In case you are wondering, I'm not doing this out of commercial reasons.
I love this UK show called Doctor Who, and I have been meaning to watch all my DVD boxsets. But I really don't feel like watching it at home, cos my family just think I am nuts.
So I've just got this silly idea of hold my own Doctor Who marathon one weekend, and had intended to book a hotel room just for it. But somehow if just seemed a bit extravagant if I watched it alone. Thought of sending out invite, but really have no idea where to post it. So here it is.
This is the deal. I'm going to book a room in a hotel (it's not going to be anything like Hotel 81 type, but not too ex either) for the weekend of 22-23Jan, and I'll be bringing my Doctor Who DVD boxsets (I got 4 seasons of them). And anyone who is interested is welcome to join me. And for the record, I'm paying for the room already, so if you want to chip in, I'm fine. If not, you're still welcome.
If you don't have anything on for 22 Jan, you can contact me. Don't worry if you have no idea who or what Doctor Who is, the whole idea of this marathon is to watch all the interesting episodes, and maybe you'll find out who this Doctor is.
I do hope you can come with an open mind, and don't expect anything out of it, I'm just sending out invites for people who are seriously interested to spend a weekend evening watching this SciFi TV show. This show could be the most boring thing you've ever watch, or it could be the most interesting ever. Just be prepared to spend the entire evening watching it. Nothing else.
You can contact me thru this thread, if you are interested.
- Dawn
Edit: I've already booked the room, in town area. Details will be provided when you contact me. Just for info, I'm single and female, and in my 30s. I'm not out to make money or anything, just a crazy idea for strangers to meet up for TV marathon... and perhaps to spread the love for the longest running science ficition show in the world =)
Date: Event over.
Location: Will only send out details on thursday. Which MRT and where is the exact location.
Confirm list:
1) Kyooko
2) Pika
3) dyedBLUE
4) I.M.Y.K.W.Y.H.H.O.P.K
5) ahpork
6) Noahtay
7)
8)
9)
10)
Final Edit: Yap, this outing is done and dusted, thank you all for supporting. Maybe next time I'll do another one, again. Maybe. Until then. Ta-ra! =)
What kinda movie is that "Doctor Who"?Probably i will but not for current because gonna handle some family issue.May be you can tell us the time and date?
hmmmmmm
Well, Doctor Who is a British sci-fic TV series actually. The history of this show started in 1963, a looooong looong time ago lor. The whole story of this show is quite long and dreary, but the reader's digest version is, the show started in 1963 as a children/family show on BBC in the UK, and went on for quite a while, until in the 1980s, BBC stopped it.
But in 2005, they re-vamped it again for the current times, And it is now one of the most popular show in the UK now, and the Series 5 of the 'new Doctor Who' is going to be aired in the UK in Apr.
If you go and google it, you will find it. It is the longest running sci-fic show in the world, and it has quite a cult following, like Star Trek... The Whovians (as the fans called themselves) had kept the memory of it alive during those years it had been off air, by running a magazine and fan-fic.
I started watching the re-vamped series when I was working the UK a couple of years back, and I loved it. It is this 'new Doctor Who' series I wanted to do a TV marathon on. After my time in the UK, I found that there are actually a lot of other good TV shows out there, other than the US ones we see here in Singapore. I used to think the BBC is all about boring news reports and documentaries. But this show really opened my eyes, and I think it is a pity we don't see very much of it here.
My intention is just to invite people (complete strangers even) just to spend an evening, I've got 4 DVD boxset of the show, so I would probably choose the best among them to start watching... which I can say, there are quite a few very nice ones. And since this is still quintessentially a family show, don't expect any blood or gore or steamy scenes. It is just a show with lots of British wits and loads of action.
I know it sounds really stupid, to invite complete strangers to watch TV. But I am going to do it by myself anyway, the room is booked already. I just had this crazy idea to send out an invite and see what happens. I might meet someone who would share the interest with me, but I'm not holding my breath on that. If I can introduce people to this Doctor Who series here in Singapore, I will consider it a job well done.
The date is set for 22 Jan 10 (this coming fri), most like around 7pm, in town area.
So creepy.
What if there was only one 55 year old guy who was interested in watching it with you in a hotel room?
Will you still go ahead with your "watch in a hotel room" idea?
Well, sometimes you've just got to take this leap of faith.
I've seen in the US, people invited strangers over to their place for a dinner gathering, and I supposed there might be chance some chee-go-pak might turn up, but I'd like to believe there are still people who are serious about trying something new. So I thought I'll give it a try too. At least it is not at my place, and I can call the service desk to kick the person out if he misbehaves.
And 55 year-olds, they might have seen the old Doctor Who series... and that's great. My friend's dad remembers watching that when he was young =D
Originally posted by Kyooko:Well, sometimes you've just got to take this leap of faith.
I've seen in the US, people invited strangers over to their place for a dinner gathering, and I supposed there might be chance some chee-go-pak might turn up, but I'd like to believe there are still people who are serious about trying something new. So I thought I'll give it a try too.
Well, just want to give you the heads up in case some married 55 year old man really wants to watch the series with you.
You never know what might happen if his wife asks him where he is going over the weekend and being the honest chap he is, tells her straight up he is going to spend the night with a female stranger in a hotel room in town watching DVDs.
Hmm so the Doctor Who series you are going to watch is the series 5 one?
He can bring his wife along! One interesting aspect of the re-vamp series was that the producers and the writers had hope to make it more than just a 'lads and dads' sort of show, being a sci-fic series... so the new series has a bit more of a storyline to attract the gals (not to mention a very good looking lead).
