then you got one star cert?Originally posted by redstone:I don't have any cert, but had learnt to 1 star standard
is it? I thought can just rent and go?Originally posted by popikachu:then you got one star cert?
cus no cert cannot used kayak can only used canoe leh...
rent and go is for canoe...Originally posted by airgrinder:is it? I thought can just rent and go?
no need ah... ...Originally posted by popikachu:rent and go is for canoe...
kayak need at least a 1 star cert...
yea i talking about changi sea sport club...Originally posted by airgrinder:no need ah... ...
Used to kayak at east coast with friends. Or are u talking about some sea sports clubs?
now... in order to do kayaking, u need certificate ,meh ???Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:better call and check which clubs have open top kayak/canoe for those with no star
cos last I checked, a few of them don't have. In fact they told me only Paddlez have.
to rent from sea sports club (water venture)Originally posted by ispyyy:now... in order to do kayaking, u need certificate ,meh ???
like tat ok lah...Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:to rent from sea sports club (water venture)
you need a minimum of 1 star, else you can only rent open top kayaks, which many don't have.
even if you have kayaking star cert, but if your cert NOT taken by water venture (PA sea sports), they may check your capsize drill to ensure you know what's going to happen.
if you have those ancient NCC certs or something,Originally posted by ispyyy:like tat ok lah...
Coz, I have been to so many canoeing courses till sian liao...
if in order to canoe, need cert and go thru everything again ...
grrrrrr....
Anyway, I like to capsize... hahaha....
yup. generally called this wayOriginally posted by popikachu:Err....
Kayak --> No open top.
Canoe --> Open top.
^^
no no!Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:yup. generally called this way
canoe comes from the indian canoe
whereas kayak comes from eskimo kayaks
but the plastic flat ones, they call it open top kayak. don't ask me why.
issit? last i rented there, they called it flat top kayakOriginally posted by popikachu:no no!
it is called canoe in actual too!
-.-"Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:paddles are different too.
some people classify canoe paddle as those with paddle on only one end
but kayak has paddle on both ends