Hi all, I am training for endurance and run at least 80km per week. 3 times a week, i will do strength training to improve my core stability and performance. My daily diet is usually:
- 4-5 servings of fruit & veggie (e.g. apples, oranges, pears, broccoli, spinach, etc)
- 2 sweet potatoes and 4 slices of wholemeal bread/2 servings muesli(source of carb for dinner and lunch)
- 2 egg whites
- 1 cup of unsweetened soy milk
- Around 200g of nuts (in the form of peanut butter, roasted nuts like cashew, almond, walnut)
I just wana know whether it is ok to consume so much nuts. My weight is pretty stable.. Any comments, suggestions and opinions are welcome!
no problem at all
Is that a per day meal? Aren't you eating too little?
Wow man you're gonna die if you continue with this diet with so little food try taking in more carbs as you're doing lots of endurance runs
wow 80km per week... for me i think 15km can die liao
Originally posted by Agenda:wow 80km per week... for me i think 15km can die liao
Agree. 15km already can die.
But I know of my neighbour, she does 10km on the threadmill everyday.
I thought she bragging, so I beo see whether she really do 10km, her treadmill really above 10km everyday.
you continue your present diet and you will end up looking like an holocast victim.
Man,where is your protein. You are like eating only Carb and Fats leh......
You need enough protein or your muscles to recover and strengthen itself for future demanding needs on your body...
Eat at least 1 gram of protein per kg of body weight.You
you continue your present diet and you will end up looking like an holocast victim.
You need enough protein or your muscles to recover and strengthen itself for future demanding needs on your body...
Eat at least 1 gram of protein per kg of body weight.You are
Eat at least 1 gram of protein per kg of body weight.You are like
Eat at least 1 gram of protein per kg of body weight. The way you are eating, you are sure to get weaker and weaker.
Sorry guyz, been busy lately, so din reply here.. Thanks for all the feedback. I am only 45kg, 170cm, age: 20 this year, entering NS in july. I lost around 13kg since I decided to do endurance sports. The first time i started to exercise was because my blood pressure was slightly high (120+/90+) Previously i was more into strength training but now my main regime is training to keep fit in order to run marathons faster.
Yup, I know i need more protein.. My protein is usually obtained from vegetarian sources because meat/fish are more expensive and my dad will not be happy if i were to eat meat or fish. I dont eat what my family eats because the food they cook is stir-fried and quite oily. I cook my own food (boil/steam) which i think is nice with some seasoning! Thus, if i were to eat fish/meat, I have to ask my mum buy extra for me, tts when my dad will complain waste $. So basically, i have 1-2 servings of fish weekly and nearly 0 servings of meat. My dad even complain that i am wasting water and gas! (because extra water and gas is needed to boil/steam food). Things are so bad that I have to resort to hiding my food (my nuts) in my wardrobe so that he won't see them and scold me again. Even if these nuts were purchased using my own $, he also will scold scold scold.
I also feel that i need to eat more because I dun really feel full on this diet and honestly, after posting this topic, I fell sick (gastric ulcer) a few days later. For the entire week, I couldn't sleep at night at all. My dad din even console me, all he said was 'u got into this situation because u din eat rice! See la, now your stomach is gonna torture you!'
Its been 2 weeks and I am fully recovered (hopefully no more gastric pain!) I intend to increase my food intake also, but I am still not sure how much calories I need.. Now, I have incorporated some junk food (those cheap biscuits tt cost $4/kg) into my diet to get more calories and I realize that I feel much energetic during my runs! I have also included 1 big beancurd for dinner for extra protein. I wanted to buy cans of tuna too, but they are quite steep for me..
sigh... My intention was to train, enjoy exercising while keeping fit at the same time, but it turned out that I am harming my body instead..
you are much too light for a guy for that height...
Anyway in NS, you can buy all sorts of food and stuff and put in your bunk, so no worries...