Well this pika here has to idea what job he wanna do next time and totally no idea where he wanna go after his O's...
Care to share your experience?
Like what is your job? Admin? Marketing? Enginering? IT? Hospitality?
What your jobs does?
And what type of course to get your job?
For poly students now, how is your current course now like?
what you study about and what is the future job scope?
IT, very easy right now.. as in only need to listen in tutorial and lecture, exam never study also can get A
Originally posted by Agenda:IT, very easy right now.. as in only need to listen in tutorial and lecture, exam never study also can get A
It got a lot of types...
What type you have?
Then what's the future job scope about? what they does?
After several years in which Hong Kong and Tokyo were the finance technology leaders, Singapore has rapidly become a leading financial centre and technology hub in its own right, offering a wider range of products and services to local and global markets than ever before.
While for some time Singapore has been considered an ideal location for global banks to build development, support and infrastructure hubs to support their expanding global requirements, more firms are now enhancing their presence there to align these technology centres to trading desks. While few firms house their regional trading franchises locally, they are looking to Singapore to provide a range of trading-specific functions.
This is creating a greater need for technologists with a more diverse skill set, including specific knowledge of traded instruments. As a result, the demand for finance technology candidates has never been higher. Demand is across the full gamut of skills, from the traditional focus of development and support functions to the increasingly popular project skills such as business analysts, project and programme managers, service and delivery lead skills, as well as QA and testing functions.
C++ and Java developers with strong server-side/real-time specific development skills are in particular demand, as are Unix, SQL, Oracle and C# developers (Winforms). FX, fixed income, commodities and derivatives (generic) are also popular.
In light of the demand for staff, salaries have risen. For example, business analysts are in short supply (a reflection of Singapore becoming locally responsible for regional projects), and there is a definite willingness from most employers to increase their salaries, especially where candidates have a high level of relevant business knowledge.
There are many advantages to working in Singapore as a technologist. The favourable taxation system and quality of life offered in Singapore compared to Hong Kong or Tokyo are particular attractions to the market.
And while more exposure to the business can often be gained through Hong Kong roles, given the demand for the very best technologists and a shallow local candidate pool, most top-tier firms are now prepared to recruit individuals without a finance background, providing they have first-rate skills in their specialist area. This provides an ideal opportunity for candidates looking to enter the banking market for the first time.
Originally posted by kramnave:The finance technology recruitment market has been transformed and demand for skills is now incredibly high, says Chris Mead, general manager of Hays in Singapore.
After several years in which Hong Kong and Tokyo were the finance technology leaders, Singapore has rapidly become a leading financial centre and technology hub in its own right, offering a wider range of products and services to local and global markets than ever before.
While for some time Singapore has been considered an ideal location for global banks to build development, support and infrastructure hubs to support their expanding global requirements, more firms are now enhancing their presence there to align these technology centres to trading desks. While few firms house their regional trading franchises locally, they are looking to Singapore to provide a range of trading-specific functions.
This is creating a greater need for technologists with a more diverse skill set, including specific knowledge of traded instruments. As a result, the demand for finance technology candidates has never been higher. Demand is across the full gamut of skills, from the traditional focus of development and support functions to the increasingly popular project skills such as business analysts, project and programme managers, service and delivery lead skills, as well as QA and testing functions.
C++ and Java developers with strong server-side/real-time specific development skills are in particular demand, as are Unix, SQL, Oracle and C# developers (Winforms). FX, fixed income, commodities and derivatives (generic) are also popular.
In light of the demand for staff, salaries have risen. For example, business analysts are in short supply (a reflection of Singapore becoming locally responsible for regional projects), and there is a definite willingness from most employers to increase their salaries, especially where candidates have a high level of relevant business knowledge.
There are many advantages to working in Singapore as a technologist. The favourable taxation system and quality of life offered in Singapore compared to Hong Kong or Tokyo are particular attractions to the market.
And while more exposure to the business can often be gained through Hong Kong roles, given the demand for the very best technologists and a shallow local candidate pool, most top-tier firms are now prepared to recruit individuals without a finance background, providing they have first-rate skills in their specialist area. This provides an ideal opportunity for candidates looking to enter the banking market for the first time.
ok hahaha...if one is interested in banking & finance + if have strong IT skills..should be very marketable.
Originally posted by kramnave:ok hahaha...if one is interested in banking & finance + if have strong IT skills..should be very marketable.
My aim is not the highest possible + stable pay...
My aim is something I like with reasonable pay... Of course must got ppl want me that kind...
hmm...
What does Admin do?
What course is about admin?
Originally posted by popikachu:It got a lot of types...
What type you have?Then what's the future job scope about? what they does?
programming java, but next time I wanna join to banking or something. banking confim won't collapse 1
go and source for things to sell, then sell them on market place here.
Originally posted by popikachu:My aim is not the highest possible + stable pay...
My aim is something I like with reasonable pay... Of course must got ppl want me that kind...
hmm...
What does Admin do?
What course is about admin?
what can you offer to your future employers will determine the pay you can expect them to give.
IF you are the boss will you pay $3K for a O level to do a simple admin job ?
Originally posted by Guardx:what can you offer to your future employers will determine the pay you can expect them to give.
IF you are the boss will you pay $3K for a O level to do a simple admin job ?
Ngee Ann poly Engineering common year program.
Going into Mechatronics in year 2.
Finish poly, Go NS, Den go uni overseas. . jump to business or sumthing. .
Getting diploma juz for the sake of it. . dunno my job scope oso.
For now, im on hols, im werking at K-Line logistics as warehouse assistant.
u might as well go army then go overseas..waste time go poly for what if u not interested.
Was always in sales and customer service industries while now taking IT course.
Originally posted by kramnave:u might as well go army then go overseas..waste time go poly for what if u not interested.
Originally posted by rlsh07:
he's just asking for advice though. you dun have to be so fierce though
lol it's ok cus people dun bother to read the whole thing and understand before posting and making didnt realise that they are making a fool of themself...
what i wanna know is the future job i wanna have so that i know what course i am gonna take after i completed my O's
Just go for your field of interest. Things can (and they usually do) work out from there.
Think of what you're passionate about at this point and forget about what society needs.
In layman's terms, society will always finds its own set of supply to meet changing trends but on an individual basis (you), only you can feed your own fire.
I tried enrolling into Business Admin after the O levels but never quite made it. Left after one semester and enrolled in the course of my choice. Me thinks education don't stop even after graduation. After a period of time, you'll start wanting to do it for personal growth etc. I think it goes on and on.
Originally posted by kramnave:u might as well go army then go overseas..waste time go poly for what if u not interested.
theres always the parent factor in decision made my teens.
playing along with their wish.
its their cash aniwae
Originally posted by popikachu:lol it's ok cus people dun bother to read the whole thing and understand before posting and making didnt realise that they are making a fool of themself...
what i wanna know is the future job i wanna have so that i know what course i am gonna take after i completed my O's
what u wan isnt always gonna be wad u gonna get.
thats the fact of the real world.
with a well enough cut off point to go into poly course of your chopice doesnt gurantee u a spot in it.
need to improvise.
Originally posted by soleachip:Just go for your field of interest. Things can work out from there.
i dun know what i like...
lol
something seems to interest me...
Humans Resource Management with Psychology
Cut of point is 11 or 12...
very hard to go in sia...
Originally posted by popikachu:i dun know what i like...
lol
something seems to interest me...
Humans Resource Management with Psychology
Cut of point is 11 or 12...very hard to go in sia...
Gee I don't know. What can you go on and on for hours about?
Human Resource Management with Psychology or Games?
Why not game design?