Theres a method of noise removal for astro. Forgot the actual term.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Mine also very lousy leh.
Set to Max ISO, every thing is so grainy. Can't even see my pi sai.
Originally posted by redstone:Theres a method of noise removal for astro. Forgot the actual term.
You take a photo of whatever your subject in the sky is. Take note of your settings. Then you take the same photo, this time with the lens cap on, so this 2nd photo will only capture the noise.
Then in photoshop, subtract off the 2nd photo from the first photo.
Else the noise is so bad that you dont know if the white dots are stars or noise.
Have never done it before either so will be nice to give it a shot. Thinking of using an old manual Nikon FM10 for it. Might be nice... I don't have a remote either. Just hold your breath, don't move for 30 seconds and click.Originally posted by redstone:Hmm my camera is only prosumer, still has its own limitations. Would love to try meteor photography one day. But i dont have remote!
Cheem... like double exposure?Originally posted by redstone:Theres a method of noise removal for astro. Forgot the actual term.
You take a photo of whatever your subject in the sky is. Take note of your settings. Then you take the same photo, this time with the lens cap on, so this 2nd photo will only capture the noise.
Then in photoshop, subtract off the 2nd photo from the first photo.
Else the noise is so bad that you dont know if the white dots are stars or noise.
Yea, think of it as reverse double exposureOriginally posted by soleachip:Cheem... like double exposure?
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:12mp! (show off)
[b]For closer view..
South-east direction is when it starts to appear -> around 1am
Best watch at East coast park
South direction is about 2am.. Perhaps best view at Sentosa
South-west direction is about at 3am.. Best view at Sentosa/Jurong Area.
South-west west at 4am.. Tuas will be a good place to watch..
Hmm~ about 1am+ can see the meteor shower... I guess sentosa will be very packed..
So maybe i'll go ECP..
For better view..
All the way North of Singapore.. like Woodland, Yishun etc.[/b]
What were you snapping?Originally posted by redstone:Yea, think of it as reverse double exposure
I've tried before, lying on te ground, lookin thru viewfinder and taking long exposure shots, by pressing cam to my face to stablilse
12mp digital camera = lousy for meteor shower capturing leh.Originally posted by soleachip:12mp! (show off)
ECP will be good! I remember watching a meteor shower at Changi Beach before but ideally can go to a higher land (say a hill or something?)
And if it rains then we can make drape mini ponchos over the camera and try taking pictures of lightning.
Was taking photo of Sirius and some nearby building for funOriginally posted by soleachip:What were you snapping?
Think I have an amateur lie on the ground shot, long exposure but that was color reversal film. Lying on the floor wasn't necessary but it felt kindda cool, getting grubby for 'the moment.'
I think this was the one taken so many years ago...
noob shot.
MP means mega pixels right? Why is a 12mp camera lousy for capturing meteor shower?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:12mp digital camera = lousy for meteor shower capturing leh.
mine is not SLR.
True... my only experience watching meteor shower was: when somebody saw a meteor, they would point and scream, by the time the rest of us turn around, the meteor is gone already. I think it comes and goes in a split second. Share some of your Scorpius and Centaurus shots?Originally posted by redstone:Was taking photo of Sirius and some nearby building for fun
Also tried in Desaru once, and shot Scorpius and Centaurus. Too lazy then to take more shots. Too busy admiring the stars. Should had shot more!
Haha I'll just lie down on the ground and stare at the sky. But somehow I'll usually miss a few, either I'm scanning somewhere else or I'm distracted by all the chatting. hehe.Originally posted by soleachip:True... my only experience watching meteor shower was: when somebody saw a meteor, they would point and scream, by the time the rest of us turn around, the meteor is gone already. I think it comes and goes in a split second. Share some of your Scorpius and Centaurus shots?
Seriously dude you took them? Sh*t good man.Originally posted by redstone:Haha I'll just lie down on the ground and stare at the sky. But somehow I'll usually miss a few, either I'm scanning somewhere else or I'm distracted by all the chatting. hehe.
http://redstonean.deviantart.com/art/Constellation-Scorpius-60414514
http://redstonean.deviantart.com/art/Constellation-Centaurus-60414573
Yar. MP is mega pixel.Originally posted by soleachip:MP means mega pixels right? Why is a 12mp camera lousy for capturing meteor shower?
Mine is also a 12mp.
Oh I see... whether an ultra compact or DSLR, they are still cameras. Still can take photos. Do you have any pictures to share?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Yar. MP is mega pixel.
12MP ultracompact =/= 12MP DSLR
mine is ultracompact
Shooting stars~~~~~~Originally posted by popikachu:soli but what is meteor? >.<"
yeah man... this one is my favourite so far from his/her pool of stuff. Very reflective picture.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Wah. That two picture very nice leh.
Last time I went to take the Orion constellation.. The picture soo grainy..Originally posted by soleachip:Oh I see... whether an ultra compact or DSLR, they are still cameras. Still can take photos. Do you have any pictures to share?
Hmmm... this may be helpful.Originally posted by popikachu:soli but what is meteor? >.<"
Maybe try shooting on a film camera or invest in a better one lah. My ISO at 800 is like this, so quite cool.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Last time I went to take the Orion constellation.. The picture soo grainy..
I nearly vomit blood when I saw it on my laptop..
/vomit blood.
Ya.Originally posted by soleachip:Maybe try shooting on a film camera or invest in a better one lah. My ISO at 800 is like this, so quite cool.
Where did you take the Orion constellation? Singapore?