Originally posted by Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1):tell him u really no money and ask him to fuck off , go look for another one.
Ask him fuck off like sound very mean to him... i am avoiding his sms and calls..
Originally posted by limpper:but my mum will give one lar, lol.
dont give paiseh sial
That one can understand.. you must give a bit like donation to temple for their kindness prayer mah.. but this monk actually tell my parents after prayer must give ang bao.
why dun tell him upfront and said no.
no need to give any reasons for saying no. no means no, simple.
that said, he may approach money from other well wishers or strangers, worse. why not complain to buddhist association like SBA, tell them to look into this matter.
Originally posted by marcteng:why dun tell him upfront and said no.
no need to give any reasons for saying no. no means no, simple.
that said, he may approach money from other well wishers or strangers, worse. why not complain to buddhist association like SBA, tell them to look into this matter.
i already told him i got no mony to lend him le.. and he keep calling me and sms me.
I didn't know i can complain to buddhist association. Can drop email to SBA ?
1 - does not matter if he is real monk or bogus monk, he is a fellow human who deserves to be help
2 - does not matter if he con you or not as if he really con you, take it as a donation but if he is really sick, then you would have help him.
Originally posted by Bubblyl3:i already told him i got no mony to lend him le.. and he keep calling me and sms me.
I didn't know i can complain to buddhist association. Can drop email to SBA ?
call and sms you? if he call you again, why dun tell him in a firm manner and said no. if he persists, then you can tell him loudly no means no, hope he get the message.
you can email to SBA about this. does the monk belong to any temple?
Eh how he so lucky get your number de ah? =X
Originally posted by Bubblyl3:That one can understand.. you must give a bit like donation to temple for their kindness prayer mah.. but this monk actually tell my parents after prayer must give ang bao.
Did he specify any amount of ang bao money? did he say after prayers and rites, must pay him how much?
there are a lot of fake monks going around in benz and nice cars, conducting funeral rites and prayers for 1k.
If you invite a real monk from a temple, after he finishes, you just need to give him any amount as ang bao. if you need a monk to chant during funeral rites in future, pls call up a temple and ask.
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Eh how he so lucky get your number de ah? =X
ya good point
if you do not want him to come back, make sure he sees you dressed like this
why dun tell your parents about it? tell your parents to speak to him or your uncles or aunties?
if all these fail, tell him if he not going to stop, call the police for harrassement.
a real monk wont ask for $$$
a real monk wont ask for a loan
a real monk will let his faith heal his wound
a real monk will let his faith heal his soul
a real monk will not sms u msg " chao cheeie pie"
a real monk wont pester u for even a sweet.
a real monk smile to ppl even when he is hurt
a real monk still care for ppl even when he himself is trouble by illness
to me he jsut using a monk states to earn $$$
maybe at nite he also go KTV.
Originally posted by Bubblyl3:I happen to know this funernal monk that provide prayer services.
Recently, he drop me an sms that he got kidney failure and asking for donation. Of course without any doubt i suggested to give him 100 then he said he very sick asking me to donate 200. Then follow by a loan of $300. I told him.. i don't have much to lend him cos my mother had an operation and got an hearing aid not long ago.
He said thanks.. and not long after he come back for more donation. This time round i told him sorry i don't have any to lend him. As it is month end.. Me damn broke. He change his donation to borrow another $300 from me and promiss to return to me within a week.
I mean he been giving prayer service to so many families. And each service he is charging was 3~500 per session. if one day he perform 3 session ==> average will be 1k income.
Wonder is he a con or he is really sick.
Come come share your view.
take a bible. smack it on his head
and say
"Belive in christ and you shall heal!"
he dare to come ask again i pei fu him!
i seen monks with PDA...and last time when i was young , a nun bought my neighbour semi detach house
Originally posted by marcteng:Did he specify any amount of ang bao money? did he say after prayers and rites, must pay him how much?
there are a lot of fake monks going around in benz and nice cars, conducting funeral rites and prayers for 1k.
If you invite a real monk from a temple, after he finishes, you just need to give him any amount as ang bao. if you need a monk to chant during funeral rites in future, pls call up a temple and ask.
got got.. he tell my parents give about each ang bao $28.
He was driving a benz when he was there to conduct funeral rites.
I won't call him again. Anyway that monk was engage by the funeral service. We also don't know which temple he from. only know he do prayer for the dead lor.
That time my aunty invited a team nun and her fellow believers over to give prayer. Is free and they one whole group of them is like 20 of them. They only want some sweet soup after prayer that all. It was like last min arrangement after we engage with that monk things.
