does jogging slim down a person???i read a few post and i remember someone say that jogging doesnt slim u down..
then i don understand something is that when u sweat does it means u are burning fats off or its just losing water??? can someone clear my doubts??thanks
do 30 secs jog 30 sprints set for 8 sets every alt days for 3 times a week.
sure lose fats.
Jogging (or any aerobic exercise, for that matter) is good at burning fats. It can sustain your heart rate within the fat burning-zone of 60%-80% of your maximum heart rate, in which most of the energy you burn comes from fats.
That said, a sensible diet should follow it, and there's no point running long distances day in day out if you eat junk food every day.
When you sweat, all it means is that your body is heating up, and is trying to cool down. You can sweat by walking slowly in the hot sun with very little fat loss.
In the end, don't think so much about it. Just run and eat sensibly.
sian leh...last time i lose weight then recently gain back a little then got tummy..mus get rid of that
That said, a sensible diet should follow it, and there's no point running long distances day in day out if you eat junk food every day.
Well said
Originally posted by eagle:Well said
but i feel that all the junk food are those nice food. y want to deprive ourselves?
Originally posted by bryanw:but i feel that all the junk food are those nice food. y want to deprive ourselves?
Junk food = high fat, high cholesterol and what have you.
Try reading the nutrition menus on McDonalds trays.... do a little bit of math, and you'll find that you'll be consuming something like 1000 calories per meal.
The key here is moderation. If you really like your junk food, then go ahead, but keep it to maybe once a week.
Besides, there are a lot of other good food that are considerably healthier. Pasta with tomato sauce and (skinless) grilled chicken is one example.
Originally posted by fudgester:Junk food = high fat, high cholesterol and what have you.
Try reading the nutrition menus on McDonalds trays.... do a little bit of math, and you'll find that you'll be consuming something like 1000 calories per meal.
The key here is moderation. If you really like your junk food, then go ahead, but keep it to maybe once a week.
Besides, there are a lot of other good food that are considerably healthier. Pasta with tomato sauce and (skinless) grilled chicken is one example.
i think the only healthy food i eat is fish soup with rice or those double boiled soups like salted veg duck soup. macdonald and the canteen nasi lemak/char kway teow/fried bee hoon plus chicken wings, fishcake, luncheon meat, sausage were my favourites during ns.
The thought of running... really makes u sien.. but after u run like 20 minutes.. u feel hella good.
Originally posted by fudgester:Jogging (or any aerobic exercise, for that matter) is good at burning fats. It can sustain your heart rate within the fat burning-zone of 60%-80% of your maximum heart rate, in which most of the energy you burn comes from fats.
thats not really true. in fact you burn more fat at rest. as you increase the intensity, less fat percentage is being burn. note that its in percentage. not actual total amount of fat.
as you increase your speed/intensity, even though the % of fat being burn is reduced, on the overall, you'll require more energy. calculating the % based on the energy expanded, more fats will in fact be burn at higher intensity.
but i read some post talking about HIIT...what are some exercise inculded???i know sprinting and does planks count wat is planks i also read a lot about it
hiit could applied to running, cycling.
Hiit cant be done on planks i guess. plank is basically holding the pushup position for a long time. maybe >1 min? not too sure about the timing for effective planks have to ask eagle or some pro. It trains your core muscles btw. including your inner thighs.
Originally posted by davidche:hiit could applied to running, cycling.
perhaps fartlek or interval.
HIIT Rowing ?
Originally posted by davidche:hiit could applied to running, cycling.
Hiit cant be done on planks i guess. plank is basically holding the pushup position for a long time. maybe >1 min? not too sure about the timing for effective planks have to ask eagle or some pro. It trains your core muscles btw. including your inner thighs.
timing... just do till cannot do lor... simple...
usually 30 seconds to 1 minute (or more for fitter people0
oh like this say mean HIIT means doing an exercise till u cannot hold it anymore then rest for a minute or so then do again until cannot then again for a few times la???
I'm saying it for planks.
HIIT is something like... Supposed you sprint 100m as fast as you can. Rest maybe around one minute. Then repeat 3 to 5 times more, depending on your fitness.
Hmzz looks like can try this routine tonight
okok la understand a bit a bit...so it means to go the the max and rest then to the max and repeating???and btw ho seh bo toffee..hahaha
Ho seh. You leh? When you come back to SG? Still playing snooker arh
dono leh maybe sept 19...here where got snooker got pool only go back then we go snooker...hahahhaa...sure gone case man
i dun understand leh. here u all say jogging can slim down, but then one of the stickies say no leh.
Q) But what about jogging for cardio? Isn't that the best way of losing weight?
A) No. In fact, it can be counter productive. You see, jogging is a form of steady state cardio exercise. What this means is that you keep a rather low speed that you're able to sustain for long periods of time. The premise of this exercise for weight loss is that you are able to run longer, hence burning more calories. However, there are problems with this.
- The more you run, the more efficient you become at running. As you get more efficient, your body will burn less calories. Imagine a car driving on a highway at 60km/h. It will achieve its highest fuel efficiency, meaning it will burn less fuel. The body acts the same way. This is great if your mission is to run a marathon, but bad if your mission is to burn calories and fat!
- The more you run, the more you waste your muscles. Muscle mass cannot be built or even maintained by running. In fact, running for long durations will actually bring your body into a catabolic state, meaning your muscles will start burning away. If your goal is to reduce your body fat percentage, then it would be in your best interest to keep as much muscle mass as you can, or even increase it. Running, or any other steady state aerobic exercise doesn't achieve this.
here's the url http://www.sgforums.com/forums/2762/topics/288110
so which one is true?!
simply stated:
1. Running is a steady state cardio exercise. It only burns calories when you're actually doing it. Once your body get use the the pace of the exercise, it will go into a "conservating energy" state. That's why some of the forumers said you can do HIIT or High Intensity Interval Training.
2. Body building builds muscle mass. Body will continue to burn calories even after the workout session, although much lesser.
To efficiently burn fats, the best way is to do ur cardio, do ur gym workouts and keep a great diet.
If you're someone who had not really exercise or is overweight, dun even worry about what the stickies say. You WILL be burning fats when you run. The body is not even conditioned for it.
And since we are on the topic of running, anyone wanna take part the the New Balance Real Run?
http://www.realrun.sg/
4km trail, 0.6km sand, 10.4km road.
Originally posted by eagle:I'm saying it for planks.
HIIT is something like... Supposed you sprint 100m as fast as you can. Rest maybe around one minute. Then repeat 3 to 5 times more, depending on your fitness.
Not really rest lah, slow jog. It can be timing dependent too, meaning sprint for 30sec, jog for 2 min.
I've seem hardcore runners train in the gym by setting 2 treadmills, one slower speed, one high speed. Yes, they jump from one treadmill onto another and back. (But not in sg lah, sg people care alot about how others judge you)