Hey take my advice with a pinch of salt. There may be grown ups reading and frowning upon my posts. Hell what do I know. I'm just a kid too.
i believe marine engineering or aerospace have good job prospects. it is an emerging field after all.
first post in SC .
me not from poly but just want to share my exp oso lah
wat im doing now is not directly related to wat i studied
but the soft skills and knowledge i learnt during studying helped a lot
so i can apply to anything i do... not just job... but other things in life too
(yes, can even apply to modding sgforums...)
most impt is knowing wat u are good at... wat u relli enjoy doing.....and finding ur own niche...
come to NP. i oso share abit la.
Marine and Offshore Technology. ship architecture and oil and gas for 3rd year option. oil and gas is mostly learn about those rigs i guess where you pump up oil from the seabed. i think is related to chemical science as well.
working tht time, work as architects? or those at the oil rigs lor.
if you like me no sense of direction or interest, go jc first la. or you can join which course you think make the most money and you will at least enjoy.
Me not from poly, but my previous job & current job are totally not related to my studies too.
For me..I prioritize the expected pay and job expectations(how "stable" is the job & market demand) when it comes to choosing course to study in poly.. but I chose my course because someone recommend dun waste my L1R4 also
i too took the poly route, ns, then uni oversea. But back in my days there is only 3 poly n 2 uni. So life is harder then. IMO, sg is still pretty much a paper orientated society. Degree seem to be the minimum if u intent to work for others in any field, beside sale, just to be ceiling free. Otherwise, it dun really matters since most of what taught in school is hardly ever put to use. Infact, it is the non academic skill we pick up along the way that proves invaluable.
So my advice is to at least finish a diploma or degree b4 u start out searching for what u wish to do for life. Even when u dun end up with the course that u desire, it still isn’t a bad thing. Use it as a stepping stone and work ur way toward ur passion after u graduated. Local here have a mentally that if u dun have at least a dip, u are consider non-educated, invalid, deserve to be look down on.
i am aiming for a dip...
if possible, after that a degree...
^^
Enrolling into NAFA's Arts Management course this coming june/july.
Jobscope - arts manager, event planner, arts marketer etc.
I dont expect these vocations to bring in alot of money at the moment,
but definately i know this is the one for me.
Life long interest/passion involved.
hhaahha!
So can i say that, jobs don't always come from what you study in poly?
But instead the cert is is giving me a job and not the course?
Originally posted by aiglosicicle:i believe marine engineering or aerospace have good job prospects. it is an emerging field after all.
first post in SC .
hmm...
but i have totally no interests in marine and aerospace...
lol
i skip all these and didn't read much info on it...
find out wat is ur passion. if that can be converted to a carrer, go for it
Originally posted by Lin Yu:find out wat is ur passion. if that can be converted to a carrer, go for it
sadly what i like to do is sleeping and eating... haiz... that's why i am kind of... chubby >.<"
Which i doubt anyone will want to hire someone who eat and sleep all day long haha...
Well not that i sleep all day long, but sleep and eat means lazy lol... and people dun like lazy people ^^
frankly speaking...... no matter what choices you're going to take you're probably going to end up like 80-90% of the people around me. only passion they have now is to tio toto and become rich without working
Considered game design liao ma?
Go for something that makes good money lor...even if eventually you don't like it, at least you make money. Better than going into something you eventually don't like and don't earn money haha.
Originally posted by LatecomerX:Considered game design liao ma?
games are never my options ^^
Originally posted by popikachu:games are never my options ^^
I thought you are a DotA fanatic?
Originally posted by LatecomerX:I thought you are a DotA fanatic?
nah...
it was the gathering with friends and playing together with them that is fun...
I neber go poly leh.
HRM with Psych? *shudder* I've spent enough time trying to work with HR *ahem* "professionals" who think they know something about psychology to know that the two should never go together. If you're going to do Psych, do Psych - otherwise don't waste your time.
Double post.
Originally posted by Gedanken:I neber go poly leh.
HRM with Psych? *shudder* I've spent enough time trying to work with HR *ahem* "professionals" who think they know something about psychology to know that the two should never go together. If you're going to do Psych, do Psych - otherwise don't waste your time.
I am quite interested in the HR... I dunno but then it seems nice to me... haha
and the psycho, i've given up studying psycho already... cus one of the requirement to be a phychologist is to have a degree in med bio...
which, i hate bio...
Med bio? Who's this requirement from? Are you thinking about psychiatry instead?