Cesc Fabregas has been backed to be a success as Arsenal skipper by north London rival David Bentley.
Spurs midfielder Bentley believes the Spaniard will prove a fine leader even though he is not as vocal as former Arsenal captains Tony Adams and Patrick Vieira.
After seeing Fabregas inspire the Gunners to a 2-1 victory at Chelsea this weekend - a win which has re-ignited their title hopes - Bentley told Zoo magazine: "He is not exactly in the old-school English mould of a captain, but I reckon he's a top choice all the same.
"When appointing Cesc, Arsene Wenger said he didn't believe in captains who screamed and waved their hands in the air; he said he believed more in a player who can dictate the play with clever passes and lead by example.
"That might sound odd from a manager who has had incredible success with chest-beaters such as Tony Adams and Patrick Viera - but I think that he's right.
He added: "Those guys were vocal, sure, but they also had such an aura about them that you felt like you'd follow them through a brick wall if they asked you to."
However, Bentley believes the days of a team captain being the one to below orders to his team-mates have gone.
He said: "The modern game doesn't need screamers and guys who clench their fists - it needs quality men who get on with doing the right things, on and off the pitch.
"I suspect Fabregas can do this and become a long-term, successful skipper at The Emirates."
tis guy too free...
Originally posted by BrUtUs:tis guy too free...
u mean turbie? ![]()
Originally posted by gunner77:
u mean turbie?
wa u dun eat lunch come here fan flame ah... tb where got free... he busy ok... rare appearance...
u mean turbie?
no la.. ![]()
He meant David Bentley. ![]()
Originally posted by BrUtUs:
wa u dun eat lunch come here fan flame ah... tb where got free... he busy ok... rare appearance...
turbie where got busy
everyday watch jolin porn and pcc ![]()
oi oi oi.. before i even edit your post .............. ![]()
turbie where got busyeveryday watch jolin porn and pcc
ooorrrr... i din say tat... tis one both of u settle liao...
misuse ur moderatorship !
i wan to complain
ooorrrr... i din say tat... tis one both of u settle liao...
i thought u are the one who pass the jolin porn around? ![]()
Originally posted by turbo_drift:oi oi oi.. before i even edit your post ..............
u got jolin porn ah... must share share with gunners u know... no nid shy la...
i thought u are the one who pass the jolin porn around?
prawn i got la... porn nid tb to distribute...
don't spoil thread. ![]()
post in crapbox lah. ![]()
Originally posted by turbo_drift:don't spoil thread.
post in crapbox lah.
still got crapbox meh?
who will bother to come and read this? ![]()
still got crapbox meh?
got. the one open by corebooster. go and see. i bumped that already.