Hey cool. Perhaps we can all go watch it together Organize an outing then we can go photography meteor showers!!!!!Originally posted by redstone:Sure.
Geminids meteor shower.
Radiant point, constellation Gemini
Peak would be the night/early morning of 13/14 December.
It's one of the most intense showers, meteors per minute.
Wah. Geminids! I want to see leh..Originally posted by redstone:Sure.
Geminids meteor shower.
Radiant point, constellation Gemini
Peak would be the night/early morning of 13/14 December.
It's one of the most intense showers, meteors per minute.
I've watched showers from Dover before. On the last showers, I counted 12 meteors in the space of hours. We were in a small group, so we recorded all the meteors. In total, around 23 meteors.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I think Singapore can't see it leh.
Coma Berenicids right?
Me wan to sit beside kitty!Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me wan to sit beside darkie!
By the time you see the meteor, u press the shutter, its long gone. The slowest meteor lasts for 1 secondOriginally posted by soleachip:Hey cool. Perhaps we can all go watch it together Organize an outing then we can go photography meteor showers!!!!!
Thought it's a bit like taking pictures of lightning? Same deal but can be done?Originally posted by redstone:By the time you see the meteor, u press the shutter, its long gone. The slowest meteor lasts for 1 second
Wah. Me have to buy a 2GB memory card and ON my camera liao.Originally posted by redstone:By the time you see the meteor, u press the shutter, its long gone. The slowest meteor lasts for 1 second
yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Me wan to sit beside kitty!
IIRC is east directionOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Must look at the south direction huh?
Cheem. Can be done leh. Meteor shower photo session! woohoo...Originally posted by redstone:IIRC is east direction
I dunno how u're going to shoot meteors. I never tried it before too. Least lighting is more predictable den meteors. Maybe overseas is a better idea for meteor photography. Hmm.. it seems u need long exposure, low ISO setting. And lots of luck, since in Sg only the brightest meteors can be seen, due to urban glare.Originally posted by soleachip:Cheem. Can be done leh. Meteor shower photo session! woohoo...
All you need is an SLR and a tripod plus cable release
Hmmm, I've never done night shooting before but I'm thinking we only need an SLR to set to B mode and high ISO (for film usually 400 but on digital cameras I may go on ISO800 - 1000), tripod and then just choose a very dark spot away from the urban lights.Originally posted by redstone:I dunno how u're going to shoot meteors. I never tried it before too. Least lighting is more predictable den meteors. Maybe overseas is a better idea for meteor photography. Hmm.. it seems u need long exposure, low ISO setting. And lots of luck, since in Sg only the brightest meteors can be seen, due to urban glare.
For astro photography u need a equatorial mount, for those ultra long exposure (say a few mins) without the star trials. This ould be rigged to mini computer which will follow the earth's rotation as it moves. Dont really need this for meteor I suppose.
For closer view..Originally posted by redstone:IIRC is east direction
oi, my camera is only 6mp prosumer with no cable release or remote hor!Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Me only got a lousy 12mp digital camera.
Hmm my camera is only prosumer, still has its own limitations. Would love to try meteor photography one day. But i dont have remote!Originally posted by soleachip:Hmmm, I've never done night shooting before but I'm thinking we only need an SLR to set to B mode and high ISO (for film usually 400 but on digital cameras I may go on ISO800 - 1000), tripod and then just choose a very dark spot away from the urban lights.
Never done it before so I'm not sure but albeit disappointing results, fun experiments may yield nice shots too. Thanks for all the info!
Mine also very lousy leh.Originally posted by redstone:Hmm my camera is only prosumer, still has its own limitations. Would love to try meteor photography one day. But i dont have remote!