple of months back...
Originally posted by sg_forum:Dammit. .. i just sign a 2 years extension couple of months back...
if break contract how much? how much you pay a mth? anyway mio tv football channel isnt that ex lar. 15 dollars now, but need to pay for installation and dunno what hidden charges lar when install at your house.
Originally posted by sg_forum:Dammit. .. i just sign a 2 years extension couple of months back...
doesnt matter.
streaming sites are your solutions ![]()
Agreed.The two telcos are in tantrum to hookwink viewers to signing up for their services.All these big organisations cannot be trusted when they say they are doing it for the benifits for the general public.They're a big bunch of bullshit trying to squeeze out every ounce of the general public.
Early there were the banks offered whatever sort of investments to the public then came the financial meltdown and so many pple were sucked dry of their moneys and the banks said that was not their faults and they could not be responsible for the debacle and just washed their hands clean.How can we trust all these big bussiness organisations?They are just taking innocent consumers as suckers.
Therefore,we the consumers must not be their suckers,we must endure the agony of not watching those EPL matches for awhile and not subscribe to their services so that their bussiness suffer a lack of viewrship for a period,in the meantime, when they had secure the rights of telecast they have to continue to pay for the rights to the relevant owners of the programme and when there's a drastic drop in viewership their bussiness will certainly suffer and hence the "power of the consumers" will prevail.
We, the consumers must show to these "low-down","blood-sucking" organisations that we're no pushovers.
I'd stopped my Starhub cable tv subscription eversince they upped the fee for the sports channel.I'm managing very well without it.
If I can do it,so can you!C'mon show them!
I tot Singtel said they wun increase price? Currently, their football frenzy is 15.50 I think. The current Starhub sport package is 25 or 26 i forgot. If they keep it at 15.50 even with BPL, thats great. If they keep at Starhub price, then thats fine with me. If higher than that, they are crap. Anyway, good also. I will cancel sports package, keep the Discovery and drama channels, then subscribe to Mio;s sports frenzy. Wun make alot of difference to my overall spending.
what happened to the study to be conducted into this matter by MDA? no picture no sound oredy, nvr mind can delay at least for 3 years liao. knn starhub/singtel..left hand right hand..this deal brokered by somebody? ultimately, losers are us subscribers. i will cancel my subscription to starhub once the last match of epl is screened next may. the whole package goes, not only sports, 3 basic groups as well cos this one LL forced to subscribe. singtel can go fly kite as well. 250,000 subscribers to starhub sports group. let's see how many cancel. i hope singtel loses big on this deal as well. never mind about share price.
Originally posted by gasband:I tot Singtel said they wun increase price? Currently, their football frenzy is 15.50 I think. The current Starhub sport package is 25 or 26 i forgot. If they keep it at 15.50 even with BPL, thats great. If they keep at Starhub price, then thats fine with me. If higher than that, they are crap. Anyway, good also. I will cancel sports package, keep the Discovery and drama channels, then subscribe to Mio;s sports frenzy. Wun make alot of difference to my overall spending.
羊毛出在羊身上. the honeymoon will be over before it even begins. Now $26.75 w/GST. got golf,wwe,horse racing,...HD channel summore. mio? tie u 2 years, 1st year cheap cheap until u steam. 2nd year then u know the bau (odour). cannot break contract. lagi steam.
Competition raises prices - new economic theory in singapore. ![]()
This is a load of bull, Singtel not going to increase prices? I won't be surprise if they start to charge $16 alone for CL and another $25 for Premier league... And they will "give us" a special package if we sign up for both at $35 + gst... This is already an increased of $10 bucks from the current price... And I think this is the best we can hope for as it could be much more... Maybe $40 to $50 bucks just to watch football on tv. Bottomline is they are going to make money straightaway and not wait another 5yrs or 10 yrs down the road...
I am just curious who do they make their bids to? Direct to the Premier League in England or our very own Media Development Authority (MDA)? Cos how is China showing English Premier League matches for free?
I have to say I smell a rat here... If the MDA was the only party who could bring it in, I am sure it won't cost that much... And they in turn can pass it to both Singtel and Starhub and they can compete for subscribers with better or cheaper package deals...
But sadly, we are just the little people in this money making deal... In other words, the ones that get squeezed...
Originally posted by zocoss:This is a load of bull, Singtel not going to increase prices? I won't be surprise if they start to charge $16 alone for CL and another $25 for Premier league... And they will "give us" a special package if we sign up for both at $35 + gst... This is already an increased of $10 bucks from the current price... And I think this is the best we can hope for as it could be much more... Maybe $40 to $50 bucks just to watch football on tv. Bottomline is they are going to make money straightaway and not wait another 5yrs or 10 yrs down the road...
I am just curious who do they make their bids to? Direct to the Premier League in England or our very own Media Development Authority (MDA)? Cos how is China showing English Premier League matches for free?
I have to say I smell a rat here... If the MDA was the only party who could bring it in, I am sure it won't cost that much... And they in turn can pass it to both Singtel and Starhub and they can compete for subscribers with better or cheaper package deals...
But sadly, we are just the little people in this money making deal... In other words, the ones that get squeezed...
Prices will be "affordable" ![]()
the simplest way for us viewers to show that we would not succumb to the tricks of the big companies is to simply not subscribe to mio.
fucked alrdy la.....got to install singtel console. Shit man, so many fucking remote controls.
Conspiracy to squeeze our money la. I agreed with what zocoss said earlier that it's a way to share the pie and milk the market.
Originally posted by charlize:Competition raises prices - new economic theory in singapore.
Competition can raise prices - in a market where a natural monopoly is the most efficient.
Brother Red and Brother Green decided to increase the price for BPL watching further up so as to make their dragon mummy happy.
So, they decided to stage a wayang showdown to gain BPL match ownership.
In the end, Brother Red won cos their stall that they are opening no business.
But, the wayang show will be used as a "reason" for price increase.
The football fans are also the one footing for the high price bid.
Three years later, the right will be passed to Brother Green again when they are dying due to soccer and sport drought.
But, Brother Green get to keep the world cup match next year.
So, every one in the family laughing to the bank and one big happy greedy family.