Originally posted by Hwaimeng:a real monk wont ask for $$$
a real monk wont ask for a loan
a real monk will let his faith heal his wound
a real monk will let his faith heal his soul
a real monk will not sms u msg " chao cheeie pie"
a real monk wont pester u for even a sweet.
a real monk smile to ppl even when he is hurt
a real monk still care for ppl even when he himself is trouble by illness
to me he jsut using a monk states to earn $$$
maybe at nite he also go KTV.
Anyway i tot monk shouldn't be afraid of death right.. he don't go hell who will. That is what the jin shu indicate right?
Originally posted by haha879:i seen monks with PDA...and last time when i was young , a nun bought my neighbour semi detach house
duh..
i saw a freaking monk drinking at starbuck with a Iphone and a viao laptop..
beat that.
i ever seen monk smoke
lol
our reporter have reported be4 on the fake monk night activies
morning go "si ma lu" temple street to con those auntie
at nite use the $$$ go drink with his thai friends in geylang coffee shop
i try to find the achives if possible (- -) this have been at least 2 years ago...
Originally posted by limpper:i ever seen monk smoke
lol
marlboro or texas?
Originally posted by Bubblyl3:got got.. he tell my parents give about each ang bao $28.
He was driving a benz when he was there to conduct funeral rites.
I won't call him again. Anyway that monk was engage by the funeral service. We also don't know which temple he from. only know he do prayer for the dead lor.
That time my aunty invited a team nun and her fellow believers over to give prayer. Is free and they one whole group of them is like 20 of them. They only want some sweet soup after prayer that all. It was like last min arrangement after we engage with that monk things.
fake monks are aplenty these days. really sad. so next time just call up a temple or visit the temple to invite monks to conduct the funeral rites.
these fake monks karma is very heavy indeed. they are not even worthy of wearing the yellow or orange robes befitting of a real monk, who has to observe about 200 plus vinaya or monastic rules, one of which is not eating after noon. as during the Buddha's time, there are no cigg or drugs, but modern monks/nuns know that smoking is a harmful habit, so they avoid these.
well these fake monks will have to answer to their own karma, for these are created by them.
Read this on Straits Times today, about fake monks:
A FOUR-STOREY motel smack in the red light district of Geylang has been the hideaway for groups of bogus monks and nuns who make their way from northern Thailand in and out of Singapore for quick pickings.
Numbering as many as 100, they take refuge in Lorong 28 in Geylang, venturing out in the mornings for their ‘alms’ rounds.At any one time, there could be 20 or 30 of them. Last week, there were about 50 of them.
They are Thais on social visit passes who use the guise of religious robes to prey on the sensibilities of HDB heartlanders. The scam has been going on for at least two years.
The whole group made a quick exit on Friday afternoon, after police came sniffing around their lodgings the night before.
In twos and threes, they lugged their backpacks and trolley bags onto taxis and made their way to Golden Mile Complex in Beach Road.
After exchanging Singapore currency for Thai baht, they boarded coaches headed for Johor Baru, herded by a Thai man who appeared to be in charge of the logistics.
‘I am scared I’ll get arrested,’ said a 21-year-old who readily admitted that he was no monk. ‘If I am thrown in jail, I will have no future,’ he said, adding that he was harbouring hopes of returning as a construction worker.
Under the Miscellaneous Offences Act, anyone who collects alms or solicits charitable contributions under false pretences can be fined up to $2,000 or jailed up to three months, or both.
A police spokesman said they had conducted checks at the lodging house in Geylang but ‘did not note any offence’. ‘The occupants were advised that begging for money without a licence is an offence in Singapore.’
Speaking through an interpreter, the fake monk said he was on his third masquerade in Singapore.
The objective: To collect as much money as he could on his alms-begging rounds before his social visit pass expired.
The farmer from Khon Kaen was here for only five days before the police came. His collection: about $30 to $40 a day, far less than what an aggressive monk could get, he said.
‘Last time, we used to earn more. Now, there are too many of us,’ he lamented.
The Sunday Times team discovered the presence of the group after tailing a monk who was at a popular hawker centre in Bedok North last Sunday.
Barefoot and clad in earthy yellow robes, the bald man was moving around the tables silently with a wooden bowl in hand.
Some patrons parted with coins and small notes, and were rewarded with a reverent bow.
The tall and gaunt monk ended up at the nameless four-storey building in Lorong 28, Geylang, which is shielded from the road by a cardboard wall mounted at the gate.
