Originally posted by rlsh07:
got this kind of association one ar?
yah at first i also thought it's aunt agony. hehe.
wish my dad were still around to teach me these things. or if i have an older brother would be nice. :)
ah well... life.
Originally posted by tinuviel07:haha i always jumpstart myself.. cos last time always forgot to off the lights.. haha
wah cool. yiny, how do you jumpstart your own car?
Originally posted by soleachip:ok next weekend i will gather two friends who know about cars for a chit chat session.
then teach me this and that.
have been asking some questions at the petrol station.
few weeks ago learn what it's like when wheel is locked.
just last week learn how to top up water nia, coolant etc.
then this week learn about what it's like when battery is flat.
then mechanic tell me a bit here and there about power steering etc but refused to let me lift the bonnet cos it is too 'heavy'!!!
but hold on, my battery is flat, is not because of no battery water right?
actually battery water, depends on the kind of battery you have?
mine is not using battery water one. that one very expensive.
mine has to be charged?
that's what the AA guy said.
think battery water all similar one lah... i dun think there's any difference...
not sure what battery u have.. but generally speaking, if the battery is flat, jump start will do...
and where can i buy this cable ar?
hai...
auto shops ba... but to jumpstart, u need another kind person to lend u his vehicle...
so if u can't find that person, then u gotta call AA again..
Originally posted by pigsticker:think battery water all similar one lah... i dun think there's any difference...
not sure what battery u have.. but generally speaking, if the battery is flat, jump start will do...
called my buddy in melbourne, he said battery has two kinds. one is the type using liquid. the other is the type that is dry.
but topping up battery water, the guy at the petrol kiosk said normal water will do. no need to use 'ionised' water.
how do you jumpstart your own car without the help of another car?
or how do you do it?
Originally posted by pigsticker:auto shops ba... but to jumpstart, u need another kind person to lend u his vehicle...
so if u can't find that person, then u gotta call AA again..
piang ok. that was what happened.
no one i can call who can help me jumpstart the old box. that's why had to call AA.
both buddies studying overseas.
hai...
Originally posted by soleachip:called my buddy in melbourne, he said battery has two kinds. one is the type using liquid. the other is the type that is dry.
but topping up battery water, the guy at the petrol kiosk said normal water will do. no need to use 'ionised' water.
how do you jumpstart your own car without the help of another car?
or how do you do it?
hmm.. apparently i was wrong.. is not ionised water.. is de-ionised water or distilled water... ![]()
ok i got the link from an ezine article liao.
i'll just get the cable in case of emergencies.
buddy told me to flag cab drivers down cos they usually have such things, so i called for a cab. hehe...
but the cabby was terrible, said he wouldn't do it cos it's night time blah and worried it will screw the rest of his cab up blah...
sigh...
Originally posted by soleachip:piang ok. that was what happened.
no one i can call who can help me jumpstart the old box. that's why had to call AA.
both buddies studying overseas.
hai...
ask around lor.. u pay friend to come over and lend u the car seems cheaper than calling AA... but got some danger lah... sakali ownself do, the battery explode...
but my mechanics assured me that very small chance only...
Originally posted by pigsticker:hmm.. apparently i was wrong.. is not ionised water.. is de-ionised water or distilled water...
yep top up battery water recently.
it was battery weak.
said i will have to change battery in a few months time.
thanks anyway.
no problem... next time call us to help lah.. then dinner on u ![]()
Originally posted by pigsticker:ask around lor.. u pay friend to come over and lend u the car seems cheaper than calling AA... but got some danger lah... sakali ownself do, the battery explode...
but my mechanics assured me that very small chance only...
yeah so AA is a rip off?
i thought most drivers are members of AA.
some people say not battery explode. but chances of getting the electrical circuit/wiring haywire are pretty high if not done correctly or done by trial error basis.
so best to leave it to mechanics.
ok off for a long shower.
need to detox and exfoliate after a day of grim and grum and all sorts of dirt oil pollution smoke blah blah blah.
thanks man!
Originally posted by soleachip:wah cool. yiny, how do you jumpstart your own car?
oh drive another car next to it then use the cable connect them together
Originally posted by tinuviel07:oh drive another car next to it then use the cable connect them together
yeah guess i need the help of another vehicle to do it!
nites all... time to rest my aching bones...
but it was fun though....
highlight of the day : ah lau's butt being groped and photographed by someone ![]()
i tohught to jumpstart a vehicle, you needa connect some wires to another car who's engine is on for that electricity burst? and then leaving ur engine on to charge the batt? saw someone doing it before.
yep you need another vehicle cos your own car is disabled.
never seen anyone do it before though.
my father gave me theory lessons on it before.. but not very sure how it works, as in where to connect the wires etc..
lucky lad.
Originally posted by stellazio:my father gave me theory lessons on it before.. but not very sure how it works, as in where to connect the wires etc..
read your car manual.. i read from there then jumpstart one.. dont plug the wrong thing though.. lol
Originally posted by soleachip:lucky lad.
i also happened to be lucky that during one of my L plate lessons, the instructor's car tyre punctured.. and i wasted 45 mins helping him change to the spare tyre.. well priceless lessons i guess. but damn is it tough to unscrew the bolts nowadays since its electronically drilled in..![]()
Cant sleep.
I guess i wont be frequentting here as much anymore.