PS: The ninth Doctor was played by Christopher Eccleston, the 'invisible man' in Heroes. How many Doctors are there? Erm... it's a long story, come and join me and you'll find out!
But thanks for your concern too ^_^
Originally posted by dyedBLUE:Hmm so the Doctor Who series you are going to watch is the series 5 one?
Okay, this is going to get quite 'technical' if I start explaining which series it is now (believe me, on the Whovian forums, they are still arguing about which series to call what!)
Here goes, when the show started in 1963, that's like the Season 1... and it went on until BBC stopped it in the 1980s (they did a TV-movie in 1996, but it didn't take). When BBC aired the re-vamped series in 2005, they decided to call it Series 1 of the new Doctor Who, and everything before that is considered the 'classic Doctor Who'. (Some still want to call it season 31... go and google it and you'll know)
And as I only started watching a couple years back, I really haven't started watching the classic Who, mainly cos it is all very fake-looking monsters, like the old Power Ranger and Ultraman monsters. I'm only watching the new series, for now.
And the DVD boxsets I have are for Series 1-4 of the new Who, each series has about 13 episodes (most of them are standalone stories, with a few 2-parters). Series 5 filming is not even finished in the UK, and it is only slated for transmission in April this year.
There, I told you it is technical.
im actually interested in trying this out.
sounds crazy.
Originally posted by Kyooko:Okay, this is going to get quite 'technical' if I start explaining which series it is now (believe me, on the Whovian forums, they are still arguing about which series to call what!)
Here goes, when the show started in 1963, that's like the Season 1... and it went on until BBC stopped it in the 1980s (they did a TV-movie in 1996, but it didn't take). When BBC aired the re-vamped series in 2005, they decided to call it Series 1 of the new Doctor Who, and everything before that is considered the 'classic Doctor Who'. (Some still want to call it season 31... go and google it and you'll know)
And as I only started watching a couple years back, I really haven't started watching the classic Who, mainly cos it is all very fake-looking monsters, like the old Power Ranger and Ultraman monsters. I'm only watching the new series, for now.
And the DVD boxsets I have are for Series 1-4 of the new Who, each series has about 13 episodes (most of them are standalone stories, with a few 2-parters). Series 5 filming is not even finished in the UK, and it is only slated for transmission in April this year.
There, I told you it is technical.
Haha...ok so i went onto youtube and found a short clip...here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0BJTwP2TXE&feature=PlayList&p=URqt_qpKYHM
Its kind of weird :X Is most of the episodes similar to this one? Or are there more interesting ones? Im not sure why but the show reminds me of star trek
Hee.... the Oods are one of the creatures the Doctor meets.
I went to You-tube and found this one, which is the trailer for the Series 2, which sort of gives an idea...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYUGfozgOaw
Other technical details: The Doctor is actually not human, but a type of alien called the Time Lords. He travels around in a machine that looks like a blue phone booth (It's called the TARDIS, Time And Relative Dimension In Space) that it can travel in time. And for story-telling's sake, he usually has a human companion joining him, so that they have reason to come back to do stories on Earth.
So in the new series, he had met Shakespeare, Queen Elizabeth I and Charles Dickens, even went to Pompeii... and gone forward to year 5 billion... and have all sort of adventures. Met werewolves, Oods, Cybermen, Daleks and many other interesting aliens.
Because he is a time travller, he can travel to any time and any planet, which gives the show a lot of breadth to tell all sorts of stories. It's actually quite complicated to try to explain without watching the series. You can watch it on You-tube, I think some episodes are there. I can recommend some of the episodes to watch if you are interested.
Since we're googling... might as well save you the effort:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doctor_Who
PM me if you are curious still about this show, and want to watch it properly =)
PS: The Whovians might get insulted if you compare their beloved Doctor Who to Star Trek... and since I don't watch Star Trek, I really cannot comment about that.
Pikaaaa is going who wanna go with pika? Who miss pika also can come~ And giga cannot come cus GAYS are BANNED.
kyoo please update your first thread regarding the timing... lol
Haa.... not that I want to give the wrong idea about the show, but the Doctor once said... "Human in the 51st century, so many species, so little time" =D
awww... now only 2 person marathon in a hotel room?
hmmm wait... That's sounds awfully wrong
Have fun pika~~~ and TS plz be gentle with him
we got a hotel, motel, holiday inn (chorus) x4
halloo ts, wat abt a movie marathon??
Originally posted by theme_and_guess:we got a hotel, motel, holiday inn (chorus) x4
halloo ts, wat abt a movie marathon??
movie marathon is sit down, see movie all the way... Either series or several titles... Usually lotsa of chips, drinks... But if no big TV then no shiok...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:awww... now only 2 person marathon in a hotel room?
hmmm wait... That's sounds awfully wrong
Have fun pika~~~ and TS plz be gentle with him
Hehehehe
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
movie marathon is sit down, see movie all the way... Either series or several titles... Usually lotsa of chips, drinks... But if no big TV then no shiok...
hmm... wat abt those golden village stay inn?!
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
-double kill-
in posting
Originally posted by theme_and_guess:
hmm... wat abt those golden village stay inn?!
simi ish golden village stay inn? u sleep in GV cinemas???
imagine TS and pika go into hotel room, found out got TV but no dvd player...
- DP -
(Pengz... how come i also double post...)
Okay, I already requested that the room has DVD player...and I'll recce first... and I think the TV in the room should be quite good. *cross fingers*
Pop corn, tidbits and drinks, you guys will have to provide yourself hor. I'm broke paying for the room already. Just simple request, no alcohol please. Might lose focus of this nice show I'm trying to introduce ^_^
Anyone else joining us?