Sunday Times checks showed the group had taken 12 rooms in all, occupying the third and fourth floors. The first two floors are rooms for rent by the hour.
Neighbouring shopkeepers know of their presence, but declined to say more beyond that ‘they are always around’.
The bogus monks were reticent when approached but from what those who spoke let slip, whoever pulled the strings ran a well-oiled operation.
The men and women head straight for the motel when they arrive in Singapore.
Armed with their own novice religious robes, they pay the motel $10 a night for accommodation.
On the first few days, a Thai man takes them in hand, showing them how to take a bus to various hawker centres. At the end of three days, they are to pay the ‘guide’ 10,000 baht or $483.
They are then left on their own to collect what money they can.
The Venerable Phramaha Rian Manone-Yang, honorary-secretary of the Thai Buddhist Temple in Singapore, said these fake monks operate in syndicates which are based in Johor and Hatyai in southern Thailand.
The gang leaders work closely with their partners in Singapore, who pocket 30 per cent of their collections, he added.
The monk, who is based in a temple in Jalan Bukit Merah, said he knows of a fake monk who admitted that he made about $800 in a day.
‘They do not just ask for money, they also sell fake Buddhist amulets for as much as $50.’
The Venerable Manone-Yang said real monks asked for only food, not money. And they can do this only between 6am and 8am.
The Geylang ‘monks’ and ‘nuns’ have a ritual, as a Sunday Times stake-out outside the motel showed.
The lights on their floors come on at about 5am.
Half an hour later, the men, with shaven heads, barefoot and in saffron robes of varying shades of red, orange or brown, and white-robed women with their hair bunned up at the back of the head, start streaming out singly or in pairs.
They catch a bus along Guillemard Road, Sims Avenue and Geylang Road, fanning out to the HDB heartland of Marine Parade, Bedok and Tampines. They pay for their bus fares with coins.
On their begging rounds, they do not utter a word, merely holding out a wooden alms bowl in front of them.
Retiree Choo Kian Watt, 66, who has breakfast regularly at a coffee shop in Bedok North Road, sees them often.
‘I used to give a dollar or two, but since I stopped working, I give less frequently now,’ said the former odd-job labourer.
‘I never doubted if they were real or not. I give when I’m in a good mood.’
By noon, most of the men are back at the motel. They usually head straight for a woman in the lobby, overturn their alms bowls and exchange their coins for notes.
Some of the ‘monks’ said the woman takes $1 for every $50 worth of coins.
Then it is back up to their rooms and into casual wear – T-shirts and bermudas.
Their robes are tossed casually over the staircase railings.
Clearly worried about being spotted as ‘monks’, they leave the motel singly when they go out for lunch – caps on heads and even wigs for some. They end up at a coffee shop several lanes away.
The more hardworking ‘monks’ do a second round in the afternoon. As for the ‘nuns’, they return only in the evening, with packets of food – never venturing out again until the next morning.
One ‘monk’ said: ‘We are told not to go anywhere but back to the room. We’re scared that people who have donated money to us will see us,’ he said.
Some, though, are more adventurous. The Sunday Times tailed a pair to a Thai pub in Geylang and even spotted one ‘monk’ with a woman friend.
Their masquerade came to an abrupt end when police, tipped off by The Sunday Times, decided to check on them to see if their passports were in order.
By lunchtime the next day, they were packed up and ready to leave. Scuttling out of the building, one ‘monk’ told The Sunday Times that they had been ‘forced to quit’.
When confronted, the woman who appears to be running the motel denied that there were monks staying there. Her male friend said the Thais in the motel were merely looking for their friends.
Then the duo refused to take further questions and scurried back into the building. Soon after, taxis with ‘on call’ signs showed up, to take the remaining Thais away.
Before his coach departed Beach Road, one of the ‘monks’ said: ‘We know people will give to monks. We know it’s wrong but we need the money.’
With that, he went up the bus, sat down and waved goodbye with a smile.
Like many others, I am wondering why the authorities are not doing anything about it – selling fake amulets, feeding on the kindness of Singaporeans, acting dumb and all – and it’s not just the fake monks that I am talking about. Remember the people who pretend to be dumb and deaf at McDonalds, Starbucks or Coffee Bean selling keychains and fluffy toys? I really hope they will stop doing it. I am running out of sympathy for people and I am starting to think that everyone else who is dumb and deaf are fakies.
Moreover, I am starting to suspect that these ang mos are really backpackers who are low on funds and got ear of Singaporean’s kindness and start treating us like idiots. Has anyone tried tailing them to find out who they really are? I hope they get exposed soon.
i found this
jus heck care him..